Dyanmixel Issue

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Dyanmixel Issue

Post by rcassandra » Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:25 pm

Post by rcassandra
Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:25 pm

Hi, All,

So I was recently handed two broken bioloids. One was slightly responsive, but would not respond properly to code. After getting some advice, I took it apart, recovered the firmware on each dynamixel and rebuilt the robot. It works great now!

Anyway, my first thought, obviously, was to do the same thing with the other. But I'm running into this problem with the dynamixel wizard. Half of the dynamixels aren't being recognized at all when I go to recover firmware, and the other half give me the option to recover the firmware for AX-12A, but they're all AX-12+. I don't know why that is not presenting as an option, as it did with the last rebuild.

So that's the problem. Any ideas?
Hi, All,

So I was recently handed two broken bioloids. One was slightly responsive, but would not respond properly to code. After getting some advice, I took it apart, recovered the firmware on each dynamixel and rebuilt the robot. It works great now!

Anyway, my first thought, obviously, was to do the same thing with the other. But I'm running into this problem with the dynamixel wizard. Half of the dynamixels aren't being recognized at all when I go to recover firmware, and the other half give me the option to recover the firmware for AX-12A, but they're all AX-12+. I don't know why that is not presenting as an option, as it did with the last rebuild.

So that's the problem. Any ideas?
rcassandra offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:21 pm

Post by PedroR » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:12 pm

Post by PedroR
Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:12 pm

Hi

I don't think it should be an issue to recover the firmware with the AX-12A firmware. I don't know if it will work but if it doesn't you can always revert to some other firmware (flashing a firmware doesn't overwrite the bootloader ie it doesn't overwrite the capability to do further updates to the firmware).

With regards to the servos that are not responding, I'm afraid the canches for recovery are limited.
I would re check that the cables and power supply are OK. The Dyanmixel 3 pin cables sometimes "seem" ok but aren't working properly. I would try another cable.

The bootloader should always be intact on all servos regardless of whatever firmware you write on them; if you're not being able to enter the bootloader it may mean the processor or board are damaged.

Have you tried running the Dynamixel Wizard on these servos and see if they useful diagnostic info?

Regards
Pedro.
Hi

I don't think it should be an issue to recover the firmware with the AX-12A firmware. I don't know if it will work but if it doesn't you can always revert to some other firmware (flashing a firmware doesn't overwrite the bootloader ie it doesn't overwrite the capability to do further updates to the firmware).

With regards to the servos that are not responding, I'm afraid the canches for recovery are limited.
I would re check that the cables and power supply are OK. The Dyanmixel 3 pin cables sometimes "seem" ok but aren't working properly. I would try another cable.

The bootloader should always be intact on all servos regardless of whatever firmware you write on them; if you're not being able to enter the bootloader it may mean the processor or board are damaged.

Have you tried running the Dynamixel Wizard on these servos and see if they useful diagnostic info?

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

check the id

Post by UncleBob » Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:52 am

Post by UncleBob
Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:52 am

I had similar problem when the servos share the same ID. Try plugging in one at a time and see if they work. Then change the servo ID separately.


www.unclebobtech.com
I had similar problem when the servos share the same ID. Try plugging in one at a time and see if they work. Then change the servo ID separately.


www.unclebobtech.com
UncleBob offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 5:25 am


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1