robophilo

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
205 postsPage 7 of 141 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14
205 postsPage 7 of 141 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14

Post by BrianG » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:14 am

Post by BrianG
Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:14 am

trey3670 wrote:now my battery has also overheated and bit the big one. I am on the edge of being a lil mad now. I mean we know theres a prob with the smaller servos and now the batt? what should I expect for 400$ though right?

well if I paid 400$ for an rc car/heli that thing better come with carbon and alloy parts and be well designed. now with philo I understand the tradeoff,less quality materials so you can get a walking bot. but it actually has to walk! not strip the servos,that came with it!,and blow the battery after 8 mins of use. sorry jus venting a lil bit :x


If you want to unload it I might be interested
trey3670 wrote:now my battery has also overheated and bit the big one. I am on the edge of being a lil mad now. I mean we know theres a prob with the smaller servos and now the batt? what should I expect for 400$ though right?

well if I paid 400$ for an rc car/heli that thing better come with carbon and alloy parts and be well designed. now with philo I understand the tradeoff,less quality materials so you can get a walking bot. but it actually has to walk! not strip the servos,that came with it!,and blow the battery after 8 mins of use. sorry jus venting a lil bit :x


If you want to unload it I might be interested
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:27 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:27 am

I started with the base motion file in the motion-library. Then I changed the initial servo positions of the base motion file to my tuned setting. So far he can bend down, pick up a box hold it over his head and place it back down. I started working on a cartwheel but it's quite difficult. I think I need to perfect some of the inital poses in the sequence before committing to send him rolling. :shock:
I created a new topic under the RoboPhilo forum called "Post your videos here" check it out. Here's my first video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBegvOwHTJ0
I started with the base motion file in the motion-library. Then I changed the initial servo positions of the base motion file to my tuned setting. So far he can bend down, pick up a box hold it over his head and place it back down. I started working on a cartwheel but it's quite difficult. I think I need to perfect some of the inital poses in the sequence before committing to send him rolling. :shock:
I created a new topic under the RoboPhilo forum called "Post your videos here" check it out. Here's my first video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBegvOwHTJ0
Last edited by jaybirdtke on Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by rebuildit » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:49 am

Post by rebuildit
Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:49 am

Ok, Got mine built, The battery is charging now. Outside of the servo's being jittery I am having fun with this. I am hoping the jittery in the servos is a low battery. I simply assembled it according to the instructions, and when I tried the remote with the factory installed programming it actual got down and up and walked and rotated without falling..

I think if robobrothers is going to replace your servo that is a very good sign of customer service. I had a problem with the cd and they zipped everything and emailed it and is going to send a new cd this week.
The only gripe I have right now is the layout of the instructions, I felt like I had to search for everything needed to complete a sub-assembly. But overall I think this a great platform to begin with.
Ok, Got mine built, The battery is charging now. Outside of the servo's being jittery I am having fun with this. I am hoping the jittery in the servos is a low battery. I simply assembled it according to the instructions, and when I tried the remote with the factory installed programming it actual got down and up and walked and rotated without falling..

I think if robobrothers is going to replace your servo that is a very good sign of customer service. I had a problem with the cd and they zipped everything and emailed it and is going to send a new cd this week.
The only gripe I have right now is the layout of the instructions, I felt like I had to search for everything needed to complete a sub-assembly. But overall I think this a great platform to begin with.
rebuildit offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 1:00 am

Post by trey3670 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:27 am

Post by trey3670
Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:27 am

anybody know of other software to use the philo with?
anybody know of other software to use the philo with?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by trey3670 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:22 pm

Post by trey3670
Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:22 pm

ok between the battery meltdown and now I have switched pc's I am able to get the philo-motion loaded and the bot running(useing a 6v receiver pack velcroed to the waist servo) I cant get the fine tuning down. when I am in the fine tune tab I hit save and then next time when I go load it up it goes back to being off the same way,any one know what I am doing wrong?
ok between the battery meltdown and now I have switched pc's I am able to get the philo-motion loaded and the bot running(useing a 6v receiver pack velcroed to the waist servo) I cant get the fine tuning down. when I am in the fine tune tab I hit save and then next time when I go load it up it goes back to being off the same way,any one know what I am doing wrong?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:19 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:19 pm

After saving in the fine tuning tab, you must go back to the Configuration tab and Save your motion file there. Make sure when you click save, that the motion file name is a local path. ex. "c:\philo-motion", not just "philo-motion".
After saving in the fine tuning tab, you must go back to the Configuration tab and Save your motion file there. Make sure when you click save, that the motion file name is a local path. ex. "c:\philo-motion", not just "philo-motion".
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:09 am

