RoBoard get depth image from Kinect

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1

RoBoard get depth image from Kinect

Post by roboard » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:19 am

Post by roboard
Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:19 am

use libfreenect+opencv to get depth image from Kinect


See the kinect test at:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSMPQj_Elr4

phpBB [media]
use libfreenect+opencv to get depth image from Kinect


See the kinect test at:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSMPQj_Elr4

phpBB [media]
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by aether.robotics » Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:46 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:46 pm

Brilliant, how did you manage to get this working as it is something i want to implement on my robot?

Regards
Chris
Brilliant, how did you manage to get this working as it is something i want to implement on my robot?

Regards
Chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by roboard » Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:25 pm

Post by roboard
Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:25 pm

That is just an experiment to test the compatibility of Kinect with RoBoard (for our hobby projects). OpenNI SDK uses SSE instructions and doesn't work; so we employ OpenKinect:

http://openkinect.org/wiki/Main_Page

Installing OpenKinect driver and using its libfreenect library, you can get depth images from Kinect on RoBoard.

:)
That is just an experiment to test the compatibility of Kinect with RoBoard (for our hobby projects). OpenNI SDK uses SSE instructions and doesn't work; so we employ OpenKinect:

http://openkinect.org/wiki/Main_Page

Installing OpenKinect driver and using its libfreenect library, you can get depth images from Kinect on RoBoard.

:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by aether.robotics » Mon May 23, 2011 7:20 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Mon May 23, 2011 7:20 pm

Hi there

Sorry been long time, been trying to get this working with ubuntu but get lots of errors when running glview, not receiving all the packets and something about magic then a hex code.....how are you geting it working so fast with xp? what version of XP are you using.

Chris Paton
Hi there

Sorry been long time, been trying to get this working with ubuntu but get lots of errors when running glview, not receiving all the packets and something about magic then a hex code.....how are you geting it working so fast with xp? what version of XP are you using.

Chris Paton
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by roboard » Tue May 24, 2011 7:31 am

Post by roboard
Tue May 24, 2011 7:31 am

aether.robotics wrote:.....how are you geting it working so fast with xp? what version of XP are you using.
...


Hi,

we used WinXP SP3 and turned off all Visual Effects of WinXP to avoid UI performance overhead.

Then we just followed OpenKinect's tutorial to install their driver and library to get Kinect work on RoBoard.

:)
aether.robotics wrote:.....how are you geting it working so fast with xp? what version of XP are you using.
...


Hi,

we used WinXP SP3 and turned off all Visual Effects of WinXP to avoid UI performance overhead.

Then we just followed OpenKinect's tutorial to install their driver and library to get Kinect work on RoBoard.

:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am


5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1