2 major Problems with the Roboard

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
27 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
27 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

2 major Problems with the Roboard

Post by kimkom » Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:24 pm

Post by kimkom
Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:24 pm

Hi,
im new here. I from germany, so sry about my english ;-)

I've bought the Roboard. I've installed (via slipstream with nLite, IDE Driver from RoboSavvy, VGA and Net) winXp (normal SP3, without the useless winjunk). Install from USB to Sd card,works very well.
I have two Problems.:

1.During the win installation (after the hardware detection) nothin works. No Mouse, no keyboard. So i used nLite to made a fully unattended Version an installed it again. But i 've the same problem. On the normal Desktop nothing works. Before the Hardware detection process mouse and keyboard works well...but after that :(

2. The second problem is, that the Board wouldnt boot from my sd card.
I've tried the recovery console from windows with fixmbr and fixboot c:
(where c: is my sd-card), but i makes no changes.
Any Ideas? USB-legacy problem?

hope you can help me

Best regards from germany
and thumbs up for this damn good forum!
Hi,
im new here. I from germany, so sry about my english ;-)

I've bought the Roboard. I've installed (via slipstream with nLite, IDE Driver from RoboSavvy, VGA and Net) winXp (normal SP3, without the useless winjunk). Install from USB to Sd card,works very well.
I have two Problems.:

1.During the win installation (after the hardware detection) nothin works. No Mouse, no keyboard. So i used nLite to made a fully unattended Version an installed it again. But i 've the same problem. On the normal Desktop nothing works. Before the Hardware detection process mouse and keyboard works well...but after that :(

2. The second problem is, that the Board wouldnt boot from my sd card.
I've tried the recovery console from windows with fixmbr and fixboot c:
(where c: is my sd-card), but i makes no changes.
Any Ideas? USB-legacy problem?

hope you can help me

Best regards from germany
and thumbs up for this damn good forum!
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:45 pm

Post by PedroR
Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:45 pm

Hi kimkom

1)
I myself have also seen that issue of the Keyboard and Mouse locking up after the hardware detection process.
I believe this happens because the hardware detection sends some reset or some unexpected command to the usb host during detection and the BIOS loses the keyboard and mouse.
Other than you (and me) I had never heard anyone else complain about this.

In our case, we created a fully unattended install of XP. It installed correctly. It seems to hang a few times (halting sometimes for over 30 minutes) but it then continues.

2)
With regards to booting from the SD, I have a couple of recommendations:
a) In the BIOS, after the install completes, make the SD card, the first BOOT DEVICE.
It could be that the BIOS is not looking for the SD card when booting.

Also, when you say it won't boot, what error do you get?
If it's a Blue Screen from Windows it may be caused by the IDE drivers.

Pedro.
Hi kimkom

1)
I myself have also seen that issue of the Keyboard and Mouse locking up after the hardware detection process.
I believe this happens because the hardware detection sends some reset or some unexpected command to the usb host during detection and the BIOS loses the keyboard and mouse.
Other than you (and me) I had never heard anyone else complain about this.

In our case, we created a fully unattended install of XP. It installed correctly. It seems to hang a few times (halting sometimes for over 30 minutes) but it then continues.

2)
With regards to booting from the SD, I have a couple of recommendations:
a) In the BIOS, after the install completes, make the SD card, the first BOOT DEVICE.
It could be that the BIOS is not looking for the SD card when booting.

Also, when you say it won't boot, what error do you get?
If it's a Blue Screen from Windows it may be caused by the IDE drivers.

Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:02 pm

Post by kimkom
Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:02 pm

Thx for Reply.

1. What can i do? Should i choose another Win Version?
I tried different things. I switched the USB-Speed option in the BIOS (normally doesnt matter), i tried the USB legacy option...but no way. Any Suggestions? i already tried different keyboards and mice.

2. I already choose the SD card as the first boot device.
When i boot i get the message Disk Error, Press any key (donno remember exactly). The message is white on black background, so no win rubbish.
If i boot from usb (win setup) and choose then boot win, then it normally starts.

I already tried fixmbr and fixboot c: but it doesnt work. So what did i wrong?
Thx for Reply.

1. What can i do? Should i choose another Win Version?
I tried different things. I switched the USB-Speed option in the BIOS (normally doesnt matter), i tried the USB legacy option...but no way. Any Suggestions? i already tried different keyboards and mice.

2. I already choose the SD card as the first boot device.
When i boot i get the message Disk Error, Press any key (donno remember exactly). The message is white on black background, so no win rubbish.
If i boot from usb (win setup) and choose then boot win, then it normally starts.

