RoBoard at 12V

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

RoBoard at 12V

Post by aether.robotics » Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:39 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:39 pm

Hi There, just got the RoBoard and ready to boot it up, i've got a 12V 400mA charger and was wondering if that would be ok? I know it says 6V-24V but don't really want to risk it if its not right. would it run the KONDO KHR-1 servos at that voltage too? or just burn them out? hmmm servo smoke, nice!

thank you
Chris
Hi There, just got the RoBoard and ready to boot it up, i've got a 12V 400mA charger and was wondering if that would be ok? I know it says 6V-24V but don't really want to risk it if its not right. would it run the KONDO KHR-1 servos at that voltage too? or just burn them out? hmmm servo smoke, nice!

thank you
Chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by veltrop » Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:00 am

Post by veltrop
Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:00 am

Your voltage is fine but 400mA won't do. When the servos consume a lot of power there won't be any left for the Roboard and it'll reboot. (assuming rb 100)

I use a 16A power supply. The highest my robot peaks seems to be around 6A for 26 servos.

400mA may just be enough to power up the Roboard and do some programming on it. I think you need something with >2A to effectively power servos.
Your voltage is fine but 400mA won't do. When the servos consume a lot of power there won't be any left for the Roboard and it'll reboot. (assuming rb 100)

I use a 16A power supply. The highest my robot peaks seems to be around 6A for 26 servos.

400mA may just be enough to power up the Roboard and do some programming on it. I think you need something with >2A to effectively power servos.
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by aether.robotics » Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:16 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:16 pm

thanks, ive currently got 6V 600mA connected to the roboard with no servos, trying to load xp onto it. But it seems to get to copying files onto the microSD card and then dies at different % of copying depending how cool it is, like it has over heated (its getting rather hot). then if i leave it a while it will turn on again.

any ideas?

Thanks
Chris
thanks, ive currently got 6V 600mA connected to the roboard with no servos, trying to load xp onto it. But it seems to get to copying files onto the microSD card and then dies at different % of copying depending how cool it is, like it has over heated (its getting rather hot). then if i leave it a while it will turn on again.

any ideas?

Thanks
Chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by veltrop » Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm

Post by veltrop
Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm

I don't know, I've only used Linux.
But I did hear that the XP takes so long at times that it seems crashed. Try letting it sit for many hours and see what happens.
I don't know, I've only used Linux.
But I did hear that the XP takes so long at times that it seems crashed. Try letting it sit for many hours and see what happens.
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1