Stair Climb

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1

Stair Climb

Post by GEMINI » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:22 am

Post by GEMINI
Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:22 am

Hi all,

just another stair climb video, thought you may like a look! :D

phpBB [media]
Hi all,

just another stair climb video, thought you may like a look! :D

phpBB [media]
GEMINI offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Hastings

Post by Ray » Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:34 am

Post by Ray
Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:34 am

Hi GEMINI,

Great work! :D

What's the dimension of the stair ?
self-make gripper ?

Cheer.

Ray
Hi GEMINI,

Great work! :D

What's the dimension of the stair ?
self-make gripper ?

Cheer.

Ray
Ray offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HK

Post by GEMINI » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:27 pm

Post by GEMINI
Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:27 pm

Hi Ray,

I got the dimentions for the steps from this

Image

This pic is not my work i think i found it on this site, but it is meant to be
competition size steps.

The Grippers though are my work and were hand made, they use small hitec
servoes running at 5 volts from a regulator. The signal from the cpu board is at 5 volts so needs no modding.

Cheers

Shane
Hi Ray,

I got the dimentions for the steps from this

Image

This pic is not my work i think i found it on this site, but it is meant to be
competition size steps.

The Grippers though are my work and were hand made, they use small hitec
servoes running at 5 volts from a regulator. The signal from the cpu board is at 5 volts so needs no modding.

Cheers

Shane
Last edited by GEMINI on Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GEMINI offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Hastings

Post by limor » Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:19 pm

Post by limor
Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:19 pm

fantastic stair work!
how long did it take you to perfect this ?
do you use a gyro or other sensors to aid in stability?
what's that mod you did with the numbers on the chest?
is there a camera on the head ?

:lol:
fantastic stair work!
how long did it take you to perfect this ?
do you use a gyro or other sensors to aid in stability?
what's that mod you did with the numbers on the chest?
is there a camera on the head ?

:lol:
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by GEMINI » Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:24 pm

Post by GEMINI
Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:24 pm

Hi Limor,

The base set of moves for a single step just over an hour, then i mirrored them and set up the loop (another hour or so) then was refinement, about an hour on and off tweeking here and there. All in 3-4 hours!

It does use gyro's set up as in the manual, for front to back and left to right stability.

The numbers in the chest plate are from a lipo battery monitor, it shows each cell voltage then the combined voltage for the pack. And it looks good too. :D

The head does not have a camera, just some old heat sinks cut to shape for a fuller looking head as it did look a little small. :)

Shane
Hi Limor,

The base set of moves for a single step just over an hour, then i mirrored them and set up the loop (another hour or so) then was refinement, about an hour on and off tweeking here and there. All in 3-4 hours!

It does use gyro's set up as in the manual, for front to back and left to right stability.

The numbers in the chest plate are from a lipo battery monitor, it shows each cell voltage then the combined voltage for the pack. And it looks good too. :D

The head does not have a camera, just some old heat sinks cut to shape for a fuller looking head as it did look a little small. :)

Shane
GEMINI offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Hastings

Post by veltrop » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 am

Post by veltrop
Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 am

Beautiful! The motion works so smoothly!

May I ask which LiPo and monitor you are using and where you got them?
Beautiful! The motion works so smoothly!

May I ask which LiPo and monitor you are using and where you got them?
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by GEMINI » Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:39 pm

Post by GEMINI
Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:39 pm

Hello Veltrop,

The LiPo is for a helicopter called the Twister Skylift, 3 cell 800 ma.
It fits in the chest plate perfectly! The LiPo monitor i bought from a local model shop, i dont know the name as i do not have the package.
Here is a pic of them if it helps.

Image


Cheers

Shane
Hello Veltrop,

The LiPo is for a helicopter called the Twister Skylift, 3 cell 800 ma.
It fits in the chest plate perfectly! The LiPo monitor i bought from a local model shop, i dont know the name as i do not have the package.
Here is a pic of them if it helps.

Image


Cheers

Shane
Last edited by GEMINI on Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GEMINI offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Hastings

Post by veltrop » Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:43 am

Post by veltrop
Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:43 am

Thank you!

