robophilo

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
205 postsPage 8 of 141 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14
205 postsPage 8 of 141 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14

Post by trey3670 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:18 am

Post by trey3670
Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:18 am

I am with techmech on this. a lil more cash for a lot better bot
I am with techmech on this. a lil more cash for a lot better bot
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:40 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:40 am

If they had included the SV4140 servos in the hips, knees, and upper and lower legs and charged $100 more it would have made for a big improvement. Now that upgrade is going to cost us $244. Wouldn't it be nice if they offered some sort of trade in on the SV4032's? :roll: A bigger battery would have been nice too, maybe an 1100 mAh 7.2v.
If they had included the SV4140 servos in the hips, knees, and upper and lower legs and charged $100 more it would have made for a big improvement. Now that upgrade is going to cost us $244. Wouldn't it be nice if they offered some sort of trade in on the SV4032's? :roll: A bigger battery would have been nice too, maybe an 1100 mAh 7.2v.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

bioloid-philo

Post by kinglasserres » Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:56 am

Post by kinglasserres
Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:56 am

guys check out the vid on the forum. let me know that you think...
guys check out the vid on the forum. let me know that you think...
kinglasserres offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:54 pm

Post by jaybirdtke » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:16 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:16 am

Cool idea. Have you got any poses or motions programmed yet? Have you tried putting the bioloid actuators in the RoboPhilo?
Cool idea. Have you got any poses or motions programmed yet? Have you tried putting the bioloid actuators in the RoboPhilo?
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by kinglasserres » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:34 am

Post by kinglasserres
Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:34 am

i just finishing it still trying to figure out how to build the back cover. i don;t think the acuator for the bioloid will work on the philo PCB.
i just finishing it still trying to figure out how to build the back cover. i don;t think the acuator for the bioloid will work on the philo PCB.
kinglasserres offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:54 pm

Post by tom_chang79 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:21 pm

Post by tom_chang79
Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:21 pm

Questions:

1) Does the robophilo use standard size servos?

2) Are the servo brackets and connectors strong enough to handle a more powerful servo such as the HSR 5990TG?
Questions:

1) Does the robophilo use standard size servos?

2) Are the servo brackets and connectors strong enough to handle a more powerful servo such as the HSR 5990TG?
tom_chang79 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:31 am
Location: California

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:26 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:26 am

Yes, they are standard servos. specs below at 6V
(2)Feet Servos 6.5kg-cm Torque, .16 Speed
(15)Legs/Arms 4.1kg-cm Torque, .19 Speed
(3)Head/Leg Turn 1.3kg-cm Torque, .12 Speed

If you're going to invest US$125 per servo I would go with aluminum.
Yes, they are standard servos. specs below at 6V
(2)Feet Servos 6.5kg-cm Torque, .16 Speed
(15)Legs/Arms 4.1kg-cm Torque, .19 Speed
(3)Head/Leg Turn 1.3kg-cm Torque, .12 Speed

If you're going to invest US$125 per servo I would go with aluminum.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:27 pm

Post by trey3670
Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:27 pm

can someone tell me why hs55 servos will work but my s3003 servos wont?
weird :?
can someone tell me why hs55 servos will work but my s3003 servos wont?
weird :?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:29 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:29 am

The only thing I can think of is Amps. the S3003 may need more than can be provided but I haven't found any data to support this.
The only thing I can think of is Amps. the S3003 may need more than can be provided but I haven't found any data to support this.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:20 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:20 pm

:( I broke a tooth on one of the servo gears in his right shoulder. I was messing around with the (Speed, Mode, Step) of the servo states and somehow he got tangled up. I was planning on upgrading the hip servos, so I could use the gears from one of the originals to replace the broken gear in the should, however If I'm going to disassemble the entire torso to get at the hip servos, I might as well replace the shoulder servos too. I'm just waiting on robobrothers to offer the brackets which I'll need to upgrade the hips with the SV4140 higher torque servos. This upgrade should cost $111.00 plus shipping. Bringing my grand total to just under $550 shipped. Still a bargain.
:( I broke a tooth on one of the servo gears in his right shoulder. I was messing around with the (Speed, Mode, Step) of the servo states and somehow he got tangled up. I was planning on upgrading the hip servos, so I could use the gears from one of the originals to replace the broken gear in the should, however If I'm going to disassemble the entire torso to get at the hip servos, I might as well replace the shoulder servos too. I'm just waiting on robobrothers to offer the brackets which I'll need to upgrade the hips with the SV4140 higher torque servos. This upgrade should cost $111.00 plus shipping. Bringing my grand total to just under $550 shipped. Still a bargain.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:52 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:52 am

trey3670, did you ever get that Futaba S3003 servo to work?
trey3670, did you ever get that Futaba S3003 servo to work?
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:05 pm

Post by trey3670
Mon Jan 21, 2008 8:05 pm

yes I did as it turns out it was a bad servo,needed re-soldering
yes I did as it turns out it was a bad servo,needed re-soldering
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:38 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:38 pm

I just replaced the shoulder servos with the same S3003 servos and they work and fit just fine.
I just replaced the shoulder servos with the same S3003 servos and they work and fit just fine.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:46 am

Post by trey3670
Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:46 am

more torque right? do you like them better?
more torque right? do you like them better?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:59 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:59 am

The S3003 have the same torque as the SV4032 but they are quicker, according to the specs.
SV4032 - torque = 4.1, speed = .19
S3003 --- torque = 4.1, speed = .16
The S3003 have the same torque as the SV4032 but they are quicker, according to the specs.
SV4032 - torque = 4.1, speed = .19
S3003 --- torque = 4.1, speed = .16
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
205 postsPage 8 of 141 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14
205 postsPage 8 of 141 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 14