2 more DOF on the hips AND stock moves?

3D Humanoid robot simulation, simulated robot physics, 3D models, Humanoid robot Art
37 postsPage 1 of 31, 2, 3
37 postsPage 1 of 31, 2, 3

2 more DOF on the hips AND stock moves?

Post by Octovir » Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:12 am

Post by Octovir
Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:12 am

ok, so my RN-1 is on the operating table awaiting gears after a nasty fall prompting me to work on my digital RN..

It's not to spec and not extreme detail, but Looks About Right so far, plus ive also had some thoughts on adding that sought after extra rotation to the leg..

Here's one shot, more to come later:
Image
ok, so my RN-1 is on the operating table awaiting gears after a nasty fall prompting me to work on my digital RN..

It's not to spec and not extreme detail, but Looks About Right so far, plus ive also had some thoughts on adding that sought after extra rotation to the leg..

Here's one shot, more to come later:
Image
Octovir offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Here, Now

Post by Gil » Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:38 am

Post by Gil
Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:38 am

I'm doing almost the same thing as you.

By my calculations extending the arms should allow it to continue using the original moves. I based my calculations on the proportions of the stock RN1 (idea came from DaVinci's Vitruvian Man drawing)
I'm doing almost the same thing as you.

By my calculations extending the arms should allow it to continue using the original moves. I based my calculations on the proportions of the stock RN1 (idea came from DaVinci's Vitruvian Man drawing)
Gil offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:00 am

Post by limor » Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:18 pm

Post by limor
Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:18 pm

Can you guys please post the 3D model.
It would be great to see the RN1 in 3D physics simulator like the one used for KHR-1 (to test out new gaits etc.)
Can you guys please post the 3D model.
It would be great to see the RN1 in 3D physics simulator like the one used for KHR-1 (to test out new gaits etc.)
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by H3dude » Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:45 pm

Post by H3dude
Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:45 pm

Nice work!!!! Please post the model file so we can play with it!!!
Nice work!!!! Please post the model file so we can play with it!!!
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by Octovir » Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:09 pm

Post by Octovir
Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:09 pm

Thanks Guys! Since you're all so eager to have the model, here its is.
Ive included the original setup for the legs as well as my idea for 2 more DOF.
It should look something like this:

Image

.ma
.obj
.mtl
.3ds
.3dm
.wrl

I'll add the rest of the pieces(back plate, head) once i get them finished..
I'd also like to note that, the accuracy of these models is not the best
since I made them by "eyeballing" each part, but to play with and get an idea should be alright.
The .ma file has each moving piece parented to a bone, which still need
some oreintation and possibly skinning.

Edit: some of the files seem a little buggy.. working to fix..
Thanks Guys! Since you're all so eager to have the model, here its is.
Ive included the original setup for the legs as well as my idea for 2 more DOF.
It should look something like this:

Image

.ma
.obj
.mtl
.3ds
.3dm
.wrl

I'll add the rest of the pieces(back plate, head) once i get them finished..
I'd also like to note that, the accuracy of these models is not the best
since I made them by "eyeballing" each part, but to play with and get an idea should be alright.
The .ma file has each moving piece parented to a bone, which still need
some oreintation and possibly skinning.

Edit: some of the files seem a little buggy.. working to fix..
Octovir offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Here, Now

Post by robodude666 » Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:25 pm

Post by robodude666
Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:25 pm

My lord! That is pretty detailed and close I would have to say. What program did you use to create them? My guess is either maya or 3ds since thats what everyone else uses.
My lord! That is pretty detailed and close I would have to say. What program did you use to create them? My guess is either maya or 3ds since thats what everyone else uses.
robodude666 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Post by limor » Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:05 pm

Post by limor
Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:05 pm

Hi Octovir,

thank you very much for posting the model!

I couldn't download the wrl file.
I usually use a public domain software called blender.org and it managed to import the 3ds file properly.
However i dont have Maya and couldnt find a converter for the .ma file with the bones or import it into blender. any chance you can export the rigged model to wrl or COLLADA or 3ds ?
Hi Octovir,

thank you very much for posting the model!

I couldn't download the wrl file.
I usually use a public domain software called blender.org and it managed to import the 3ds file properly.
However i dont have Maya and couldnt find a converter for the .ma file with the bones or import it into blender. any chance you can export the rigged model to wrl or COLLADA or 3ds ?
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Ray » Sun Jun 25, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Ray
Sun Jun 25, 2006 5:19 pm

Great !!

I hope there will be these product in the market !! :D
Great !!

I hope there will be these product in the market !! :D
Ray offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HK

closer!

