Xenomai On Roboard Wlan not working

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Xenomai On Roboard Wlan not working

Post by ashishmach » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:25 pm

Post by ashishmach
Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:25 pm

Hello Everyone,

I saw there was one thread on Xenomai but that was about installing but I have installed everything. But now I am having some problems. I installed as per this
http://geonobot-wiki.toile-libre.org/doku.php?id=robotics:computing:xenomai_install_on_roboard

My lan is working and also Xenomai is working though initially it says xenomai not found but later when I check the process by

Code: Select all
dmesg | grep -i xenomai


I am able to ssh through lan. But my wifi card from AGERE SYSTEMS is not working MPCI3A-20R.

I just want to know if anyone is able work with wifi card on xenomai so that will be easy for me because I am ready to buy a new one I just need it to work.

Or any other suggestions would really help

Thanks a lot, Regards

Ashish
Hello Everyone,

I saw there was one thread on Xenomai but that was about installing but I have installed everything. But now I am having some problems. I installed as per this
http://geonobot-wiki.toile-libre.org/doku.php?id=robotics:computing:xenomai_install_on_roboard

My lan is working and also Xenomai is working though initially it says xenomai not found but later when I check the process by

Code: Select all
dmesg | grep -i xenomai


I am able to ssh through lan. But my wifi card from AGERE SYSTEMS is not working MPCI3A-20R.

I just want to know if anyone is able work with wifi card on xenomai so that will be easy for me because I am ready to buy a new one I just need it to work.

Or any other suggestions would really help

Thanks a lot, Regards

Ashish
ashishmach offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:24 pm

Re: Xenomai On Roboard Wlan not working

Post by ashishmach » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:36 am

Post by ashishmach
Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:36 am

No one answered but I think I should answer this as some people might have this problem sometime later...

so the tutorial which I was following(http://geonobot-wiki.toile-libre.org/do ... on_roboard) gave a configuration file for kernel which did not include a lot of things
a) any display support
b) usb support
c) wireless support

So i just did a makemenuconfig and included all these things. And be careful compile wireless drivers with "M" i.e. as modules because it didn't work when I made it a part of kernel. I don't know why but lot of blogs say the same.....:-)
No one answered but I think I should answer this as some people might have this problem sometime later...

so the tutorial which I was following(http://geonobot-wiki.toile-libre.org/do ... on_roboard) gave a configuration file for kernel which did not include a lot of things
a) any display support
b) usb support
c) wireless support

So i just did a makemenuconfig and included all these things. And be careful compile wireless drivers with "M" i.e. as modules because it didn't work when I made it a part of kernel. I don't know why but lot of blogs say the same.....:-)
ashishmach offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:24 pm

Post by gdo » Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:05 pm

Post by gdo
Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:05 pm

Hello,

You are right. ;)
It is a really light kernel configuration. If you need more drivers, you have to edit kernel configuration like you did. :)

I have to update the article since I build a newer kernel (2.6.38.8) for roboard with more options like wifi card support.

I was away from my computer for a long time, but now I will be able to update this. ;)

gdo
Hello,

You are right. ;)
It is a really light kernel configuration. If you need more drivers, you have to edit kernel configuration like you did. :)

I have to update the article since I build a newer kernel (2.6.38.8) for roboard with more options like wifi card support.

I was away from my computer for a long time, but now I will be able to update this. ;)

gdo
gdo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:47 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1