robophilo

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
205 postsPage 6 of 141 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14
205 postsPage 6 of 141 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14

Post by jaybirdtke » Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:29 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:29 pm

I have my first hardware problem. I think the gears in the head servo have stripped. I can hear the motor running continuously but the servo will not respond. I have contacted robobrothers to see what they can do for me. Stay tuned.....
I have my first hardware problem. I think the gears in the head servo have stripped. I can hear the motor running continuously but the servo will not respond. I have contacted robobrothers to see what they can do for me. Stay tuned.....
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:27 pm

Post by trey3670
Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:27 pm

the small servos it comes with are very weak. I was thinking that hs 55s would work in there stead,also some of the other servos seem to suffer from lak of torqe so I will replace them as I go,when they go out put higher torqe ones in.
the small servos it comes with are very weak. I was thinking that hs 55s would work in there stead,also some of the other servos seem to suffer from lak of torqe so I will replace them as I go,when they go out put higher torqe ones in.
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by Tech Mech » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:03 am

Post by Tech Mech
Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:03 am

hmm... Same problem. I was trying out the motions on the remote while he was hanging from the stand and the whole thing fell forward off the table and on to the floor. Both hip turning servos jammed and are toast. :cry:
hmm... Same problem. I was trying out the motions on the remote while he was hanging from the stand and the whole thing fell forward off the table and on to the floor. Both hip turning servos jammed and are toast. :cry:
Tech Mech offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:21 am
Location: Detroit Mi

Post by jaybirdtke » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:23 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:23 am

Sorry to hear about the fall. :cry: For the head I have an HS 50 but the wire is too short. I also have a few FMA S80's but none of them will return to center when connected to the controller. Hopefully Robobrothers will replace the factory servo.
I looked into costs of upgrading servos and it get's pricey pretty quick. For $30.00 - Hitec HS635HB analog,Karbonite gears, Dual Ball Bearing would make a good replacement or replace the SV4032 with the SV4140 that are in ankles for $25.00. (see comparison below)
SV4032 --- Speed .19 Torque 4.1 Weight 1.30 Cost 12.50
HS635HB - Speed .15 Torque 6.0 Weight 1.76 Cost 30.00
SV4140 --- Speed .16 Torque 6.5 Weight 1.40 Cost 25.00
I think either of these would make good replacements, however the stockers are half the price and not having to worry about length of each servo wire is a plus. I think I'll be keeping him stock and low cost. If after a while I'm still as excited about this hobby as I am now and I'm looking for higher performance. I'll just save up for a KHR-1HV or whatever newer KHR model that may come out by then. But for now, this robot rocks, he's a lot of fun. I just began trying to create new motions and needless to say it's slow going but I'm having fun. :lol:
Sorry to hear about the fall. :cry: For the head I have an HS 50 but the wire is too short. I also have a few FMA S80's but none of them will return to center when connected to the controller. Hopefully Robobrothers will replace the factory servo.
I looked into costs of upgrading servos and it get's pricey pretty quick. For $30.00 - Hitec HS635HB analog,Karbonite gears, Dual Ball Bearing would make a good replacement or replace the SV4032 with the SV4140 that are in ankles for $25.00. (see comparison below)
SV4032 --- Speed .19 Torque 4.1 Weight 1.30 Cost 12.50
HS635HB - Speed .15 Torque 6.0 Weight 1.76 Cost 30.00
SV4140 --- Speed .16 Torque 6.5 Weight 1.40 Cost 25.00
I think either of these would make good replacements, however the stockers are half the price and not having to worry about length of each servo wire is a plus. I think I'll be keeping him stock and low cost. If after a while I'm still as excited about this hobby as I am now and I'm looking for higher performance. I'll just save up for a KHR-1HV or whatever newer KHR model that may come out by then. But for now, this robot rocks, he's a lot of fun. I just began trying to create new motions and needless to say it's slow going but I'm having fun. :lol:
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by kinglasserres » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:51 pm

Post by kinglasserres
Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:51 pm

that the first thing i notice on the philo the ankle servo is weak only the two sv4140 are on the upper leg. I replace four on the legs already but i put a futaba s3010 same spec as the sv4140 but its ballbearing and the gear is a little stronger also the cable is as long as the sv4140. Might need four more for the ankle and hip. Im also still waiting for the robonova bracket set i might mod it to fit the philo. Will see!
that the first thing i notice on the philo the ankle servo is weak only the two sv4140 are on the upper leg. I replace four on the legs already but i put a futaba s3010 same spec as the sv4140 but its ballbearing and the gear is a little stronger also the cable is as long as the sv4140. Might need four more for the ankle and hip. Im also still waiting for the robonova bracket set i might mod it to fit the philo. Will see!
kinglasserres offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:54 pm

Post by trey3670 » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:57 pm

Post by trey3670
Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:57 pm

anyone else have servos getting hot?

and the robnova brackets are for sale seprately?
anyone else have servos getting hot?

and the robnova brackets are for sale seprately?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by kinglasserres » Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:09 pm

Post by kinglasserres
Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:09 pm

yes check out lynxmotion for the bracket. The thing that got hot for me is the batt it was so hot i can even hold it and the outer skin was cut off.
yes check out lynxmotion for the bracket. The thing that got hot for me is the batt it was so hot i can even hold it and the outer skin was cut off.
kinglasserres offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:54 pm

