Gyro in Robonova-1 ?

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
134 postsPage 1 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9
134 postsPage 1 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9

Gyro in Robonova-1 ?

Post by rep001 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:10 pm

Post by rep001
Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:10 pm

Just reading the last pages of the manual and there's talk of adding a Gyro to the MR-C3000 controller.What purpose would it serve and can i use a piezo heli gyro ? If it was used on the legs for stair walking would you need a mixer for the control board ?? and will it work on the 3024.
SUBPILOT where are you ?????
Just reading the last pages of the manual and there's talk of adding a Gyro to the MR-C3000 controller.What purpose would it serve and can i use a piezo heli gyro ? If it was used on the legs for stair walking would you need a mixer for the control board ?? and will it work on the 3024.
SUBPILOT where are you ?????
rep001 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HERTS UK

Post by Pev » Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:13 pm

Post by Pev
Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:13 pm

rep001,

I've just ordered one to see what I can do with it - if you check out the robobasic manual there is a whole section on gyro commands. You'll see you can link the gyro to groups of motors(servos). My plan is to link one gyro probably mounted on the shoulder to the legs to see if I can make the robot more stable re falling forwards and backwards. The Robobasic commands seem to be there so I am pretty confident, only problem is my gyro is on back order.

Pev
rep001,

I've just ordered one to see what I can do with it - if you check out the robobasic manual there is a whole section on gyro commands. You'll see you can link the gyro to groups of motors(servos). My plan is to link one gyro probably mounted on the shoulder to the legs to see if I can make the robot more stable re falling forwards and backwards. The Robobasic commands seem to be there so I am pretty confident, only problem is my gyro is on back order.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by rep001 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:05 pm

Post by rep001
Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:05 pm

Pev hi i saw and bought 2 protech piezo nt-300 micro gyros today just wondered if you have yours yet and if you could offer any guidance with the install ?
Pev hi i saw and bought 2 protech piezo nt-300 micro gyros today just wondered if you have yours yet and if you could offer any guidance with the install ?
rep001 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HERTS UK

Post by Pev » Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:20 am

Post by Pev
Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:20 am

rep001 wrote:Pev hi i saw and bought 2 protech piezo nt-300 micro gyros today just wondered if you have yours yet and if you could offer any guidance with the install ?


Hi

Still waiting for mine to be delivered but I have been looking at the interfaces and software. As I mentioned the port layout is in the RoboBasic manual - the gyro ports are not consecutive numbers so Gyro port 1 appears to be on AD port 0 and AD port 4. There is some code examples for the gyro in the main construction manual on Pages 91 to 93. This is going to be my starting point when I get mine. Will let you know as I progress but hope you'll let us know how you get on too.

Pev
rep001 wrote:Pev hi i saw and bought 2 protech piezo nt-300 micro gyros today just wondered if you have yours yet and if you could offer any guidance with the install ?


Hi

Still waiting for mine to be delivered but I have been looking at the interfaces and software. As I mentioned the port layout is in the RoboBasic manual - the gyro ports are not consecutive numbers so Gyro port 1 appears to be on AD port 0 and AD port 4. There is some code examples for the gyro in the main construction manual on Pages 91 to 93. This is going to be my starting point when I get mine. Will let you know as I progress but hope you'll let us know how you get on too.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by yag-freak » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Post by yag-freak
Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Has anyone further information about the "Piezo Gyro PK 3", they are offering on the german Robonova Page?

As I understand it, the gyro can control on direction, but this direction is adjustable.
Still I'm not sure.

Regards
Steffen
Has anyone further information about the "Piezo Gyro PK 3", they are offering on the german Robonova Page?

As I understand it, the gyro can control on direction, but this direction is adjustable.
Still I'm not sure.