I already tried fixmbr and fixboot c: but it doesnt work. So what did i wrong?
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:29 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:29 pm

Hi Kimkom

With regards to the issues with the Keyboard and Mouse, what I did was creating a fully unattended install of windows and let it run.
Once the install finished it went through the "First time setup" for the computer (the same thing you get when buying an OEM PC and first booting it).

With regards to the SD card it is weird for this reason: when the text part of the install finishes copying the install files to the hdd, it reboots and begins the graphical part of the install.
The graphical part of the install boots from the hdd itself so if you get to the graphical part of the install it means that, at that point, the bootloader is correctly in place on the sd card.

Have you tried booting while holding the SD card and pushing it deep into the slot with your finger (and holding it there?).

The first batches of Roboards had some issues with the SD card connectors. Holding the SD card in the slot of placing some duck tape on top of the card (to make it thicker) seemed to solve the issue. This has since been fixed though.

Another thing I would try is using a different SD card. Try to install a simpler OS to it just to see if it boots (for example DOS as it is much faster to install).

Other than this I can't really help much more. Maybe the Roboard engineers that monitor this forum can help you...

Pedro.
Hi Kimkom

With regards to the issues with the Keyboard and Mouse, what I did was creating a fully unattended install of windows and let it run.
Once the install finished it went through the "First time setup" for the computer (the same thing you get when buying an OEM PC and first booting it).

With regards to the SD card it is weird for this reason: when the text part of the install finishes copying the install files to the hdd, it reboots and begins the graphical part of the install.
The graphical part of the install boots from the hdd itself so if you get to the graphical part of the install it means that, at that point, the bootloader is correctly in place on the sd card.

Have you tried booting while holding the SD card and pushing it deep into the slot with your finger (and holding it there?).

The first batches of Roboards had some issues with the SD card connectors. Holding the SD card in the slot of placing some duck tape on top of the card (to make it thicker) seemed to solve the issue. This has since been fixed though.

Another thing I would try is using a different SD card. Try to install a simpler OS to it just to see if it boots (for example DOS as it is much faster to install).

Other than this I can't really help much more. Maybe the Roboard engineers that monitor this forum can help you...

Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Post by kimkom
Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:07 pm

Hi,
as you can read in my first post i do a full unattended install and yes it works but i've the same problem on the win desktop as i had before in the setup (after the hardware detection). No keyboard and mouse would do their job.
I doensnt matter if the keyboard/mouse connected before the power up or after the win desktop appears.In the bios it works! It seems that windows had trouble with the usb-drivers. It doesnt recognize the usb ports.
So what could that be??

Why should should i rape my sd card? If if boot from the usb-stick (with the win setup on it) and switch to the menu and choose "loading windows" it works well. The OS starts from the sd card, so i should have contact.
The bios do also recognize the sd card correctly as the pri master.
So its no hardware failure. If i power up the board it brings the message "Disk error. Please press a key to restart"

HELP ME!! Without a keyboard/mouse its a nice but useless board :cry:
Hi,
as you can read in my first post i do a full unattended install and yes it works but i've the same problem on the win desktop as i had before in the setup (after the hardware detection). No keyboard and mouse would do their job.
I doensnt matter if the keyboard/mouse connected before the power up or after the win desktop appears.In the bios it works! It seems that windows had trouble with the usb-drivers. It doesnt recognize the usb ports.
So what could that be??

Why should should i rape my sd card? If if boot from the usb-stick (with the win setup on it) and switch to the menu and choose "loading windows" it works well. The OS starts from the sd card, so i should have contact.
The bios do also recognize the sd card correctly as the pri master.
So its no hardware failure. If i power up the board it brings the message "Disk error. Please press a key to restart"

HELP ME!! Without a keyboard/mouse its a nice but useless board :cry:
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by rpechler » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:11 am

Post by rpechler
Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:11 am

Hi,

I am Reinier from the netherlands and my english is also not so good.
I also got some problems with the installation and discovered that the microsd card can't be format as ntfs when you want to install windows xp on the Roboard. I don't no why.

My suggestion is to try first format de microsd with FAT. Install windows xp (without the winjunk) from an external cdrom or dvdrom which you prepared with nlite including the drivers. This will take a long time but be passioned. I remember that I also got the message "Disk error. Please press a key to restart". That the mouse and keyboard not respond during installation I also notice.

To do some experience you can make a copy after the installation and try to convert the file system from FAT to NTFS. I tried this not yet.

Maybe this information will help solving for problem.

Regards, Reinier
Hi,

I am Reinier from the netherlands and my english is also not so good.
I also got some problems with the installation and discovered that the microsd card can't be format as ntfs when you want to install windows xp on the Roboard. I don't no why.

My suggestion is to try first format de microsd with FAT. Install windows xp (without the winjunk) from an external cdrom or dvdrom which you prepared with nlite including the drivers. This will take a long time but be passioned. I remember that I also got the message "Disk error. Please press a key to restart". That the mouse and keyboard not respond during installation I also notice.