Post by jaybirdtke » Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:21 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:21 pm

Page 15, Step 10 of the manual on the CD, shows the SV4140 servos being used for the ankles.
Page 15, Step 10 of the manual on the CD, shows the SV4140 servos being used for the ankles.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by BrianG » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:52 am

Post by BrianG
Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:52 am

jaybirdtke wrote:You would need a charger specifically for Lipo's if you went that route. I actually like the fact that the stock charger is small and you can leave it connected while in use. As of yet, robobrothers does not have replacement batteries in their online store. I did find where you can have a battery pack fully assembled with the factory KAN700AA cells for $12.50 US, less shipping http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com. If you want to build your own you can use 800mAh cells from http://www.mittoni.com.au/23aa-800mah-n ... -1834.html but it will be $20.00 US, less shipping and you'll have to supply your own wire/connector/wrap and solder it yourself. If anyone knows where to get 2/3AA cells with a higher capacity, I would love to hear where.


We make custom battery packs for all kinds of applications - from airsoft to RC to power tools :)

Do you have a pic of the stock battery pack?
jaybirdtke wrote:You would need a charger specifically for Lipo's if you went that route. I actually like the fact that the stock charger is small and you can leave it connected while in use. As of yet, robobrothers does not have replacement batteries in their online store. I did find where you can have a battery pack fully assembled with the factory KAN700AA cells for $12.50 US, less shipping http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com. If you want to build your own you can use 800mAh cells from http://www.mittoni.com.au/23aa-800mah-n ... -1834.html but it will be $20.00 US, less shipping and you'll have to supply your own wire/connector/wrap and solder it yourself. If anyone knows where to get 2/3AA cells with a higher capacity, I would love to hear where.


We make custom battery packs for all kinds of applications - from airsoft to RC to power tools :)

Do you have a pic of the stock battery pack?
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am

Post by trey3670 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:27 am

Post by trey3670
Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:27 am

bottom right corner,click to enlarge

http://shop.robobrothers.com/product.sc ... roductId=2
bottom right corner,click to enlarge

http://shop.robobrothers.com/product.sc ... roductId=2
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by BrianG » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:34 am

Post by BrianG
Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:34 am

I can't really tell the cell configuration from that picture
I can't really tell the cell configuration from that picture
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:44 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:44 am

jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:01 pm

Post by trey3670
Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:01 pm

now my battery has also overheated and bit the big one. I am on the edge of being a lil mad now. I mean we know theres a prob with the smaller servos and now the batt? what should I expect for 400$ though right?

well if I paid 400$ for an rc car/heli that thing better come with carbon and alloy parts and be well designed. now with philo I understand the tradeoff,less quality materials so you can get a walking bot. but it actually has to walk! not strip the servos,that came with it!,and blow the battery after 8 mins of use. sorry jus venting a lil bit :x
now my battery has also overheated and bit the big one. I am on the edge of being a lil mad now. I mean we know theres a prob with the smaller servos and now the batt? what should I expect for 400$ though right?

well if I paid 400$ for an rc car/heli that thing better come with carbon and alloy parts and be well designed. now with philo I understand the tradeoff,less quality materials so you can get a walking bot. but it actually has to walk! not strip the servos,that came with it!,and blow the battery after 8 mins of use. sorry jus venting a lil bit :x
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by BrianG » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:13 am

Post by BrianG
Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:13 am



Better :)

biggest 2/3 AA I have in stock is 750 at the moment


Better :)

biggest 2/3 AA I have in stock is 750 at the moment
BrianG offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:55 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:13 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:13 am

I hear ya. It's a shame you're having such bad luck. It is a good think that we are reporting both success's and failures to educate others that may be interested in purchasing this robot. I still believe it was the right purchase for me. I think the reason I stripped the gears in the servo is because of doing front flips where much of the weight of the bot is transfered to the head, or the servo horn got snagged inside the chest plate. Robobrothers has offered to replace the servo, so I'm happy. I haven't noticed the battery getting hot yet, but I will keep an eye on it. From what I've read these are common problems for most humanoid robots. My RoboPhilo is able to perform all of the routines that come on the CD. I have begun replicating some of the poses and routines that I have seen other robots doing to expand his bag of tricks. I hope to post a video of some of his new moves soon. trey3670 have you tried contacting Robobrothers to see what they can do for you?
I hear ya. It's a shame you're having such bad luck. It is a good think that we are reporting both success's and failures to educate others that may be interested in purchasing this robot. I still believe it was the right purchase for me. I think the reason I stripped the gears in the servo is because of doing front flips where much of the weight of the bot is transfered to the head, or the servo horn got snagged inside the chest plate. Robobrothers has offered to replace the servo, so I'm happy. I haven't noticed the battery getting hot yet, but I will keep an eye on it. From what I've read these are common problems for most humanoid robots. My RoboPhilo is able to perform all of the routines that come on the CD. I have begun replicating some of the poses and routines that I have seen other robots doing to expand his bag of tricks. I hope to post a video of some of his new moves soon. trey3670 have you tried contacting Robobrothers to see what they can do for you?
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
205 postsPage 6 of 141 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14
205 postsPage 6 of 141 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 14
cron