Regards
Steffen
yag-freak offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ruesselsheim, Germany

Gyros in RoboNova

Post by dshinsel » Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:03 am

Post by dshinsel
Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:03 am

I received my RoboNova this weekend.
At the same time I ordered it, I ordered two GWS PG-03 Servos.
I have installed them both, one for side tilt and one for front/back tilt.

They work! However, I have not yet tuned the gain, so I don't know how effective the gyros will be for keeping my RoboNova upright!

Also, I'm working on where to put them inside the shell - not much room!

Here is the code needed to get the servos to work:

Just BEFORE MAIN, add this:

' Gyro Setup:
' Gyro 1: Out=P32(AD0), In=P36(AD4) Left/Right
' Gyro 2: Out=P33(AD1), In=P37(AD5) Forward/Back

'================================================
' Setup Gyro for Left/Right AND Forward/Back tilt, using Feet/Ankles only
GYROSET G6A, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
GYROSET G6D, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
' GYROSET G6B, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
' GYROSET G6C, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)

' NOTE: Not sure I have the direction right yet...
GYRODIR G6A, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to Direction (1=reverse)
GYRODIR G6D, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to Direction

GYROSENSE G6A, 200, 200, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro Sensitivity for each servo (255=max)
GYROSENSE G6D, 200, 200, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro Sensitivity
I received my RoboNova this weekend.
At the same time I ordered it, I ordered two GWS PG-03 Servos.
I have installed them both, one for side tilt and one for front/back tilt.

They work! However, I have not yet tuned the gain, so I don't know how effective the gyros will be for keeping my RoboNova upright!

Also, I'm working on where to put them inside the shell - not much room!

Here is the code needed to get the servos to work:

Just BEFORE MAIN, add this:

' Gyro Setup:
' Gyro 1: Out=P32(AD0), In=P36(AD4) Left/Right
' Gyro 2: Out=P33(AD1), In=P37(AD5) Forward/Back

'================================================
' Setup Gyro for Left/Right AND Forward/Back tilt, using Feet/Ankles only
GYROSET G6A, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
GYROSET G6D, 0, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
' GYROSET G6B, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)
' GYROSET G6C, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to use (0=no Gyro)

' NOTE: Not sure I have the direction right yet...
GYRODIR G6A, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to Direction (1=reverse)
GYRODIR G6D, 0, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro to Direction

GYROSENSE G6A, 200, 200, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro Sensitivity for each servo (255=max)
GYROSENSE G6D, 200, 200, 0, 0, 0, 0 ' set Gyro Sensitivity
dshinsel offline

Post by Pev » Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:26 pm

Post by Pev
Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:26 pm

Just heard my Gyro has been shipped and should be with me tomorrow. Will get on it at the weekend and see what it does for the stability. Should be fun!!!

Pev
Just heard my Gyro has been shipped and should be with me tomorrow. Will get on it at the weekend and see what it does for the stability. Should be fun!!!

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Gyros in RoboNova

Post by dshinsel » Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:53 pm

Post by dshinsel
Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:53 pm

Well,

The good news is the gyros work correctly. Move the gyro, and the corresponding servos move too. These GWS PG-03 Gyros seem to be pretty nice!

Also, I think they will fit in the back shell... may require moving the controller card down a little bit.


The bad news is that I can't figure out how to the gyro feedback work effectively to balance the robot. If the gain is turned up enough to help keep the robot from falling over, it starts oscillating wildly, or at least chattering (I'll have to rename my robot "shaky")!

Since Hitec added this capability, I'm hoping there is some secret recipe of which servos to control, how to set the gain, etc. to get a stable system. Otherwise, I think we may need to drop down and write C or assembly code to process the gyro input and apply proper dampening before sending control signals to the servos. Ouch.

If anyone gets this figured out, let me know!!!

P.S. Can someone help me sign up to be a member of this forum? I tried signing up, it says I have a registered email address, but I never got the verification in email. Is there a moderator I can send mail to?
Well,

The good news is the gyros work correctly. Move the gyro, and the corresponding servos move too. These GWS PG-03 Gyros seem to be pretty nice!

