first steps to use URBI on bioloid?

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1

first steps to use URBI on bioloid?

Post by animaniac » Sun May 01, 2011 8:51 pm

Post by animaniac
Sun May 01, 2011 8:51 pm

hi, I tired to use the URBI firmware in a CM-5, I managed to install it, but when I launch URBI, it just says connecting and stays this way without a clue if URBI is actually communicating with the CM-5. I see the POWER/MANAGE/PROGRAM/PLAY leds lit.
hi, I tired to use the URBI firmware in a CM-5, I managed to install it, but when I launch URBI, it just says connecting and stays this way without a clue if URBI is actually communicating with the CM-5. I see the POWER/MANAGE/PROGRAM/PLAY leds lit.
animaniac offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:56 pm

Re: first steps to use URBI on bioloid?

Post by nicolas gomez » Mon May 02, 2011 9:02 am

Post by nicolas gomez
Mon May 02, 2011 9:02 am

animaniac wrote:hi, I tired to use the URBI firmware in a CM-5, I managed to install it, but when I launch URBI, it just says connecting and stays this way without a clue if URBI is actually communicating with the CM-5. I see the POWER/MANAGE/PROGRAM/PLAY leds lit.



Hi!! I dont have biolod robot; but here you have the documentation to begin with urbi in it

URBI Tutorial for use of URBI-engine-bioloid Quickstart
http://www.gostai.com/doc/en/bioloid-tutorial.pdf


http://www.gostai.com/downloads/urbi-sdk/2.x/doc/urbi-sdk.htmldir/bioloid.html#x41-70600026

and here the forum about urbi on biolod may be you can find the solution at your problem

http://forum.gostai.com/viewforum.php?f=19
animaniac wrote:hi, I tired to use the URBI firmware in a CM-5, I managed to install it, but when I launch URBI, it just says connecting and stays this way without a clue if URBI is actually communicating with the CM-5. I see the POWER/MANAGE/PROGRAM/PLAY leds lit.



Hi!! I dont have biolod robot; but here you have the documentation to begin with urbi in it

URBI Tutorial for use of URBI-engine-bioloid Quickstart
http://www.gostai.com/doc/en/bioloid-tutorial.pdf


http://www.gostai.com/downloads/urbi-sdk/2.x/doc/urbi-sdk.htmldir/bioloid.html#x41-70600026

and here the forum about urbi on biolod may be you can find the solution at your problem

http://forum.gostai.com/viewforum.php?f=19
nicolas gomez offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:40 pm

Post by animaniac » Mon May 02, 2011 4:37 pm

Post by animaniac
Mon May 02, 2011 4:37 pm

believe me, I tried the tutorials, the pdf is just outdated...
believe me, I tried the tutorials, the pdf is just outdated...
animaniac offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:56 pm

Post by animaniac » Mon May 02, 2011 9:34 pm

Post by animaniac
Mon May 02, 2011 9:34 pm

actually, everything's wrong in this pdf: urbi for bioloid does not come as an installer but a zip file to unzip god knows where, the firmware inside is gostai-firmware.hex and not forwarder_57600.hex...

does anyone have an older version of urbi for bioloid?
actually, everything's wrong in this pdf: urbi for bioloid does not come as an installer but a zip file to unzip god knows where, the firmware inside is gostai-firmware.hex and not forwarder_57600.hex...

does anyone have an older version of urbi for bioloid?
animaniac offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:56 pm

Post by nicolas gomez » Tue May 03, 2011 10:00 am

Post by nicolas gomez
Tue May 03, 2011 10:00 am

animaniac wrote:actually, everything's wrong in this pdf: urbi for bioloid does not come as an installer but a zip file to unzip god knows where, the firmware inside is gostai-firmware.hex and not forwarder_57600.hex...

does anyone have an older version of urbi for bioloid?



Here urbi 1.5.1 Download Urbi for

* Linux
* Mac os
* Windows


http://www.urbiforge.org/index.php/Robots/Bioloid15


and urbi 2.0.3

http://www.urbiforge.com/index.php/Robots/Bioloid

You need an urbi-sdk with version at least 2.0.3 for this module to work.

