how can I know if my AX-12A doesn't work?

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

how can I know if my AX-12A doesn't work?

Post by Karo » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:56 am

Post by Karo
Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:56 am

Hello everybody In the manager I can't see the motors with the red light,
HELP ME PLEASE!!!
BEST REGARDS :?:
Hello everybody In the manager I can't see the motors with the red light,
HELP ME PLEASE!!!
BEST REGARDS :?:
Karo offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:29 pm

Post by hotsummer » Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:49 am

Post by hotsummer
Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:49 am

sorry,i am not so clear about this.
sorry,i am not so clear about this.
hotsummer offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:44 am

Post by Fritzoid » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:31 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:31 pm

Karo,

To analyze a servo problem you should use the Dynamixel Wizard. Also, it is best to work with one servo at a time. Use the USB2Dynamixel device in TTL-mode along with one of the spare wiring harnesses to connect up the servo in question. Use the CM-510 or custom-built harness and 9-volt battery to provide power on the servo's other connector. If you use the CM-510 for power disconnect all the other servos first.

Using the Dynamixel Wizard to search for all IDs at all speeds. This will determine if the servo's firmware can respond at all. If the servo is found, note the speed and the ID. If either is incorrect you can change it in the wizard.

If the servo still cannot be found you can try a firmware upgrade to re-load the servo software. Follow the instructions carefully if you take this path and never attempt a firmware upgrade with more than one servo connected to the bus. If the update works you will then have to change the ID from the default (one, I think).

If a firmware upgrade cannot be accomplished then you are looking at a hardware problem. Check all your wires and connectors. Try using the setup with a good servo to prove that it works.

Chances a good that one of these procedures will help you find the trouble. If not I'm afraid the servo is likely beyond repair.
Karo,

To analyze a servo problem you should use the Dynamixel Wizard. Also, it is best to work with one servo at a time. Use the USB2Dynamixel device in TTL-mode along with one of the spare wiring harnesses to connect up the servo in question. Use the CM-510 or custom-built harness and 9-volt battery to provide power on the servo's other connector. If you use the CM-510 for power disconnect all the other servos first.

Using the Dynamixel Wizard to search for all IDs at all speeds. This will determine if the servo's firmware can respond at all. If the servo is found, note the speed and the ID. If either is incorrect you can change it in the wizard.

If the servo still cannot be found you can try a firmware upgrade to re-load the servo software. Follow the instructions carefully if you take this path and never attempt a firmware upgrade with more than one servo connected to the bus. If the update works you will then have to change the ID from the default (one, I think).

If a firmware upgrade cannot be accomplished then you are looking at a hardware problem. Check all your wires and connectors. Try using the setup with a good servo to prove that it works.

Chances a good that one of these procedures will help you find the trouble. If not I'm afraid the servo is likely beyond repair.
Fritzoid offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Karo » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:46 pm

Post by Karo
Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:46 pm

Fritzoid thank you so much is just what I need
and hot summer thanks for trying :P
Fritzoid thank you so much is just what I need
and hot summer thanks for trying :P
Karo offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:29 pm


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1