2 more DOF on the hips AND stock moves?

3D Humanoid robot simulation, simulated robot physics, 3D models, Humanoid robot Art
37 postsPage 2 of 31, 2, 3
37 postsPage 2 of 31, 2, 3

Post by limor » Sun Jul 02, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by limor
Sun Jul 02, 2006 6:42 pm

Great work :)
Any chance you can post the rigged RN1 model?
Great work :)
Any chance you can post the rigged RN1 model?
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Gil » Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by Gil
Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:54 pm

Good idea. I wonder how it will behave in the real world
Good idea. I wonder how it will behave in the real world
Gil offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:00 am

Post by hivemind » Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:18 am

Post by hivemind
Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:18 am

well, as seen in the picture(below), he would obviously kick ass completely...

now that i have tweaked a few other thing, rigged the model and added weight for physics i think hes doing pretty well. you may notice his right foot (directly under him) looks funny, this is simply because his foot ratio is so large, but i am a black belt in karate, and i know what i flying side kick is supposed to look like:

Image

and you may also think that the head cannot rotate like that (as it cannot stock) but thats the miracle of a small steel plate and another servo...
well, as seen in the picture(below), he would obviously kick ass completely...

now that i have tweaked a few other thing, rigged the model and added weight for physics i think hes doing pretty well. you may notice his right foot (directly under him) looks funny, this is simply because his foot ratio is so large, but i am a black belt in karate, and i know what i flying side kick is supposed to look like:

Image

and you may also think that the head cannot rotate like that (as it cannot stock) but thats the miracle of a small steel plate and another servo...
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by pepperm » Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:42 am

Post by pepperm
Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:42 am

Very nice picture Hivemind. Being new to this are of robotics I'm fascinated by the picture. How did you produce it? I'd love to play around with some pictures like that whilst I wait for my humanoid to be born.

Regards

Mark
Very nice picture Hivemind. Being new to this are of robotics I'm fascinated by the picture. How did you produce it? I'd love to play around with some pictures like that whilst I wait for my humanoid to be born.

Regards

Mark
pepperm offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am

Post by limor » Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:00 am

Post by limor
Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:00 am

added weight for physics

are you running it through a simulator? what system are you using?
8O
added weight for physics

are you running it through a simulator? what system are you using?
8O
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by hivemind » Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:03 pm

Post by hivemind
Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:03 pm

im working on putting my model in a phyics engine, but i only started my model about 3 days ago and im not positive how im going to implement the whole phyics idea. I was thinking about using havok reacter (as i already have a good idea how to use that) and have my model as a rigid ragdoll thing (which i would probably place on a stand) so you would eventually be able to manipulate the servos and use the numbers (a copy/paste system similar to robobasic). but i have work that im busy with and ive never run an interactive largescale physics sim. so we'll see where it goes.

i have plans to create the sim, but i dont know how good it will be for others seeing as my rn1 will be far from stock.. perhaps a kind of adaptive model would be best, having a user ability to control which servos they have on and off, whether they have grippers, and if they do, which motor ports they are on. but if so then I am a ways away.

in the mean time i have a completely functional model that seems to have most of the bugs worked out, unfortunetely, due to my new legs, it wont be able to use stock moves, althought straight walking ought to be very similar to that of a real person do to the knee and upper leg movements. i have some 'perfect' human walking gaits on my computer, so once i write a script to capture the angular movement of those joints i should be able to implement it to a gait on my model...

Image
im working on putting my model in a phyics engine, but i only started my model about 3 days ago and im not positive how im going to implement the whole phyics idea. I was thinking about using havok reacter (as i already have a good idea how to use that) and have my model as a rigid ragdoll thing (which i would probably place on a stand) so you would eventually be able to manipulate the servos and use the numbers (a copy/paste system similar to robobasic). but i have work that im busy with and ive never run an interactive largescale physics sim. so we'll see where it goes.

i have plans to create the sim, but i dont know how good it will be for others seeing as my rn1 will be far from stock.. perhaps a kind of adaptive model would be best, having a user ability to control which servos they have on and off, whether they have grippers, and if they do, which motor ports they are on. but if so then I am a ways away.

in the mean time i have a completely functional model that seems to have most of the bugs worked out, unfortunetely, due to my new legs, it wont be able to use stock moves, althought straight walking ought to be very similar to that of a real person do to the knee and upper leg movements. i have some 'perfect' human walking gaits on my computer, so once i write a script to capture the angular movement of those joints i should be able to implement it to a gait on my model...

