Position feedback on 5990TG

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Position feedback on 5990TG

Post by Enderwiggins » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:17 pm

Post by Enderwiggins
Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:17 pm

I'm trying to get position feedback from my 5900tg's using extended pulse mode, I'm using an atxmega128 and C I think I understand how the pulses work but I'm not sure how to implement it in the code, do I need to send the pulse then switch the pin to input read the position pulse then switch it back to output to continue operation? I'm very confused so please forgive me if that made no sense.
I'm trying to get position feedback from my 5900tg's using extended pulse mode, I'm using an atxmega128 and C I think I understand how the pulses work but I'm not sure how to implement it in the code, do I need to send the pulse then switch the pin to input read the position pulse then switch it back to output to continue operation? I'm very confused so please forgive me if that made no sense.
Enderwiggins offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:56 am

Post by i-Bot » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:41 pm

Post by i-Bot
Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:41 pm

This seems a long time ago, but based on what I found for the HSR8498:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/HSR ... 0Servo.pdf

Drive the pin with the +ve short pulse and hold low for a short time, then change to input and wait for the pulse back. Changing the pin direction as you describe is the way to do it on mega128.

You need to check a valid low returned and a valid pulse is then returned and ignore if no pulse, or discard if too long. It does happen !
After using the input, you need to resume the output pulses.
This seems a long time ago, but based on what I found for the HSR8498:
http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/HSR ... 0Servo.pdf

Drive the pin with the +ve short pulse and hold low for a short time, then change to input and wait for the pulse back. Changing the pin direction as you describe is the way to do it on mega128.

You need to check a valid low returned and a valid pulse is then returned and ignore if no pulse, or discard if too long. It does happen !
After using the input, you need to resume the output pulses.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Enderwiggins » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:33 pm

Post by Enderwiggins
Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:33 pm

Thanks
Thanks
Enderwiggins offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:56 am


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1