To do some experience you can make a copy after the installation and try to convert the file system from FAT to NTFS. I tried this not yet.

Maybe this information will help solving for problem.

Regards, Reinier
rpechler offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:12 pm

Post by kimkom » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:12 am

Post by kimkom
Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:12 am

Thx for Reply.

I didnt used NTFS. I used FAT32 and again the innstallation works nearly well. Only the fact that keyboard and mouse didnt work after the hardware detection and on the normal win desktop as well.

I will try to convert the sd after the installation back to ntfs. maybe it works.

Why doesnt windows xp sp3 recognize my usb connections? Normally a message pops up in the right corner besides the clock if you stick in a usb device. The keyboard/mouse didnt work, so i havn't a chance to check the hardware manager...

any suggestions?
Thx for Reply.

I didnt used NTFS. I used FAT32 and again the innstallation works nearly well. Only the fact that keyboard and mouse didnt work after the hardware detection and on the normal win desktop as well.

I will try to convert the sd after the installation back to ntfs. maybe it works.

Why doesnt windows xp sp3 recognize my usb connections? Normally a message pops up in the right corner besides the clock if you stick in a usb device. The keyboard/mouse didnt work, so i havn't a chance to check the hardware manager...

any suggestions?
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:29 am

Post by PedroR
Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:29 am

if it is xp professional, have you enabled remote desktop when doing nlite?
i'm not sure if there is a way to enable it from the Restore Console. Maybe doing a "reg import" with the correct reg keys would do it.

You could try and use Remote Desktop assuming you slipstreamed all the correct drivers for the LAN and VGA.

with regards to your issue with the keyboard, i would recommend trying different models and also try connecting them to different ports on the board (for example connect the keyboard directly to the onboard USB port).

Are you using a USB hub? I also assume you are using the 2 external ports. please make sure the ports are formly connected and the connection is correctly oriented.

I also don't think it's a FAT or NTFS issue. I have had this issue as well, used NTFS and after the install completed both the keyboard and mouse worked.
NTFS is also a much more efficient filesystem that would likelly imoprove the performance of the board significantly as it requires less HDD usage for most of the FS operations.

Pedro.
if it is xp professional, have you enabled remote desktop when doing nlite?
i'm not sure if there is a way to enable it from the Restore Console. Maybe doing a "reg import" with the correct reg keys would do it.

You could try and use Remote Desktop assuming you slipstreamed all the correct drivers for the LAN and VGA.

with regards to your issue with the keyboard, i would recommend trying different models and also try connecting them to different ports on the board (for example connect the keyboard directly to the onboard USB port).

Are you using a USB hub? I also assume you are using the 2 external ports. please make sure the ports are formly connected and the connection is correctly oriented.

I also don't think it's a FAT or NTFS issue. I have had this issue as well, used NTFS and after the install completed both the keyboard and mouse worked.
NTFS is also a much more efficient filesystem that would likelly imoprove the performance of the board significantly as it requires less HDD usage for most of the FS operations.

Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:53 pm

Post by kimkom
Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:53 pm

Hi PedroR,

which reg should i use?

I've already tried 2 different keyboards and mice. I had also tried a ps2 keyboard with a usb adapter, but failed. I didnt use a hub and i also connect the keyb/mouse in every possbile combination :D
I know that the connection works because: first: i can boot with the usbstick from it and second the keyboard/mouse works in Bios and during the setup (before the hw detection process).

I will try to format the sd card from the beginning as ntfs. I will reinstall it and then we will see....
Hi PedroR,

which reg should i use?

I've already tried 2 different keyboards and mice. I had also tried a ps2 keyboard with a usb adapter, but failed. I didnt use a hub and i also connect the keyb/mouse in every possbile combination :D
I know that the connection works because: first: i can boot with the usbstick from it and second the keyboard/mouse works in Bios and during the setup (before the hw detection process).

I will try to format the sd card from the beginning as ntfs. I will reinstall it and then we will see....
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:01 pm

Post by PedroR
Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:01 pm

Hi Kimkom

With regards to the reg import command to enable RDP you'll have to google it as I don't recall it but it should be easy. You can try here http://www.google.pt/search?hl=pt-PT&q= ... =&aq=f&oq=


If you're going for a new install, my recommendation is that you create a new install with nLite ONLY with the following modifications:

- Make sure it is an English US Windows XP
- Slipstream SP3 if necessary
- Add the IDE drivers from Robosavvy
- Add the LAN drivers
- Add the VGA drivers

- On the options, set it to fully unatended. Set ALL the unatended options, including the windows key, the computer NETBIOS name (so you can connect to it later over RDP), time zones, keyboard layouts and all other options.
- Also try to look around for the option that enables Remote Desktop from the beginning.


