Gyro in Robonova-1 ?

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
134 postsPage 8 of 91 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
134 postsPage 8 of 91 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Post by hivemind » Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:38 pm

Post by hivemind
Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:38 pm

Hey! nice job! did the same thing myseif. In fact, i drilled out holes in my chest plate that way I can easily access the gain and center position of the gyros without taking him all apart. If you dont mind the small holes, i recommend you do the same :)
Hey! nice job! did the same thing myseif. In fact, i drilled out holes in my chest plate that way I can easily access the gain and center position of the gyros without taking him all apart. If you dont mind the small holes, i recommend you do the same :)
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by rep001 » Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:08 am

Post by rep001
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:08 am

yep i lined the gyros up so as i can easily adjust .I may drill some small holes in the chest armour so i can see the led status though.
cheers.
yep i lined the gyros up so as i can easily adjust .I may drill some small holes in the chest armour so i can see the led status though.
cheers.
staying alive....
The key to immortality is to first live a life worth remembering
rep001 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HERTS UK

Post by Viking » Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 am

Post by Viking
Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 am

Hi Rep001

rep001 wrote:I have managed to fit BOTH gyros into the chest area.They are actually fixed to the shoulder servos with strong double sided tape.The wiring is then routed over his right shoulder under the armour again so no sign of them.Be careful as i had some sharp edges under there but a dremel later and all is smooth.Just another small step for me but thought i would share it.Cheers.. :wink:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/rep001/Bo ... in%20chest


I wonder how you can stabilize sideways having both gyros flat on his bag!? The way I see it, you now have gyro effect on fwd/back and twisting his torso? 8O

-Viking
Hi Rep001

rep001 wrote:I have managed to fit BOTH gyros into the chest area.They are actually fixed to the shoulder servos with strong double sided tape.The wiring is then routed over his right shoulder under the armour again so no sign of them.Be careful as i had some sharp edges under there but a dremel later and all is smooth.Just another small step for me but thought i would share it.Cheers.. :wink:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/rep001/Bo ... in%20chest


I wonder how you can stabilize sideways having both gyros flat on his bag!? The way I see it, you now have gyro effect on fwd/back and twisting his torso? 8O

-Viking
Viking offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Denmark

Post by hivemind » Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:24 pm

Post by hivemind
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:24 pm

I have one gyro on my left chest plate and the other on the shoulder. The chest one does front/back and the shoulder does side to side (with the center changed a bit).
I have one gyro on my left chest plate and the other on the shoulder. The chest one does front/back and the shoulder does side to side (with the center changed a bit).
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by Viking » Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:58 pm

Post by Viking
Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:58 pm

hivemind wrote:I have one gyro on my left chest plate and the other on the shoulder. The chest one does front/back and the shoulder does side to side (with the center changed a bit).


Yes that will do but if you look at rep001's picture it clearly shows that both gyros are flat at his chest and that will not work sideways even that one of them is turned 90 deg. - it is the wrong axis!!
It must be moved to another plane i.e. shoulder or as I did (see post of 8 aug) - Both can also be mounted on the shoulders because you can get each plane/axis to be perpendicular to the gyro axis!

-Viking
hivemind wrote:I have one gyro on my left chest plate and the other on the shoulder. The chest one does front/back and the shoulder does side to side (with the center changed a bit).


Yes that will do but if you look at rep001's picture it clearly shows that both gyros are flat at his chest and that will not work sideways even that one of them is turned 90 deg. - it is the wrong axis!!
It must be moved to another plane i.e. shoulder or as I did (see post of 8 aug) - Both can also be mounted on the shoulders because you can get each plane/axis to be perpendicular to the gyro axis!

-Viking
Viking offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Denmark

Post by hivemind » Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:37 pm

Post by hivemind
Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:37 pm

Yup, you can get both on the shoulder, But i wanted my accelerometer to be on the shoulder so that it would have correct orientation (granted its a 3d accelerometer), but thats just me :) Both ways keep the gyros safe and hidden.
Yup, you can get both on the shoulder, But i wanted my accelerometer to be on the shoulder so that it would have correct orientation (granted its a 3d accelerometer), but thats just me :) Both ways keep the gyros safe and hidden.
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by Zembot » Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:14 am

Post by Zembot
Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:14 am

Hmm maybe I’m biting more than I can chew. It’ll be my first real mod. I just ordered two GWS PG-03 gyros. Hopefully I’ll get them to work with the great posts in this thread. Although little ‘Zembot’ can walk and run fairly well, I’d like to increase the stability of forward/rear and side/side tilt.

