battery life?

From RoboBrothers.com (Livermore, CA) came the first sub US$400 humanoid robot kit to appear late 2007
25 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
25 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

battery life?

Post by trey3670 » Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:32 pm

Post by trey3670
Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:32 pm

how long do you get from the stock battery?
I got about 5 mins or so,and have suspicions that mine was faulty.

I since have gone to my lhs and poked around and found a 6v 600mah that gives me about 10 mins,albeit with limited strength.
how long do you get from the stock battery?
I got about 5 mins or so,and have suspicions that mine was faulty.

I since have gone to my lhs and poked around and found a 6v 600mah that gives me about 10 mins,albeit with limited strength.
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:05 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:05 pm

After 5 minutes he has trouble getting up from being face down, After 10 minutes he has trouble walking. I've resorted to just leaving him connected to the charger while in use.
After 5 minutes he has trouble getting up from being face down, After 10 minutes he has trouble walking. I've resorted to just leaving him connected to the charger while in use.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:21 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:21 am

After test driving a robonova on RobotServicesGroup.com, I now know what run time is. They let me control a stock robonova for about 25 minutes and it ran strong the whole time and showed no signs of slowing.
Don't get me wrong, I love my RoboPhilo, but the runtime on it's battery is pitiful.
After test driving a robonova on RobotServicesGroup.com, I now know what run time is. They let me control a stock robonova for about 25 minutes and it ran strong the whole time and showed no signs of slowing.
Don't get me wrong, I love my RoboPhilo, but the runtime on it's battery is pitiful.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:47 am

Post by trey3670
Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:47 am

im gonna do it tomorrow
im gonna do it tomorrow
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by trey3670 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:24 pm

Post by trey3670
Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:24 pm

battery breakthrough! well I think so anyway. I ordered a robonova battery,23.99$ shipped, and I now have 25-30 mins of run time!
dowside is the battery doesnt fit in the socket and he is off balance somewhat by sticking it on his chest.
goodnews is that to get battery to fit all I need to do ismodify the holder a lil bit!
battery breakthrough! well I think so anyway. I ordered a robonova battery,23.99$ shipped, and I now have 25-30 mins of run time!
dowside is the battery doesnt fit in the socket and he is off balance somewhat by sticking it on his chest.
goodnews is that to get battery to fit all I need to do ismodify the holder a lil bit!
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:54 pm

Post by jaybirdtke
Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:54 pm

Nice find. There may be hope for RoboPhilo after all. What did you pay for it?
Nice find. There may be hope for RoboPhilo after all. What did you pay for it?
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:04 am

Post by trey3670
Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:04 am

19.99 for the batt,how are futaba servos working?
19.99 for the batt,how are futaba servos working?
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:35 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:35 am

The servos are working great. I am still trying to choose which servo I should use to upgrade the hips, and eventually upgrade the futaba S3003's in the shoulders to something with more torque. I am leaning toward one of the Tower Hobbies Digital servos.
Now that you have been able to upgrade the battery I feel much more compfortable investing some more money into this robot.
Keep us updated on how you fabricate a new mount for the larger battery.
The servos are working great. I am still trying to choose which servo I should use to upgrade the hips, and eventually upgrade the futaba S3003's in the shoulders to something with more torque. I am leaning toward one of the Tower Hobbies Digital servos.
Now that you have been able to upgrade the battery I feel much more compfortable investing some more money into this robot.
Keep us updated on how you fabricate a new mount for the larger battery.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:51 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:51 am

I wonder if changing the cell configuration in the pack will help.
I found 1400mAh 2/3A cells for US$1.79 each x 5 = US$8.95 add the cost of the battery tabs, connector, and wrap and there you go. They're the same length but a little wider.
http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp?Pa ... rodID=1776
Or 1500mAh 2/3A cells for US$3.25 each, cheapbatterypacks.com
will even assemble it for you for a grand total of US$16.25 less shipping.
I wonder if changing the cell configuration in the pack will help.
I found 1400mAh 2/3A cells for US$1.79 each x 5 = US$8.95 add the cost of the battery tabs, connector, and wrap and there you go. They're the same length but a little wider.
http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp?Pa ... rodID=1776
Or 1500mAh 2/3A cells for US$3.25 each, cheapbatterypacks.com
will even assemble it for you for a grand total of US$16.25 less shipping.
Last edited by jaybirdtke on Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:35 am, edited 2 times in total.
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by trey3670 » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:20 am