Source and binary, linux, macOS, windows

you can always contact them if you can not solves your problem contact@gostai.com
animaniac wrote:actually, everything's wrong in this pdf: urbi for bioloid does not come as an installer but a zip file to unzip god knows where, the firmware inside is gostai-firmware.hex and not forwarder_57600.hex...

does anyone have an older version of urbi for bioloid?



Here urbi 1.5.1 Download Urbi for

* Linux
* Mac os
* Windows


http://www.urbiforge.org/index.php/Robots/Bioloid15


and urbi 2.0.3

http://www.urbiforge.com/index.php/Robots/Bioloid

You need an urbi-sdk with version at least 2.0.3 for this module to work.

Source and binary, linux, macOS, windows

you can always contact them if you can not solves your problem contact@gostai.com
nicolas gomez offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:40 pm

Post by animaniac » Sun May 08, 2011 8:40 pm

Post by animaniac
Sun May 08, 2011 8:40 pm

this file is password protected... I'm really at a loss here, can you confirm me the steps:

install urbi 2.0.3
unzip the "urbi for bioloid folder" in the urbi bin folder
load the urbi firmware in the CM5
launch urbi with the CM5 connected with 1 servo

when I launch urbi, it doesnt seem to communicate with the CM5, and when I launch the urbi console while urbi runs, I get a "bad file descriptor error -1" when I connect on port 1.

is there any other way than a crappy DOS command box to use urbi?
this file is password protected... I'm really at a loss here, can you confirm me the steps:

install urbi 2.0.3
unzip the "urbi for bioloid folder" in the urbi bin folder
load the urbi firmware in the CM5
launch urbi with the CM5 connected with 1 servo

when I launch urbi, it doesnt seem to communicate with the CM5, and when I launch the urbi console while urbi runs, I get a "bad file descriptor error -1" when I connect on port 1.

is there any other way than a crappy DOS command box to use urbi?
animaniac offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:56 pm

Post by nicolas gomez » Tue May 24, 2011 8:33 am

Post by nicolas gomez
Tue May 24, 2011 8:33 am

animaniac wrote:this file is password protected... I'm really at a loss here, can you confirm me the steps:

install urbi 2.0.3
unzip the "urbi for bioloid folder" in the urbi bin folder
load the urbi firmware in the CM5
launch urbi with the CM5 connected with 1 servo

when I launch urbi, it doesnt seem to communicate with the CM5, and when I launch the urbi console while urbi runs, I get a "bad file descriptor error -1" when I connect on port 1.

is there any other way than a crappy DOS command box to use urbi?



Hi! today I find the fiile installer URBI_bioloid_1.5.1-windows_Setup.exe if you want it let me you e mal ,because it is to big to upload at forum quote
animaniac wrote:this file is password protected... I'm really at a loss here, can you confirm me the steps:

install urbi 2.0.3
unzip the "urbi for bioloid folder" in the urbi bin folder
load the urbi firmware in the CM5
launch urbi with the CM5 connected with 1 servo

when I launch urbi, it doesnt seem to communicate with the CM5, and when I launch the urbi console while urbi runs, I get a "bad file descriptor error -1" when I connect on port 1.

is there any other way than a crappy DOS command box to use urbi?



Hi! today I find the fiile installer URBI_bioloid_1.5.1-windows_Setup.exe if you want it let me you e mal ,because it is to big to upload at forum quote
nicolas gomez offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:40 pm

I have the sample problem

Post by slavikshen » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:05 am

Post by slavikshen
Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:05 am

I have tried the 2.7 both on windows and mac.
All failed.

The latest doc makes me wired.

There is kernel error on mac, and no error report on windows.
What I could do is just shutdown.

I did change the com port in the general.u, and seems not helpful.

Almost exhausted.
I have tried the 2.7 both on windows and mac.
All failed.

The latest doc makes me wired.

There is kernel error on mac, and no error report on windows.
What I could do is just shutdown.

I did change the com port in the general.u, and seems not helpful.

Almost exhausted.
slavikshen offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:56 am


8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1
cron