RBC microcontroller's problem

Korean company maker of Robot kits and servos designed for of articulated robots. Re-incarnation of Megarobotics.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

RBC microcontroller's problem

Post by Novice » Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:43 pm

Post by Novice
Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:43 pm

Hi guys!
1-st,I wish a happy New Year for everybody!
2-nd, I have a few questions regarding the problems I got with my RB5730 kit.
I hope someone of the forum specialist could be help for Ukrainian beginner :) .Sorry for my bad English, by the way,I hope my location explains my language troubles of.
So,shortly.I bought some kits of the robot before the new year.There are:KHR-3 kit from Robosavvy,RBK 5730 from Korean manufacturer directly,MechRC and Robophilo kits from America.We have a purpose to test and compare it,then to use the most useful ones in the our one fanny entertainment project (hope to give the data of one here,in case we will get a good result of :D ).
Finally, we have built the 16 DOF HUNO from the 5730 kit and saw the problems like we could read in the forum's messages a little beat early,especially by l3v3rtz generated... I saw the similar questions in this Forum but I could not see the clean answers for , that's why I try to ask again...
Trying to systematize the problems I'm asking:
1.Our RBC-08128YNN works a little beat wrong :roll:
- I could not save any project,Motion Builder says "Project Save Error".We have been using the V1.13 ,V1.16,V1.19b Motion Builder for 16 DOF HUNO configuration, tried to test it with servo's connection and without,no difference
- I could not write a zero pose any case,MB says "zero pose write failure" after ZeroCapture ->5,4,3,2,1,->OK.
- I have been getting the red Error light of the RBC after loading of the any firmware gotten from the manufacturer's WEB site robobuilder.net.Not depending what kind of the firmware I load for ,I see the RBC firmware upgrade tool's message " Flash File successfully downloaded" and red "Error" LED,green "power" LED,blue "PF1" LED on the RBC.
- WCK are tested by RoboBuilder Diagnostic Tool V0.65 , it says that all of the WCK's connected correctly and work properly.
-Robobuilder Download Tool shows invalid RBC number looks like w/”—w“ъ” instead of the ASCI code corresponding to the digital code=3061200013375 written on the RBC firm label.
The same wrong serial code number I 'm getting when I ask for RBC directly by the COM port of computer in the terminal emulation mode (as the Robosavvy advices in their article called like "additional RBC commands")
-the bluetooth module I inserted to the board works properly.
-We tried to load the firmware were formed by CodeVisionAVR C-compiler like the Robobuilder recommends.It look like:we took the sample of robobuilder's C-file, made the new header, compiled it into the .HEX and load to the RBC.It were loaded properly, however...We wrote the new Zero Pose data in the second C-source and send this HEX-file to the RBC, when we have read the saved file with a Zero Pose data gotten by Motion Builder->Read Zero From RBC->Succeed To Get ZeroPosition, I saw the different data against the ones I loaded to.
So, the data I wrote upper are signs.We tested the RBC both with my colleague who is novice like me in the robobuilding project, but he is not beginner regarding the automation projects based on micro controller applications, thats why I trust to him when he says "something not good with the EEPROM and most likely with the memory allocating".