Maybe this is getting a little off topic but another question...

Your Hitec servos don't have a "free mode" do they? So if they are powered up they always try to hold a position, right? Are you getting the 5v from the sensor port of the RCB?

I tried some low voltage mini servos (cheap generic Taiwan GWS servo) on my KHR's head, and used a voltage regulator attached to the battery with them. But since they were always trying to hold a position, the voltage regulator quickly overheated, causing the servos to go crazy. It took 2 large regulators per servo to prevent severe overheating, so I switched to Kondo HV servos. I've been looking for a mini-servo solution since then...
Thank you!

Maybe this is getting a little off topic but another question...

Your Hitec servos don't have a "free mode" do they? So if they are powered up they always try to hold a position, right? Are you getting the 5v from the sensor port of the RCB?

I tried some low voltage mini servos (cheap generic Taiwan GWS servo) on my KHR's head, and used a voltage regulator attached to the battery with them. But since they were always trying to hold a position, the voltage regulator quickly overheated, causing the servos to go crazy. It took 2 large regulators per servo to prevent severe overheating, so I switched to Kondo HV servos. I've been looking for a mini-servo solution since then...
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by GEMINI » Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Post by GEMINI
Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Hi Veltrop,

NEVER use the RCB 5 volts for anything other than sensors, as the current output is too low to run servos, in the event of a stall on the servo it could damage the onboard regulator.
I use an L78S05 2 AMP Positive voltage regulator, very stable needs no other components like cap's for ripple as its running from a pure dc supply.
I use this to run a standard futaba servo for the head (burned a leg motor out!) as i used the head servo for the leg. I also use the same regulator for the 2 gripper servos, i have a small heatsink but it does not get warm.
In free mode the servos stay powered but with no signal they can be moved, but there is no way to read there position so i turn off the free mode on these servos.
Dont know why you had problems with the regulators you used or why they should overheat, unless they were only 100 or 200 ma regulators?
Anyway hope this helps and if you would like a scimatic of the regulator board i used let me know, its a very simple board.

Cheers

Shane
Hi Veltrop,

NEVER use the RCB 5 volts for anything other than sensors, as the current output is too low to run servos, in the event of a stall on the servo it could damage the onboard regulator.
I use an L78S05 2 AMP Positive voltage regulator, very stable needs no other components like cap's for ripple as its running from a pure dc supply.
I use this to run a standard futaba servo for the head (burned a leg motor out!) as i used the head servo for the leg. I also use the same regulator for the 2 gripper servos, i have a small heatsink but it does not get warm.
In free mode the servos stay powered but with no signal they can be moved, but there is no way to read there position so i turn off the free mode on these servos.
Dont know why you had problems with the regulators you used or why they should overheat, unless they were only 100 or 200 ma regulators?
Anyway hope this helps and if you would like a scimatic of the regulator board i used let me know, its a very simple board.

Cheers

Shane
GEMINI offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Hastings

Post by BrianG » Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:35 pm

Post by BrianG
Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:35 pm

if anybody needs hobby items like the voltage monitor shown above or lipos/battery packs I run a Hobby Shop in Canada and can ship worldwide.

all my stuff is tested before shipping and we stand behind it :)
if anybody needs hobby items like the voltage monitor shown above or lipos/battery packs I run a Hobby Shop in Canada and can ship worldwide.

all my stuff is tested before shipping and we stand behind it :)
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am

Post by veltrop » Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:44 am

Post by veltrop
Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:44 am

Thanks Shane, when It comes time to build my grippers I'll check out that specific regulator. Btw, I was using 2 amp regulators (don't have the part # on me), but 6v. My problem was probably connected to using cheap regulators or cheap mini servos.

Brian - URL please?
Thanks Shane, when It comes time to build my grippers I'll check out that specific regulator. Btw, I was using 2 amp regulators (don't have the part # on me), but 6v. My problem was probably connected to using cheap regulators or cheap mini servos.

Brian - URL please?
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by BrianG » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:39 am

Post by BrianG
Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:39 am

www.competition-rc.com
not every product we have is online
www.competition-rc.com
not every product we have is online
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am


12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1