Image
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by limor » Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:45 pm

Post by limor
Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:45 pm

There are several simulators that mix 3D mesh with physically simulated objects. I wrote an opensource one called ezphysics.org ( you can download a demo http://ezphysics.org/EZPhysics-19Oct2005.rar ) and the last couple of weeks Microsoft have nonchalantly announced their physics simulator.

If you post a low-mesh-count version of your the rigged model, i can have it ragdolled in no time with ezphysics. you can then access the physically-rigged model programatically in order to simulate the servos and controller board..
There are several simulators that mix 3D mesh with physically simulated objects. I wrote an opensource one called ezphysics.org ( you can download a demo http://ezphysics.org/EZPhysics-19Oct2005.rar ) and the last couple of weeks Microsoft have nonchalantly announced their physics simulator.

If you post a low-mesh-count version of your the rigged model, i can have it ragdolled in no time with ezphysics. you can then access the physically-rigged model programatically in order to simulate the servos and controller board..
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by hivemind » Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:28 am

Post by hivemind
Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:28 am

yea, my meshes are still pretty high poly (for the renderings i like things to stay smooth, its just the kind of guy i am...) and im starting to work on my own physics simulation, so hopefully i can get that running.

perhaps its time to start a new thread dedicated to making a model/physics engine to see if there are other that can help or at least have ideas how to make it better and easier to use. id like to get to the point where i can simulate a program right inside the 3d engine having the whole thing work like one normally would, im just not sure what the computing requirements for something like that may be.
yea, my meshes are still pretty high poly (for the renderings i like things to stay smooth, its just the kind of guy i am...) and im starting to work on my own physics simulation, so hopefully i can get that running.

perhaps its time to start a new thread dedicated to making a model/physics engine to see if there are other that can help or at least have ideas how to make it better and easier to use. id like to get to the point where i can simulate a program right inside the 3d engine having the whole thing work like one normally would, im just not sure what the computing requirements for something like that may be.
Image
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by H3dude » Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:54 am

Post by H3dude
Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:54 am

limor wrote:If you post a low-mesh-count version of your the rigged model, i can have it ragdolled in no time with ezphysics. you can then access the physically-rigged model programatically in order to simulate the servos and controller board..


Limor, I can reduce the polycount and make a simple mesh for you if you like, and if it's ok with hivemind. I haven't looked at the files yet, but I am very adept at low-poly modeling for Havok and MathEngine. I assume you don't want any screws/bolts or small items?
limor wrote:If you post a low-mesh-count version of your the rigged model, i can have it ragdolled in no time with ezphysics. you can then access the physically-rigged model programatically in order to simulate the servos and controller board..


Limor, I can reduce the polycount and make a simple mesh for you if you like, and if it's ok with hivemind. I haven't looked at the files yet, but I am very adept at low-poly modeling for Havok and MathEngine. I assume you don't want any screws/bolts or small items?
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by limor » Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:39 pm

Post by limor
Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:39 pm

H3dude, thanks for helping. most systems can deal with 100k's of poly at 50 fps so i wouldnt worry about throwing out the screws/bolts. We can test a couple of models and see how it goes. As long as it has bones at the right servo axes we should be good to go.
H3dude, thanks for helping. most systems can deal with 100k's of poly at 50 fps so i wouldnt worry about throwing out the screws/bolts. We can test a couple of models and see how it goes. As long as it has bones at the right servo axes we should be good to go.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by hivemind » Sat Jul 08, 2006 2:02 am

Post by hivemind
Sat Jul 08, 2006 2:02 am

My machine has 2 gigs ram, 3.2 gig dual processor and some geforce card, 6600 i believe, regardless, i have been playing with my model in havok and it seems to be working fine, but for whatever reason it seems to have some small bugs one of the leg meshes... probably a stray vertex somewhere... who knows, but im working on figuring it out

as for now ill just post a small walking vid. it looks pretty similar to the stock walking - jerky and such- but its a start to make sure the model works... we'll see