I’ve found this forum to be most helpful and I’m sure I’ll have a few questions along the way. Thanks for sharing everyone.

later,
Zembot
Hmm maybe I’m biting more than I can chew. It’ll be my first real mod. I just ordered two GWS PG-03 gyros. Hopefully I’ll get them to work with the great posts in this thread. Although little ‘Zembot’ can walk and run fairly well, I’d like to increase the stability of forward/rear and side/side tilt.

I’ve found this forum to be most helpful and I’m sure I’ll have a few questions along the way. Thanks for sharing everyone.

later,
Zembot
Zembot offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by crmfghtr » Sat Sep 09, 2006 2:32 pm

Post by crmfghtr
Sat Sep 09, 2006 2:32 pm

Ok thanks to this list my Robonova was saved from slave auction on ebay. Thanks to you here he has now been equipped with grippers and an infrared object detector. Im guessing plugging in the gyros wont be as simple? Anyone wanna help out my little guy with step by step help? I can handle the software side.
Ok thanks to this list my Robonova was saved from slave auction on ebay. Thanks to you here he has now been equipped with grippers and an infrared object detector. Im guessing plugging in the gyros wont be as simple? Anyone wanna help out my little guy with step by step help? I can handle the software side.
crmfghtr offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Ray » Sat Sep 09, 2006 4:18 pm

Post by Ray
Sat Sep 09, 2006 4:18 pm

The current forum already have full details of know how of the installation of 1 or 2 gyro stabilization.

if you read through them all, you can get it work.


here, I need to discuss is, :roll:

You may finally make both x and y axis stabilization work,
however, in doing some motion such as left and right tumbling or even a sitdown post you may need to turn off part of the gyro in order to make it work or reduce resonant vibration.

you can using GYROSET command to swich them off, however, I found a corresponding zero setting after this command is necessary.
because the zero settings are different for gyro on and gyro off

another little problem I found is that during switching, there is still some
jittering of the body! (This may not be happen if you ignore need of the offseting just after turning off the gyro! :? )
The current forum already have full details of know how of the installation of 1 or 2 gyro stabilization.

if you read through them all, you can get it work.


here, I need to discuss is, :roll:

You may finally make both x and y axis stabilization work,
however, in doing some motion such as left and right tumbling or even a sitdown post you may need to turn off part of the gyro in order to make it work or reduce resonant vibration.

you can using GYROSET command to swich them off, however, I found a corresponding zero setting after this command is necessary.
because the zero settings are different for gyro on and gyro off

another little problem I found is that during switching, there is still some
jittering of the body! (This may not be happen if you ignore need of the offseting just after turning off the gyro! :? )
Ray offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HK

Post by Zembot » Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:53 pm

Post by Zembot
Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:53 pm

So I receive the two PG-03 gyros. Then I realize my lack of planning. I don’t have a way to connect the outputs from the gryros to the controller board.

Once again I could use some connector help. I’ve looked through the manual and couldn’t find what the 3-pin connectors are called? If memory serves me correct, they are called z-connectors?

I searched for z connectors on www.mouser.com and it came back with 100+ results. It would take me a year to read all the spec sheets with my dial-up internet. Can someone point me in the right direction? Where can I get a 3” lead with female 3-pin (servo style) connectors on both ends? It doesn’t matter if it’s ready-made. I’d be happy to find the housing and female pins to make my own.

Thanks,
Zembot
So I receive the two PG-03 gyros. Then I realize my lack of planning. I don’t have a way to connect the outputs from the gryros to the controller board.

Once again I could use some connector help. I’ve looked through the manual and couldn’t find what the 3-pin connectors are called? If memory serves me correct, they are called z-connectors?

I searched for z connectors on www.mouser.com and it came back with 100+ results. It would take me a year to read all the spec sheets with my dial-up internet. Can someone point me in the right direction? Where can I get a 3” lead with female 3-pin (servo style) connectors on both ends? It doesn’t matter if it’s ready-made. I’d be happy to find the housing and female pins to make my own.

Thanks,
Zembot
Zembot offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by beermat » Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:01 pm

Post by beermat
Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:01 pm

Not sure of the best source for those cables, but when I was in a hurry I grabbed some 12" Servo Single End Cables and a Connector Kit from Lynxmotion. Cut the cable to size and crimp the connectors onto the bare wire, using the included heat shrink for insulation.

Anyone else have a good source? I didn't research too hard....
Not sure of the best source for those cables, but when I was in a hurry I grabbed some 12" Servo Single End Cables and a Connector Kit from Lynxmotion. Cut the cable to size and crimp the connectors onto the bare wire, using the included heat shrink for insulation.

Anyone else have a good source? I didn't research too hard....
beermat offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Pev » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:43 pm

Post by Pev
Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:43 pm

My Local RC mocel shop has a bunch of connectors that are the right one both ends - Last timne I was there I think I got all his stock lol. If I get stuck I do the same as Beermat, crimp 0.1 inch connectors to the ends of the wire and heat shirk tube over the top. Works well too.

