English version of KHR1 simulator

3D Humanoid robot simulation, simulated robot physics, 3D models, Humanoid robot Art
17 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
17 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

English version of KHR1 simulator

Post by javi » Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:29 pm

Post by javi
Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:29 pm

Hello.

I have not received any reply from the majinga people, so I guess it's ok to post the translated, local version of their KHR1 simulator. The translation to English was done with google, so some text may not be too precise.

You can download from here.
Just uncompress with Winrar and open Virtual-KHR1.html with explorer (you will probably need to download the plugin for the original simulator).

Limor, if you don't feel comfortable with it being post, just delete it.
Hello.

I have not received any reply from the majinga people, so I guess it's ok to post the translated, local version of their KHR1 simulator. The translation to English was done with google, so some text may not be too precise.

You can download from here.
Just uncompress with Winrar and open Virtual-KHR1.html with explorer (you will probably need to download the plugin for the original simulator).

Limor, if you don't feel comfortable with it being post, just delete it.
javi offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:00 am

Post by EC » Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:59 pm

Post by EC
Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:59 pm

Thank you javi! I finally have a humanoid to play with, even if it is only in virtual reality. :)
Thank you javi! I finally have a humanoid to play with, even if it is only in virtual reality. :)
EC offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 1:00 am

Post by limor » Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:35 pm

Post by limor
Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:35 pm

:!: Amazing work!! :D

I went quickly through the source code but couldn't figure out where is the part that reads Khr1.xv3 . I am really really anxious to decypher this file.

what do you suggest is the easiest way to read this data file and convert it to some other xml format ?

BTW: The translated Japanese help page may still be of help as an introduction to the simulator.
:!: Amazing work!! :D

I went quickly through the source code but couldn't figure out where is the part that reads Khr1.xv3 . I am really really anxious to decypher this file.

what do you suggest is the easiest way to read this data file and convert it to some other xml format ?

BTW: The translated Japanese help page may still be of help as an introduction to the simulator.
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by limor » Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:19 pm

Post by limor
Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:19 pm

limor wrote:I went quickly through the source code but couldn't figure out where is the part that reads Khr1.xv3 . I am really really anxious to decypher this file.


seems like the xv3 file has a proprietary format that deviates from VRML2 and even though they have documentation about it, it would be a big project to read this format from scratch and extract the geometry data of KHR-1 and i havent found any 3rd party importers of this format (more info in this article and on XVL3D's support site)

However, maybe it is possible to access the data structures through VB by browsing at the dll's exposed function hierarchy ; then calling these functions recursively and saving them in a different format? I'm not familiar with such VB/.NET tricks..
:cry: :?:
limor wrote:I went quickly through the source code but couldn't figure out where is the part that reads Khr1.xv3 . I am really really anxious to decypher this file.


seems like the xv3 file has a proprietary format that deviates from VRML2 and even though they have documentation about it, it would be a big project to read this format from scratch and extract the geometry data of KHR-1 and i havent found any 3rd party importers of this format (more info in this article and on XVL3D's support site)

However, maybe it is possible to access the data structures through VB by browsing at the dll's exposed function hierarchy ; then calling these functions recursively and saving them in a different format? I'm not familiar with such VB/.NET tricks..
:cry: :?:
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by javi » Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by javi
Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:26 pm

Yes Limor, as you say the .xv3 format is proprietary, but the player has some functions to manipulate its contents, so maybe it is possible to extract the 3D data using them. I'll look at it.
Yes Limor, as you say the .xv3 format is proprietary, but the player has some functions to manipulate its contents, so maybe it is possible to extract the 3D data using them. I'll look at it.
javi offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:00 am

Hello

Post by YUMI » Sat Apr 09, 2005 4:19 am

Post by YUMI
Sat Apr 09, 2005 4:19 am

Hello
Thank you for your E-mail and visitting our HP.
And I'm sorry to be late replying.
I'm not good at English.

I have no objection about your work.
I appreciate what you introduced our HP and Virtual KHR-1.

But you should get the agreement from KONDO about this.

I would like you to use our HP's logo (and link us).
http://www.majingaa.com/majingaa/link/h ... _large.GIF
(of course you can change its size)
Because I want much people visit our HP.

regards.
Hello
Thank you for your E-mail and visitting our HP.
And I'm sorry to be late replying.
I'm not good at English.

I have no objection about your work.
I appreciate what you introduced our HP and Virtual KHR-1.

But you should get the agreement from KONDO about this.