RN-1 Walking
My machine has 2 gigs ram, 3.2 gig dual processor and some geforce card, 6600 i believe, regardless, i have been playing with my model in havok and it seems to be working fine, but for whatever reason it seems to have some small bugs one of the leg meshes... probably a stray vertex somewhere... who knows, but im working on figuring it out

as for now ill just post a small walking vid. it looks pretty similar to the stock walking - jerky and such- but its a start to make sure the model works... we'll see

RN-1 Walking
Image
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by robodude666 » Sat Jul 08, 2006 3:57 am

Post by robodude666
Sat Jul 08, 2006 3:57 am

That is mighty cool. I checked out ezphysics today. It looks pretty cool. The editor is like webots, but a lot simpler and easier to use. controls in 3d view suck. try importing or whatnoting your model into there and see if it works.
That is mighty cool. I checked out ezphysics today. It looks pretty cool. The editor is like webots, but a lot simpler and easier to use. controls in 3d view suck. try importing or whatnoting your model into there and see if it works.
robodude666 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Post by H3dude » Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:27 am

Post by H3dude
Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:27 am

guys, I know that Havok will work well even with such a high poly model. The collision capsules you set in Havok's editor are all that matter. I still think the screws and bolts will be superfluous for running a physics simulation but that's just my 2 cents. If you want me to help out please let me know. I'd love to be involved.
guys, I know that Havok will work well even with such a high poly model. The collision capsules you set in Havok's editor are all that matter. I still think the screws and bolts will be superfluous for running a physics simulation but that's just my 2 cents. If you want me to help out please let me know. I'd love to be involved.
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: 2 more DOF on the hips AND stock moves?

Post by CaptKill4Fun » Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:51 pm

Post by CaptKill4Fun
Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:51 pm

Octovir wrote:ok, so my RN-1 is on the operating table awaiting gears after a nasty fall prompting me to work on my digital RN..

It's not to spec and not extreme detail, but Looks About Right so far, plus ive also had some thoughts on adding that sought after extra rotation to the leg..




8) Hi,

Nice job ... and the twising hip joint is almost inline with a design I'm working out! So far it will be perhaps 2mm to 4mm between the lower body brackets and upper leg brackets ...

I researched the best low-profile mounting system to fit between the servos and the existing brackets ...

I designed a new bracket to replace both brackets and keep the vertial dimensions much closer to the original RN-1 and other robots ...


I also make several new parts for other robots too ...

Octovir wrote:ok, so my RN-1 is on the operating table awaiting gears after a nasty fall prompting me to work on my digital RN..

It's not to spec and not extreme detail, but Looks About Right so far, plus ive also had some thoughts on adding that sought after extra rotation to the leg..




8) Hi,

Nice job ... and the twising hip joint is almost inline with a design I'm working out! So far it will be perhaps 2mm to 4mm between the lower body brackets and upper leg brackets ...

I researched the best low-profile mounting system to fit between the servos and the existing brackets ...

I designed a new bracket to replace both brackets and keep the vertial dimensions much closer to the original RN-1 and other robots ...


I also make several new parts for other robots too ...

Last edited by CaptKill4Fun on Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
:
"http://www.OPECoftheWest.com/"
Purveyors of Autonomous & R/C Robot Games ...
:
CaptKill4Fun offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Tucson

Post by shsan » Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:28 am

Post by shsan
Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:28 am

Hi Hivemind,

Really nice job on the model.

I have been working in adding the KHR1 to the Microsoft Robotics Simulation and it's almost done.

The mesh for the simulation is way simpler as with the havok engine. In my case i just put some bounding boxes. (Might need to be refined though).

I would be interested in having your complete model also to add it too if you don't mind.

Or the opposite if you want you take my code and patch it to match the RN1 :)

Don't hesitate to contact me directly if you want.
Hi Hivemind,

Really nice job on the model.

I have been working in adding the KHR1 to the Microsoft Robotics Simulation and it's almost done.

The mesh for the simulation is way simpler as with the havok engine. In my case i just put some bounding boxes. (Might need to be refined though).

I would be interested in having your complete model also to add it too if you don't mind.

Or the opposite if you want you take my code and patch it to match the RN1 :)

Don't hesitate to contact me directly if you want.
shsan offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Utsunomiya, Japan

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
37 postsPage 2 of 31, 2, 3
37 postsPage 2 of 31, 2, 3