Post by trey3670
Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:09 am

doh! thats it! this pc has two hard drives I was saving to the wrong one!
doh! thats it! this pc has two hard drives I was saving to the wrong one!
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:37 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:37 am

While trying to get him to balance on one leg with the other leg out to the side I'm really starting to notice the weakness in the hip servos. I'll have to get creative and balance him on one leg first by using one of the preprogrammed poses like the kick_slrb2 pose then swing the elevated leg out to the side. The problem with replacing these servos is the fact that during assembly you glue them to other parts (RB003-B and RB013). :?
While trying to get him to balance on one leg with the other leg out to the side I'm really starting to notice the weakness in the hip servos. I'll have to get creative and balance him on one leg first by using one of the preprogrammed poses like the kick_slrb2 pose then swing the elevated leg out to the side. The problem with replacing these servos is the fact that during assembly you glue them to other parts (RB003-B and RB013). :?
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:31 am

Post by trey3670
Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:31 am

if I remember correctly you can take the four screws out of the bottom of the servo and replace it that way.
if I remember correctly you can take the four screws out of the bottom of the servo and replace it that way.
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:35 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:35 am

That might not work, but they are very close. According to the specs on the robobrothers website.
SV 4104 Servos - Dimensions: 1.57" x 0.79" x 1.5"
SV 4032 Servos - Dimensions: 1.59" x 0.78" x 1.42"
That might not work, but they are very close. According to the specs on the robobrothers website.
SV 4104 Servos - Dimensions: 1.57" x 0.79" x 1.5"
SV 4032 Servos - Dimensions: 1.59" x 0.78" x 1.42"
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:15 am

Post by trey3670
Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:15 am

well I got an email back from robobrothers and he basically said I charged the battery to long,and kindly offered to sell me another :roll:


as for the servos the dimensions being different is strange but not insurmountable. I was hoping a robot that I could slowly upgrade but this is turning into a real project. jus to keep it operational it looks like some upgrades are gonna be needed,maybe I should have bought a khr or bioloid.
well I got an email back from robobrothers and he basically said I charged the battery to long,and kindly offered to sell me another :roll:


as for the servos the dimensions being different is strange but not insurmountable. I was hoping a robot that I could slowly upgrade but this is turning into a real project. jus to keep it operational it looks like some upgrades are gonna be needed,maybe I should have bought a khr or bioloid.
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:10 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:10 am

I just got an email from robobrothers regarding servo upgrades.
We will be selling all the parts for Robophilo for upgrades and replacements very soon.

You can upgrade the servos for SV4032 with SV4140 for higher torque. You will need the following,

1) SV4140 - $25.00
2) RB035 - $3.50
3) RB036 - $2.00

After the replacement, you will need to use the fine tuning tab to set 90 degree for the new servo (with the horn off), then put on the horn (initial position setting), then do the fine tuning.

We'll make the servo brackets available for sale next week.
I just got an email from robobrothers regarding servo upgrades.
We will be selling all the parts for Robophilo for upgrades and replacements very soon.

You can upgrade the servos for SV4032 with SV4140 for higher torque. You will need the following,

1) SV4140 - $25.00
2) RB035 - $3.50
3) RB036 - $2.00

After the replacement, you will need to use the fine tuning tab to set 90 degree for the new servo (with the horn off), then put on the horn (initial position setting), then do the fine tuning.

We'll make the servo brackets available for sale next week.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:53 am

Post by trey3670
Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:53 am

so he is saying "we did ship out a robot with the wrong parts but hey we will sell you the right ones!"

anyone else reminded of a car salesman?
so he is saying "we did ship out a robot with the wrong parts but hey we will sell you the right ones!"

anyone else reminded of a car salesman?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:48 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:48 am

I think it was more of a marketing decision to keep it priced under $400 and $500 RTW. If they were to use all SV4140's in place of the SV4032's they would have upped the price to $588 and $688 RTW. It is totally functional with the SV4032's but if you want it to perform more advance routines you should upgrade at least the hip servos to start.
They now have the battery for sale $10.00
I think it was more of a marketing decision to keep it priced under $400 and $500 RTW. If they were to use all SV4140's in place of the SV4032's they would have upped the price to $588 and $688 RTW. It is totally functional with the SV4032's but if you want it to perform more advance routines you should upgrade at least the hip servos to start.
They now have the battery for sale $10.00
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by Tech Mech » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:16 am

Post by Tech Mech
Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:16 am

They might have been better off selling a better performing robot for a little more money.
They might have been better off selling a better performing robot for a little more money.
Tech Mech offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:21 am
Location: Detroit Mi

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
205 postsPage 7 of 141 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14
205 postsPage 7 of 141 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14