Post by Octovir » Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:33 am

Post by Octovir
Thu Jun 29, 2006 4:33 am

alrighty, here are the models. I have yet to find a (free)way to export to 3ds directly from maya, to keep the skinning/rigging info. I was able to go directly to VRML2 and can veiw it using cortona, but am unsure how to manipulate the joints, or if they're even there! LOL

Still needing a little optimization, but i'll get this right eventually! :wink:


.wrl stock setup
.wrl with leg rotate
alrighty, here are the models. I have yet to find a (free)way to export to 3ds directly from maya, to keep the skinning/rigging info. I was able to go directly to VRML2 and can veiw it using cortona, but am unsure how to manipulate the joints, or if they're even there! LOL

Still needing a little optimization, but i'll get this right eventually! :wink:


.wrl stock setup
.wrl with leg rotate
Octovir offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Here, Now

Post by hivemind » Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:52 am

Post by hivemind
Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:52 am

I also made a 3D model and measured servo and brackets to ensure accuracy. I also have an altered robonova, so you may notice small differences here and there, but i probably meant for them to be there.

Image
I also made a 3D model and measured servo and brackets to ensure accuracy. I also have an altered robonova, so you may notice small differences here and there, but i probably meant for them to be there.

Image
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by tempusmaster » Sun Jul 02, 2006 1:11 am

Post by tempusmaster
Sun Jul 02, 2006 1:11 am

hivemind wrote:I also made a 3D model and measured servo and brackets to ensure accuracy. I also have an altered robonova, so you may notice small differences here and there, but i probably meant for them to be there.


Matt's grippers look really cool,
though I wonder if they would
show off better if the moving
parts matched the 'gold' frame members.
hivemind wrote:I also made a 3D model and measured servo and brackets to ensure accuracy. I also have an altered robonova, so you may notice small differences here and there, but i probably meant for them to be there.


Matt's grippers look really cool,
though I wonder if they would
show off better if the moving
parts matched the 'gold' frame members.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by Octovir » Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:22 am

Post by Octovir
Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:22 am

Nice! What program did you use to model that in? I want to go that
detailed but have hardly had time to finish the current project,
much less play with the real one.. have you actually made any of those modifications?
Nice! What program did you use to model that in? I want to go that
detailed but have hardly had time to finish the current project,
much less play with the real one.. have you actually made any of those modifications?
Octovir offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Here, Now

Post by hivemind » Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:58 am

Post by hivemind
Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:58 am

I am waiting for parts to come in, but i have added the claws only so far. As soon as my accelerometer comes in I will be adding that, a couple gyros, bluetooth and then adjusting my legs.

As far as the model goes i just whipped that and the idea for the legs up in the last few hours because i had a wire problem on my robot and wanted to wait for the accelerometer to arrive to add my additions all at once.

I hope you like my model :-) i will be adding rigging and therefore new poses soon. I'll probably also change his colour to slightly more orange tint as well as a few other minor details.
I am waiting for parts to come in, but i have added the claws only so far. As soon as my accelerometer comes in I will be adding that, a couple gyros, bluetooth and then adjusting my legs.

As far as the model goes i just whipped that and the idea for the legs up in the last few hours because i had a wire problem on my robot and wanted to wait for the accelerometer to arrive to add my additions all at once.

I hope you like my model :-) i will be adding rigging and therefore new poses soon. I'll probably also change his colour to slightly more orange tint as well as a few other minor details.
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Post by Gil » Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:10 pm

Post by Gil
Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:10 pm

Like the black RN1 proved the robot is going to be unstable with that setup
Like the black RN1 proved the robot is going to be unstable with that setup
Gil offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:00 am

Post by hivemind » Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:28 pm

Post by hivemind
Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:28 pm

I took a look at the black RN-1 before developing my own legs and agreed that a setup like that would prove unstable. That is why i adjusted the servo positions and lowered my robot and made sure he still had the ability to squat in a low stance (like the stock RN-1). to show you what i mean i rendered my model standing as well so you can see that not only can my robot squat into low stance but he can also maintain a reasonable height and balance with my addition.

Image

As you can see i am using the 'tilt' servo on a bracket connected directly to the upper part of the leg, unlike the black RN-1 which had the servo on a joint lower. This keeps my robot smaller and much more stable.
I took a look at the black RN-1 before developing my own legs and agreed that a setup like that would prove unstable. That is why i adjusted the servo positions and lowered my robot and made sure he still had the ability to squat in a low stance (like the stock RN-1). to show you what i mean i rendered my model standing as well so you can see that not only can my robot squat into low stance but he can also maintain a reasonable height and balance with my addition.

Image

As you can see i am using the 'tilt' servo on a bracket connected directly to the upper part of the leg, unlike the black RN-1 which had the servo on a joint lower. This keeps my robot smaller and much more stable.
hivemind offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:00 am
Location: between my computer and robot.

Next
Next
37 postsPage 1 of 31, 2, 3
37 postsPage 1 of 31, 2, 3