Post by trey3670
Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:20 am

stupid qeustion maybe,but what voltage are they? we dont want to go above 7volts
stupid qeustion maybe,but what voltage are they? we dont want to go above 7volts
trey3670 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:03 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:24 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:24 am

volts are calculated by the number of cells.
1 cell = 1.2 volts
5 cells = 6 volts
I would have a battery assembled in the same configuration as the stock battery with the same number of cells (5).
volts are calculated by the number of cells.
1 cell = 1.2 volts
5 cells = 6 volts
I would have a battery assembled in the same configuration as the stock battery with the same number of cells (5).
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by Baccman » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:05 am

Post by Baccman
Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:05 am

I am trying to fit a reciever pack from my savage monster truck, it's a 5-cell 1000mah I have it in there, I think. I'll keep you posted
I am trying to fit a reciever pack from my savage monster truck, it's a 5-cell 1000mah I have it in there, I think. I'll keep you posted
Baccman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:34 am

Post by Baccman » Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:54 am

Post by Baccman
Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:54 am

It fits!!! :D I have actually replaced it with a new 1600mah pack with the same configuration, it's a savage style hump pack. Run time goes waaay up, ssems to have alittle more power too

Here is a pic of my work, be patient it is large.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Baccman/P1000094.JPG
It fits!!! :D I have actually replaced it with a new 1600mah pack with the same configuration, it's a savage style hump pack. Run time goes waaay up, ssems to have alittle more power too

Here is a pic of my work, be patient it is large.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/Baccman/P1000094.JPG
Baccman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:34 am

Post by jaybirdtke » Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:30 am

Post by jaybirdtke
Mon Jan 28, 2008 2:30 am

Nice... Looks like a tight fit. Are those 2/3A cells?
I can barely fit the 2/3AA cells in his chest with the cells horizontal, the way you've installed yours and the 2/3A cells are a bit longer.
---------------
Cell Size: 2/3AA
Chemistry: NIMH
Capacity: 700mah
Length: 1.12in. 28.45mm
Diameter: 0.55in. 13.97mm
Weight: 0.49oz. 13.88gm
---------------
Cell Size: 2/3A
Chemistry: NIMH
Capacity: 1500mah
Length: 1.13in. 28.70mm
Diameter: 0.66in. 16.76mm
Weight: 0.81oz. 22.95gm
Nice... Looks like a tight fit. Are those 2/3A cells?
I can barely fit the 2/3AA cells in his chest with the cells horizontal, the way you've installed yours and the 2/3A cells are a bit longer.
---------------
Cell Size: 2/3AA
Chemistry: NIMH
Capacity: 700mah
Length: 1.12in. 28.45mm
Diameter: 0.55in. 13.97mm
Weight: 0.49oz. 13.88gm
---------------
Cell Size: 2/3A
Chemistry: NIMH
Capacity: 1500mah
Length: 1.13in. 28.70mm
Diameter: 0.66in. 16.76mm
Weight: 0.81oz. 22.95gm
jaybirdtke offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:19 am

Post by Baccman » Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:06 am

Post by Baccman
Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:06 am

Yes, I believe they are 2/3a cells. They seem to be slightly shorter than the cells in the original pack. I went to my LHS and got a second pack that was 1600mah, and that fit too. All I had to do is add the zip tie to hold it in. It is just an off the shelf pack, nothing special about it really.
Yes, I believe they are 2/3a cells. They seem to be slightly shorter than the cells in the original pack. I went to my LHS and got a second pack that was 1600mah, and that fit too. All I had to do is add the zip tie to hold it in. It is just an off the shelf pack, nothing special about it really.
Baccman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:34 am

Next
Next
25 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
25 postsPage 1 of 21, 2