DON'T remove any windows components using nLite. Do a full normal install to make sure everything is on the hdd.
Hi Kimkom

With regards to the reg import command to enable RDP you'll have to google it as I don't recall it but it should be easy. You can try here http://www.google.pt/search?hl=pt-PT&q= ... =&aq=f&oq=


If you're going for a new install, my recommendation is that you create a new install with nLite ONLY with the following modifications:

- Make sure it is an English US Windows XP
- Slipstream SP3 if necessary
- Add the IDE drivers from Robosavvy
- Add the LAN drivers
- Add the VGA drivers

- On the options, set it to fully unatended. Set ALL the unatended options, including the windows key, the computer NETBIOS name (so you can connect to it later over RDP), time zones, keyboard layouts and all other options.
- Also try to look around for the option that enables Remote Desktop from the beginning.


DON'T remove any windows components using nLite. Do a full normal install to make sure everything is on the hdd.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:18 pm

Post by kimkom
Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:18 pm

That sounds damn good to me 8)

Why it has to be an english US XP? The language normally doesnt matter but i guess you didnt mean that :?:

so...i'm game!
That sounds damn good to me 8)

Why it has to be an english US XP? The language normally doesnt matter but i guess you didnt mean that :?:

so...i'm game!
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:21 pm

Post by PedroR
Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:21 pm

hi kimkom

I am just eliminating all variables.
there were rumours (UNCONFIRMED) that localized versions of XP would have issues with our modified IDE drivers for nLite.

I know it is probably unrelated but if you have a copy of the English US version, I would give that a try,as I said, to eliminate all possible variables or error.
hi kimkom

I am just eliminating all variables.
there were rumours (UNCONFIRMED) that localized versions of XP would have issues with our modified IDE drivers for nLite.

I know it is probably unrelated but if you have a copy of the English US version, I would give that a try,as I said, to eliminate all possible variables or error.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:12 pm

Post by kimkom
Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:12 pm

Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??
Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by PedroR » Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:08 pm

Post by PedroR
Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:08 pm

not sure about that.
This issue happened once, here on the forum. Look around as the person who faced that same problem, did solve it but I'm not sure how.

Look on this forum as the post is here.
not sure about that.
This issue happened once, here on the forum. Look around as the person who faced that same problem, did solve it but I'm not sure how.

Look on this forum as the post is here.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by kimkom » Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:53 pm

Post by kimkom
Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:53 pm

Hi PedroR,

if you mean that thread:
http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3804
here it is.

Let me summarize the last 8 hours ;-)
First i need a console to run cmospwd to kill the cmos.
I have tried the windows recovery console but i doesnt work. If i try to open my cmospwd folder its says "Access diened"-->dead end

Then i tried a Dos version. works but...i dont know hot to bind the keyboard driver in a bootable dos version, so i couldnt load cmospwd becaus no keyboard avaiable--> dead end

Then i tried Linux. But which tiny version would be the best?I downloaded "voyage linux" (donno exactly how it was called). This version is for embedded boards. But the next problem was to find a suitable formatting program to made a bootable stick/sd card... for me a dead end, its too confusing :?

Then i find that website:
http://www.dmp.com.tw/tech/vortex86dx/#os

I downloaded the VDX_XPe_373MB.zip (win xp embedded eval), plz dont ask me why that version. And i made a bootable sd card, put the files on it and boot. And it runs...but the start up took nearly 1,5hour, i was so troubled that i switch off and go to bed.

And all happend because i only changed one option in the bios.
But i'm on it...
Hi PedroR,

if you mean that thread:
http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3804
here it is.

Let me summarize the last 8 hours ;-)
First i need a console to run cmospwd to kill the cmos.
I have tried the windows recovery console but i doesnt work. If i try to open my cmospwd folder its says "Access diened"-->dead end

Then i tried a Dos version. works but...i dont know hot to bind the keyboard driver in a bootable dos version, so i couldnt load cmospwd becaus no keyboard avaiable--> dead end

Then i tried Linux. But which tiny version would be the best?I downloaded "voyage linux" (donno exactly how it was called). This version is for embedded boards. But the next problem was to find a suitable formatting program to made a bootable stick/sd card... for me a dead end, its too confusing :?

Then i find that website:
http://www.dmp.com.tw/tech/vortex86dx/#os

I downloaded the VDX_XPe_373MB.zip (win xp embedded eval), plz dont ask me why that version. And i made a bootable sd card, put the files on it and boot. And it runs...but the start up took nearly 1,5hour, i was so troubled that i switch off and go to bed.

And all happend because i only changed one option in the bios.
But i'm on it...
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Next
Next
27 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
27 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
cron