I would like you to use our HP's logo (and link us).
http://www.majingaa.com/majingaa/link/h ... _large.GIF
(of course you can change its size)
Because I want much people visit our HP.

regards.
YUMI offline

Post by javi » Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:12 pm

Post by javi
Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:12 pm

Hello YUMI,
Ok, no problem. I have added your logo with a link to the original simulator.
I have replaced the online version with this change.
But what do you mean by
But you should get the agreement from KONDO about this
? I thought you have developed the simulator, so I asked for your permission. Of course it's not a problem contacting Kondo. Just give me the email you used to ask their permission, and I'll contact them for the translated version.
Hello YUMI,
Ok, no problem. I have added your logo with a link to the original simulator.
I have replaced the online version with this change.
But what do you mean by
But you should get the agreement from KONDO about this
? I thought you have developed the simulator, so I asked for your permission. Of course it's not a problem contacting Kondo. Just give me the email you used to ask their permission, and I'll contact them for the translated version.
javi offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:00 am

Post by javi » Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:46 pm

Post by javi
Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:46 pm

Limor, I've looked into the xv3 player functions. Unfortunately, the 3D model is internal to the player (although there are function to access the faces, edges and vertices of the model, the player doesn't create these objects, so...).
The only thing that can be extracted is something called "groups", which correspond to high level 3D objects (and which are used in the simulator, like the head, the arms or the legs), but point information can't be extracted.
Limor, I've looked into the xv3 player functions. Unfortunately, the 3D model is internal to the player (although there are function to access the faces, edges and vertices of the model, the player doesn't create these objects, so...).
The only thing that can be extracted is something called "groups", which correspond to high level 3D objects (and which are used in the simulator, like the head, the arms or the legs), but point information can't be extracted.
javi offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:00 am

Post by limor » Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:00 pm

Post by limor
Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:00 pm

The simulator now integrates ODE, a powerfull rigid body simulator.

This means that you can test-run your gaits in simulation before you try them on your real robot

Amazing work YUMI!!!!
In case you read this: how did you simulate the servos?

Image

(robots-dreams full story)
The simulator now integrates ODE, a powerfull rigid body simulator.

This means that you can test-run your gaits in simulation before you try them on your real robot

Amazing work YUMI!!!!
In case you read this: how did you simulate the servos?

Image

(robots-dreams full story)
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by tempusmaster » Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:15 pm

limor wrote:The simulator now integrates ODE, a powerfull rigid body simulator.

This means that you can test-run your gaits in simulation before you try them on your real robot

Amazing work YUMI!!!!
In case you read this: how did you simulate the servos?

(robots-dreams full story)


It is amazingly realistic. You can do a few things that don't quite match the real world, like interrupt the KHR-1 before it finishes a motion and cause it to start the interrupting motion. Actually that's a KHR-1 design limitation, not any shortcoming in the simulator.

It also gives you a good feel for how much stronger, heavier, and more stable the Great Majingaa is. An unmodified virgin KHR-1 doesn't stand much of a chance.
limor wrote:The simulator now integrates ODE, a powerfull rigid body simulator.

This means that you can test-run your gaits in simulation before you try them on your real robot

Amazing work YUMI!!!!
In case you read this: how did you simulate the servos?

(robots-dreams full story)


It is amazingly realistic. You can do a few things that don't quite match the real world, like interrupt the KHR-1 before it finishes a motion and cause it to start the interrupting motion. Actually that's a KHR-1 design limitation, not any shortcoming in the simulator.

It also gives you a good feel for how much stronger, heavier, and more stable the Great Majingaa is. An unmodified virgin KHR-1 doesn't stand much of a chance.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Beating Majingaa!

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:39 am

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:39 am

Image
Image
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

RE:About Virtual KHR-Plus

Post by saotome » Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:55 pm

Post by saotome
Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:55 pm

Dear limor and all guys,

My name is Saotme, one of the team Majingaa.

Thanx for introducing our software "Virtual KHR-Plus".
I hope you enjoy this software.

And now we're developing to integrate "Virtual KHR-Plus" and "KHR Basic".
"KHR Basic" is a software to control KHR-1 by Visual Basic Scripting Edition via serial port. (This software is already released in our web site.)
By integrating those two softwares, You'll soon enjoy controling KHR-1 in the virtual space.

But there are only Japanese version of these software.

Do u need english version of those software?

But I've never build an installer of English version.
So, When I build it, Can you test installing?
Dear limor and all guys,

My name is Saotme, one of the team Majingaa.

Thanx for introducing our software "Virtual KHR-Plus".
I hope you enjoy this software.

And now we're developing to integrate "Virtual KHR-Plus" and "KHR Basic".
"KHR Basic" is a software to control KHR-1 by Visual Basic Scripting Edition via serial port. (This software is already released in our web site.)
By integrating those two softwares, You'll soon enjoy controling KHR-1 in the virtual space.

But there are only Japanese version of these software.

Do u need english version of those software?

