Robonewbie

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1

Robonewbie

Post by robbmcmahan » Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:31 am

Post by robbmcmahan
Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:31 am

Hi. I'm hoping someone could help me. I just purchased a Robobuilder from ebay and it came with a bluetooth module installed. From my understanding I'm suppose to be able to send commands through bluetooth instead of having to use a com port which is what I need to do because I'm running Windows XP on a mac using parallels. I found on the internet the installation procedures but nowhere can I find how to actually connect to the bluetooth module? Can someone please walk me through how this works? Thanks
Hi. I'm hoping someone could help me. I just purchased a Robobuilder from ebay and it came with a bluetooth module installed. From my understanding I'm suppose to be able to send commands through bluetooth instead of having to use a com port which is what I need to do because I'm running Windows XP on a mac using parallels. I found on the internet the installation procedures but nowhere can I find how to actually connect to the bluetooth module? Can someone please walk me through how this works? Thanks
robbmcmahan offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:28 am

Post by limor » Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:47 pm

Post by limor
Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:47 pm

I recommend that you first try the wired option. XP in Parallels COM port works perfectly fine.

The bluetooth module should appear on your PC when you search for devices and you then connect to it and you get new COM ports through which you communicate with the robot as if you had attached the wire. hence start with the wire to familiarize yourself with the applications to isolate potential issues.
I recommend that you first try the wired option. XP in Parallels COM port works perfectly fine.

The bluetooth module should appear on your PC when you search for devices and you then connect to it and you get new COM ports through which you communicate with the robot as if you had attached the wire. hence start with the wire to familiarize yourself with the applications to isolate potential issues.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by robbmcmahan » Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:16 pm

Post by robbmcmahan
Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:16 pm

Thanks limor. The issue is that I don't have a serial port or a USB adapter so I need to run the bluetooth. Is there a way to use the bluetooth from my mac with parallels without using the serial port?
Thanks limor. The issue is that I don't have a serial port or a USB adapter so I need to run the bluetooth. Is there a way to use the bluetooth from my mac with parallels without using the serial port?
robbmcmahan offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:28 am

Post by limor » Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:01 pm

Post by limor
Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:01 pm

if it doesn't work then you need a usb2serial adapter. they are dirt cheap (see on robosavvy or ebay)

did you try what i suggested?
"The bluetooth module should appear on your PC when you search for devices and you then connect to it.." means you enable bluetooth on your virtual machine and then in parallels/xp you look for the robot's device broadcast address among the list of bluetooth devices that are in your vicinity. you can verify that the robot's device is broadcasting by looking for it in your Mac first.
if it doesn't work then you need a usb2serial adapter. they are dirt cheap (see on robosavvy or ebay)

did you try what i suggested?
"The bluetooth module should appear on your PC when you search for devices and you then connect to it.." means you enable bluetooth on your virtual machine and then in parallels/xp you look for the robot's device broadcast address among the list of bluetooth devices that are in your vicinity. you can verify that the robot's device is broadcasting by looking for it in your Mac first.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by robbmcmahan » Sat Jul 03, 2010 8:48 pm

Post by robbmcmahan
Sat Jul 03, 2010 8:48 pm

Ok, what i've done now is to install Windows 7 with bootcamp. I turn on the robot and then search for devices but it's not finding the robots bluetooth signal!? Is there something else I have to do to the robot to make it start broadcasting the bluetooth?

Thanks
Ok, what i've done now is to install Windows 7 with bootcamp. I turn on the robot and then search for devices but it's not finding the robots bluetooth signal!? Is there something else I have to do to the robot to make it start broadcasting the bluetooth?

Thanks
robbmcmahan offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:28 am


5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1