Pev
My Local RC mocel shop has a bunch of connectors that are the right one both ends - Last timne I was there I think I got all his stock lol. If I get stuck I do the same as Beermat, crimp 0.1 inch connectors to the ends of the wire and heat shirk tube over the top. Works well too.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by CaptKill4Fun » Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:30 pm

Post by CaptKill4Fun
Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:30 pm

ZemBot wrote:So I receive the two PG-03 gyros. Then I realize my lack of planning. I don’t have a way to connect the outputs from the gryros to the controller board.

Once again I could use some connector help. I’ve looked through the manual and couldn’t find what the 3-pin connectors are called? If memory serves me correct, they are called z-connectors?


Thanks,
Zembot


8) Hi,

While trying to find parts for my RoboNova-1 I started making my own ... but finally found MAXX Products does make those cables in 6" and 12" lengths ... after a little discussion with MAXX Products, I think they are going to add a 3" cable too ... very soon if it's not already done.

They don't have the cables posted on their web site, you have to
telephone 01-800-416-6299 or email Jarvis Yeh maxxprodrc@yahoo.com and ask for the cables ... please tell'em I sent you ...

http://maxxprod.com/

ZemBot wrote:So I receive the two PG-03 gyros. Then I realize my lack of planning. I don’t have a way to connect the outputs from the gryros to the controller board.

Once again I could use some connector help. I’ve looked through the manual and couldn’t find what the 3-pin connectors are called? If memory serves me correct, they are called z-connectors?


Thanks,
Zembot


8) Hi,

While trying to find parts for my RoboNova-1 I started making my own ... but finally found MAXX Products does make those cables in 6" and 12" lengths ... after a little discussion with MAXX Products, I think they are going to add a 3" cable too ... very soon if it's not already done.

They don't have the cables posted on their web site, you have to
telephone 01-800-416-6299 or email Jarvis Yeh maxxprodrc@yahoo.com and ask for the cables ... please tell'em I sent you ...

http://maxxprod.com/

:
"http://www.OPECoftheWest.com/"
Purveyors of Autonomous & R/C Robot Games ...
:
CaptKill4Fun offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Tucson

Post by NewBreedWarrior » Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:32 am

Post by NewBreedWarrior
Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:32 am

Just wondering what is special about the GWS PG-03? Was curious is their a better Gyro..or what about Tilt sensor's I know we could hook 4 of them up but it will not help if we have to keep turning them on or off and turning Gain down low. I havent purchased anything yet and was wanting to make a critical choice about this.
Just wondering what is special about the GWS PG-03? Was curious is their a better Gyro..or what about Tilt sensor's I know we could hook 4 of them up but it will not help if we have to keep turning them on or off and turning Gain down low. I havent purchased anything yet and was wanting to make a critical choice about this.
In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
NewBreedWarrior offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: United States, Kentucky

Post by CaptKill4Fun » Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:49 am

Post by CaptKill4Fun
Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:49 am

NewBreedWarrior wrote:Just wondering what is special about the GWS PG-03? Was curious is their a better Gyro..or what about Tilt sensor's I know we could hook 4 of them up but it will not help if we have to keep turning them on or off and turning Gain down low. I havent purchased anything yet and was wanting to make a critical choice about this.



8) Hi,

I've been using the info from this web page and I almost never turn my gyros off for any move ... if the gyros are set correctly, they work pretty damn good ... I'm using two PG-03's now, but am considering switching down to just one for fore 'n aft stability ... so I can use the other gyro on another robot project ...

But visit this site and read the instructions, grab the code ... it all works well ...

Gyro Code and nfo from H3dude

NewBreedWarrior wrote:Just wondering what is special about the GWS PG-03? Was curious is their a better Gyro..or what about Tilt sensor's I know we could hook 4 of them up but it will not help if we have to keep turning them on or off and turning Gain down low. I havent purchased anything yet and was wanting to make a critical choice about this.



8) Hi,

I've been using the info from this web page and I almost never turn my gyros off for any move ... if the gyros are set correctly, they work pretty damn good ... I'm using two PG-03's now, but am considering switching down to just one for fore 'n aft stability ... so I can use the other gyro on another robot project ...

But visit this site and read the instructions, grab the code ... it all works well ...

Gyro Code and nfo from H3dude

:
"http://www.OPECoftheWest.com/"
Purveyors of Autonomous & R/C Robot Games ...
:
CaptKill4Fun offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Tucson

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
134 postsPage 8 of 91 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
134 postsPage 8 of 91 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9