But I've never build an installer of English version.
So, When I build it, Can you test installing?
saotome offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:00 am

Post by limor » Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:58 pm

Post by limor
Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:58 pm

I've downloaded the "KHR Basic" development environment.
The help page looks good although I dont have Japanese language support on my windowsXP so here is what I see:
Image
Image

I'll be very happy to test the VB interface to the simulator.

The installer worked without a problem. The only thing that would be great is if you could add a separate file with all the strings so that GUI and error messages can be easily translated to English (or any other language).

How did you simulate the linear rotation speed of the servo with ODE?

Also, while i was looking at your site, i found these interesting videos: http://www.majingaa.com/movies/2006
Can you please explain how you acheived this "soft" foot servo effect?
and how did you make the robot react to pushing as if he had a gyro.. ?

What controller board and what servos do you use?

Thanks

Limor
:D
I've downloaded the "KHR Basic" development environment.
The help page looks good although I dont have Japanese language support on my windowsXP so here is what I see:
Image
Image

I'll be very happy to test the VB interface to the simulator.

The installer worked without a problem. The only thing that would be great is if you could add a separate file with all the strings so that GUI and error messages can be easily translated to English (or any other language).

How did you simulate the linear rotation speed of the servo with ODE?

Also, while i was looking at your site, i found these interesting videos: http://www.majingaa.com/movies/2006
Can you please explain how you acheived this "soft" foot servo effect?
and how did you make the robot react to pushing as if he had a gyro.. ?

What controller board and what servos do you use?

Thanks

Limor
:D
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Re:About Virtual KHR-Plus

Post by saotome » Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:17 am

Post by saotome
Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:17 am

Hello,Limor.

I'm glad to know my installer is working well in English Environment.
So,Only thing that I should do is extract all the japanese strings
from my source code.

>>How did you simulate the linear rotation speed of the servo with ODE?

I use the ODE function 'dJointSetHingeParam (dJointID, dParamVel, dReal value)' for controling joints. ''. The difference of current joint angle and distination angle is set to the value.

>>Can you please explain how you acheived this "soft" foot servo effect?
>>and how did you make the robot react to pushing as if he had a gyro.. ?

The prodecure of 'soft' control is below.
1) Set the servo gain to the lower value.
2) Obtain the differnce value of the potentiometer(= joint angle) and the target angle.
3) Shift the target value using by the above value.

This great idea is conceived by Yumi and Juzoh of our team.
(sorry, I don know quite well about the detail (x_x) )

And our robot 'Majingaa' has two gyro. Of course we use them for this control.

>>What controller board and what servos do you use?

We use BTC070 and BTE058 of BEST TECHNOLOGY as a control board.
http://www.besttechnology.co.jp/goods/g ... BTC070.htm

And servos are KONDO KRS-2350HV and KRS-4014HV.
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Products_Servo.html

Saotome
Hello,Limor.

I'm glad to know my installer is working well in English Environment.
So,Only thing that I should do is extract all the japanese strings
from my source code.

>>How did you simulate the linear rotation speed of the servo with ODE?

I use the ODE function 'dJointSetHingeParam (dJointID, dParamVel, dReal value)' for controling joints. ''. The difference of current joint angle and distination angle is set to the value.

>>Can you please explain how you acheived this "soft" foot servo effect?
>>and how did you make the robot react to pushing as if he had a gyro.. ?

The prodecure of 'soft' control is below.
1) Set the servo gain to the lower value.
2) Obtain the differnce value of the potentiometer(= joint angle) and the target angle.
3) Shift the target value using by the above value.

This great idea is conceived by Yumi and Juzoh of our team.
(sorry, I don know quite well about the detail (x_x) )

And our robot 'Majingaa' has two gyro. Of course we use them for this control.

>>What controller board and what servos do you use?

We use BTC070 and BTE058 of BEST TECHNOLOGY as a control board.
http://www.besttechnology.co.jp/goods/g ... BTC070.htm

And servos are KONDO KRS-2350HV and KRS-4014HV.
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Products_Servo.html

Saotome
saotome offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 1:00 am

limor , original problem with v.khrplus

Post by robbybot » Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:54 pm

Post by robbybot
Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:54 pm

hi limor ,
just downloaded the english version of this simulator but seem to be getting the original error message you did and subsequently posted about. hoew did you overcome this? and what is " a powerful ode engine". as you can tell i am an absolute beginner but just want a crack at the sym before buying my first robot.cheers! 8O
hi limor ,
just downloaded the english version of this simulator but seem to be getting the original error message you did and subsequently posted about. hoew did you overcome this? and what is " a powerful ode engine". as you can tell i am an absolute beginner but just want a crack at the sym before buying my first robot.cheers! 8O
robbybot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:00 am
Location: wales , uk

Next
Next
17 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
17 postsPage 1 of 21, 2