Also, I think they will fit in the back shell... may require moving the controller card down a little bit.


The bad news is that I can't figure out how to the gyro feedback work effectively to balance the robot. If the gain is turned up enough to help keep the robot from falling over, it starts oscillating wildly, or at least chattering (I'll have to rename my robot "shaky")!

Since Hitec added this capability, I'm hoping there is some secret recipe of which servos to control, how to set the gain, etc. to get a stable system. Otherwise, I think we may need to drop down and write C or assembly code to process the gyro input and apply proper dampening before sending control signals to the servos. Ouch.

If anyone gets this figured out, let me know!!!

P.S. Can someone help me sign up to be a member of this forum? I tried signing up, it says I have a registered email address, but I never got the verification in email. Is there a moderator I can send mail to?
dshinsel offline

Re: Gyros in RoboNova

Post by Chemical » Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by Chemical
Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:01 pm

dshinsel wrote:Well,

The good news is the gyros work correctly. Move the gyro, and the corresponding servos move too. These GWS PG-03 Gyros seem to be pretty nice!

Also, I think they will fit in the back shell... may require moving the controller card down a little bit.


The bad news is that I can't figure out how to the gyro feedback work effectively to balance the robot. If the gain is turned up enough to help keep the robot from falling over, it starts oscillating wildly, or at least chattering (I'll have to rename my robot "shaky")!

Since Hitec added this capability, I'm hoping there is some secret recipe of which servos to control, how to set the gain, etc. to get a stable system. Otherwise, I think we may need to drop down and write C or assembly code to process the gyro input and apply proper dampening before sending control signals to the servos. Ouch.

If anyone gets this figured out, let me know!!!

P.S. Can someone help me sign up to be a member of this forum? I tried signing up, it says I have a registered email address, but I never got the verification in email. Is there a moderator I can send mail to?


Go to login, then the forgot password, and have the password of your account emailed to you, from there you'll see your password and username.
dshinsel wrote:Well,

The good news is the gyros work correctly. Move the gyro, and the corresponding servos move too. These GWS PG-03 Gyros seem to be pretty nice!

Also, I think they will fit in the back shell... may require moving the controller card down a little bit.


The bad news is that I can't figure out how to the gyro feedback work effectively to balance the robot. If the gain is turned up enough to help keep the robot from falling over, it starts oscillating wildly, or at least chattering (I'll have to rename my robot "shaky")!

Since Hitec added this capability, I'm hoping there is some secret recipe of which servos to control, how to set the gain, etc. to get a stable system. Otherwise, I think we may need to drop down and write C or assembly code to process the gyro input and apply proper dampening before sending control signals to the servos. Ouch.

If anyone gets this figured out, let me know!!!

P.S. Can someone help me sign up to be a member of this forum? I tried signing up, it says I have a registered email address, but I never got the verification in email. Is there a moderator I can send mail to?


Go to login, then the forgot password, and have the password of your account emailed to you, from there you'll see your password and username.
Current Robot Collection: Robosapien V2, Robopet.

Robots Rule!
Chemical offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:00 am
Location: England, UK

Post by subpilot » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:31 am

Post by subpilot
Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:31 am

Sounds like it needs a PID control function. Prob more than RoboBasic can pull off due to lack of floating point math.
Sounds like it needs a PID control function. Prob more than RoboBasic can pull off due to lack of floating point math.
subpilot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA

Post by Pev » Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:52 pm

Post by Pev
Sun Apr 02, 2006 4:52 pm

Have fitted a GWS PG-03 to the RN1 for forward/backward work. I have had to turn the gain down a fair bit to stop him having the shakes same as dshinsel was experiencing but it does make a difference. If I rock RN1 backwards then push him forwards he falls over without the gyro connected but doesn't with it connected. However this only works over a small distance - turn the gain up to get it working more effectively and the shakes come back. Think this may be a balancing act between the gyro gain and the GYROSENSE setting in roboBasic. The current code I am using is as follows and is inserted just before the main routine as dshinsel described:

'Gyro Setup
GYROSET G6A,0,1,1,1,0,0
GYROSET G6D,0,1,1,1,0,0

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,0,1,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,0,1,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A,0,250,200,250,0,0
GYROSENSE G6D,0,250,200,250,0,0

This code is the basic code from page 93 of the assembly manual tweaked for the servo directions (GYRODIR).