How do you think , what have we do?May someone give us the advice regarding the diagnostic of RBC based on the data I presented?How do we fix the problems and repair it ?The questions manly concerned to the good engineers like Pedro, l3v3rtz, I-bot ... :)
Sorry if I distract your attention, hope the dialogue will be useful .
With the my best wishes and regards to everybody :)
Oleg Mashkov,Ukraine
Hi guys!
1-st,I wish a happy New Year for everybody!
2-nd, I have a few questions regarding the problems I got with my RB5730 kit.
I hope someone of the forum specialist could be help for Ukrainian beginner :) .Sorry for my bad English, by the way,I hope my location explains my language troubles of.
So,shortly.I bought some kits of the robot before the new year.There are:KHR-3 kit from Robosavvy,RBK 5730 from Korean manufacturer directly,MechRC and Robophilo kits from America.We have a purpose to test and compare it,then to use the most useful ones in the our one fanny entertainment project (hope to give the data of one here,in case we will get a good result of :D ).
Finally, we have built the 16 DOF HUNO from the 5730 kit and saw the problems like we could read in the forum's messages a little beat early,especially by l3v3rtz generated... I saw the similar questions in this Forum but I could not see the clean answers for , that's why I try to ask again...
Trying to systematize the problems I'm asking:
1.Our RBC-08128YNN works a little beat wrong :roll:
- I could not save any project,Motion Builder says "Project Save Error".We have been using the V1.13 ,V1.16,V1.19b Motion Builder for 16 DOF HUNO configuration, tried to test it with servo's connection and without,no difference
- I could not write a zero pose any case,MB says "zero pose write failure" after ZeroCapture ->5,4,3,2,1,->OK.
- I have been getting the red Error light of the RBC after loading of the any firmware gotten from the manufacturer's WEB site robobuilder.net.Not depending what kind of the firmware I load for ,I see the RBC firmware upgrade tool's message " Flash File successfully downloaded" and red "Error" LED,green "power" LED,blue "PF1" LED on the RBC.
- WCK are tested by RoboBuilder Diagnostic Tool V0.65 , it says that all of the WCK's connected correctly and work properly.
-Robobuilder Download Tool shows invalid RBC number looks like w/”—w“ъ” instead of the ASCI code corresponding to the digital code=3061200013375 written on the RBC firm label.
The same wrong serial code number I 'm getting when I ask for RBC directly by the COM port of computer in the terminal emulation mode (as the Robosavvy advices in their article called like "additional RBC commands")
-the bluetooth module I inserted to the board works properly.
-We tried to load the firmware were formed by CodeVisionAVR C-compiler like the Robobuilder recommends.It look like:we took the sample of robobuilder's C-file, made the new header, compiled it into the .HEX and load to the RBC.It were loaded properly, however...We wrote the new Zero Pose data in the second C-source and send this HEX-file to the RBC, when we have read the saved file with a Zero Pose data gotten by Motion Builder->Read Zero From RBC->Succeed To Get ZeroPosition, I saw the different data against the ones I loaded to.
So, the data I wrote upper are signs.We tested the RBC both with my colleague who is novice like me in the robobuilding project, but he is not beginner regarding the automation projects based on micro controller applications, thats why I trust to him when he says "something not good with the EEPROM and most likely with the memory allocating".

How do you think , what have we do?May someone give us the advice regarding the diagnostic of RBC based on the data I presented?How do we fix the problems and repair it ?The questions manly concerned to the good engineers like Pedro, l3v3rtz, I-bot ... :)
Sorry if I distract your attention, hope the dialogue will be useful .
With the my best wishes and regards to everybody :)
Oleg Mashkov,Ukraine
Novice offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:21 pm

Post by l3v3rz » Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:28 pm

Post by l3v3rz
Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:28 pm

Hi there,

This sounds like a corrupted firmware serial number - similar to a problem NovaOne had : http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3642

The only way to fix is to write some custom code to upload and write serial number back into firmware.

Hopefully Novaone or i-bot can send you a copy of the code they used.

Essentialy you need something that looks like this:

Code: Select all

#include <avr/eeprom.h>

typedef unsigned char   uint8_t; // not sure if need?

uint8_t EEMEM FIRMWARE[64];     



void main()
{
      // 3061200013375
   uint8_t fixb[] = {0,
      0x33, 0x30, 0x36, 0x31, 0x32, 0x30, 0x30, 0x30, 0x31, 0x33, 0x33, 0x37, 0x35,
      0x00, 0x00, 0x00
      };
      
   for (int i=0; i<16; i++)
   {
      eeprom_write_byte(FIRMWARE+i, fixb[i]);
   }
}


It may a bit of playing with to get to compile - AVR CC.


Hope this helps.
Hi there,

This sounds like a corrupted firmware serial number - similar to a problem NovaOne had : http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3642

The only way to fix is to write some custom code to upload and write serial number back into firmware.

Hopefully Novaone or i-bot can send you a copy of the code they used.

Essentialy you need something that looks like this:

Code: Select all

#include <avr/eeprom.h>

typedef unsigned char   uint8_t; // not sure if need?

uint8_t EEMEM FIRMWARE[64];     



void main()
{
      // 3061200013375
   uint8_t fixb[] = {0,
      0x33, 0x30, 0x36, 0x31, 0x32, 0x30, 0x30, 0x30, 0x31, 0x33, 0x33, 0x37, 0x35,
      0x00, 0x00, 0x00
      };
      
   for (int i=0; i<16; i++)
   {
      eeprom_write_byte(FIRMWARE+i, fixb[i]);
   }
}


It may a bit of playing with to get to compile - AVR CC.


Hope this helps.
l3v3rz offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:34 pm

Post by Novice » Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:28 am

Post by Novice
Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:28 am

Hi l3v3rz
Thank U very much for the fast reply!
As I understand U are offering to fix the serial number problem firstly.
So,I 'll try to do.
Will give a report after that.
Thanks again
Oleg
Hi l3v3rz
Thank U very much for the fast reply!
As I understand U are offering to fix the serial number problem firstly.
So,I 'll try to do.
Will give a report after that.
Thanks again
Oleg
Novice offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:21 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1