3HV or 2HV for real time individual motor control?

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

3HV or 2HV for real time individual motor control?

Post by cuolin » Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:14 pm

Post by cuolin
Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:14 pm

I'm not sure whether I need to get the KHR-3HV or the KHR-2HV based on my project's needs and was hoping someone here could offer any advice.

I am doing a project whereby I am using an iPhone 4s as the robot's head in a similar setup to this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBGA7ARLzPA

In the above video, the robot is set to perform a pre-programmed "motion" when the iPhone's alarm goes off, but I'm going to do all processing and path planning on the iPhone and just want to send signals containing specific motor instructions to the robot's chip to tell the motors what to do on the fly as these instructions are calculated in real-time on the iPhone.

So I think my big question is if this is possible on the 2HV or do I need the ICS 3.0 capability present on the new servos on the 3HV.

Anyone know about ICS 3.0 and if its use is needed for a project like this?
I'm not sure whether I need to get the KHR-3HV or the KHR-2HV based on my project's needs and was hoping someone here could offer any advice.

I am doing a project whereby I am using an iPhone 4s as the robot's head in a similar setup to this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBGA7ARLzPA

In the above video, the robot is set to perform a pre-programmed "motion" when the iPhone's alarm goes off, but I'm going to do all processing and path planning on the iPhone and just want to send signals containing specific motor instructions to the robot's chip to tell the motors what to do on the fly as these instructions are calculated in real-time on the iPhone.

So I think my big question is if this is possible on the 2HV or do I need the ICS 3.0 capability present on the new servos on the 3HV.

Anyone know about ICS 3.0 and if its use is needed for a project like this?
cuolin offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:57 am

Post by limor » Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:53 pm

Post by limor
Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:53 pm

It is possible to perform closed loop of read-position / write target-position using ICS3 but I'm not aware that someone did this recently. I know that with the old KHR2 servos this was not possible because the servos would go to sleep momentarily when responding to position queries. I recall someone from a German Robocup humanoid league team in 2007 talking about this problem.

however, check out our project http://actuatedcharacter.com which does exactly this but with AX12 dynamixel servos. we had to rewrite the firmware to make sure that real real-time was attained.
It is possible to perform closed loop of read-position / write target-position using ICS3 but I'm not aware that someone did this recently. I know that with the old KHR2 servos this was not possible because the servos would go to sleep momentarily when responding to position queries. I recall someone from a German Robocup humanoid league team in 2007 talking about this problem.

however, check out our project http://actuatedcharacter.com which does exactly this but with AX12 dynamixel servos. we had to rewrite the firmware to make sure that real real-time was attained.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1