Will try to get a video later of RN1 with and without the gyro connected. Am then going to try tweaking the gyro sense setting.

Pev
Have fitted a GWS PG-03 to the RN1 for forward/backward work. I have had to turn the gain down a fair bit to stop him having the shakes same as dshinsel was experiencing but it does make a difference. If I rock RN1 backwards then push him forwards he falls over without the gyro connected but doesn't with it connected. However this only works over a small distance - turn the gain up to get it working more effectively and the shakes come back. Think this may be a balancing act between the gyro gain and the GYROSENSE setting in roboBasic. The current code I am using is as follows and is inserted just before the main routine as dshinsel described:

'Gyro Setup
GYROSET G6A,0,1,1,1,0,0
GYROSET G6D,0,1,1,1,0,0

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,0,1,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,0,1,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A,0,250,200,250,0,0
GYROSENSE G6D,0,250,200,250,0,0

This code is the basic code from page 93 of the assembly manual tweaked for the servo directions (GYRODIR).

Will try to get a video later of RN1 with and without the gyro connected. Am then going to try tweaking the gyro sense setting.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by Pev » Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:17 pm

Post by Pev
Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:17 pm

Here are the videos I mentioned - firstly without the Gyro connected:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/RN1-NoGyro.wmv

And now with it connected

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/Rn1-Gyro.wmv

Always difficult to work out if you are throwing the unit forwards with the same force but the gyro definately makes a difference - the issue is that it is a realatively small difference unless you don't mind the RN1 having the shakes. As I mentioned I am going to work on this and see what I end up with after tweaking the GYROSENSE settings

Pev
Here are the videos I mentioned - firstly without the Gyro connected:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/RN1-NoGyro.wmv

And now with it connected

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/Rn1-Gyro.wmv

Always difficult to work out if you are throwing the unit forwards with the same force but the gyro definately makes a difference - the issue is that it is a realatively small difference unless you don't mind the RN1 having the shakes. As I mentioned I am going to work on this and see what I end up with after tweaking the GYROSENSE settings

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by Pev » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:04 pm

Post by Pev
Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:04 pm

Sorry all hogging this a bit but I have made some progress - well sort of. Had a play with the GyroSense and the gyros gain control. Have ended up with a more stable if a little bouncy RN1.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/Pushme.wmv

Pev
Sorry all hogging this a bit but I have made some progress - well sort of. Had a play with the GyroSense and the gyros gain control. Have ended up with a more stable if a little bouncy RN1.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Pev/Pushme.wmv

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by gsferrari » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:58 pm

Post by gsferrari
Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:58 pm

Hogging?? This stuff is fantastic!! Keep going!
Hogging?? This stuff is fantastic!! Keep going!
gsferrari offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post by Morbeious » Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:01 am

Post by Morbeious
Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:01 am

Eh, i have a ALign Head Hold Lock gyro from one of my R/C Heli's do you think this would work, its smaller than the GWS. but the imputs seem to be the same..
Eh, i have a ALign Head Hold Lock gyro from one of my R/C Heli's do you think this would work, its smaller than the GWS. but the imputs seem to be the same..
Robots Own/Operated: HeathKit Jr, OmniBot 2000, Lego MindStorms, RSV2, RoboNova-1
Morbeious offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan, USA

Next
Next
134 postsPage 1 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9
134 postsPage 1 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9