Im NEW how do I get started

Discussions regarding building a walking robot at home. Most of the robots participating at Robo-One competitions are custom fabricated.
8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1

Im NEW how do I get started

Post by Project 107 » Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:47 am

Post by Project 107
Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:47 am

after going to a robotics festivity seeing the small japanies programable robots I relly wanted to make one. Ive had an interest in robotics ever since I was 4 I draw them even now though.... it seames like geting a job in robotics is lookig low for my grades aren't going to be enough to cut it. so ive dicided to try to make a smaller bot since ill never make it into the real deal.

I'm wondering what the best servose I couget are first of and what I buy for the programable stuff? im usualy beter at building so ime looking for sumthing that alowse me to animate the suvose instead of full programming.

and how do you get a control for a bot?

.......Apologiese for the spelling mistakes..............................

ps, im on a budgit of about 600$
after going to a robotics festivity seeing the small japanies programable robots I relly wanted to make one. Ive had an interest in robotics ever since I was 4 I draw them even now though.... it seames like geting a job in robotics is lookig low for my grades aren't going to be enough to cut it. so ive dicided to try to make a smaller bot since ill never make it into the real deal.

I'm wondering what the best servose I couget are first of and what I buy for the programable stuff? im usualy beter at building so ime looking for sumthing that alowse me to animate the suvose instead of full programming.

and how do you get a control for a bot?

.......Apologiese for the spelling mistakes..............................

ps, im on a budgit of about 600$
Last edited by Project 107 on Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Project 107 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 am
Location: USA-CA

Geting Started

Post by Project 107 » Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:57 am

Post by Project 107
Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:57 am

how do I get into compititions like robot sports and or fighting when I compleat my project?

well more like just groups to play with of some sort I dont want to get into real compititions.
how do I get into compititions like robot sports and or fighting when I compleat my project?

well more like just groups to play with of some sort I dont want to get into real compititions.
Project 107 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 am
Location: USA-CA

Post by Humanoido » Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:28 am

Post by Humanoido
Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:28 am

You are talking about animatronics. There's controller
boards made for this purpose and may not require a
microcontroller.

What size humanoid are you considering? About
12-inches high,or smaller?

However, to get into RoboOne competitions, you'd
obviously need the microcontroller and a lot more.

humanoido
You are talking about animatronics. There's controller
boards made for this purpose and may not require a
microcontroller.

What size humanoid are you considering? About
12-inches high,or smaller?

However, to get into RoboOne competitions, you'd
obviously need the microcontroller and a lot more.

humanoido
Humanoido offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in the Heart of Asia

Post by Humanoido » Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:30 am

Post by Humanoido
Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:30 am

For groups of humanoids, they would need either autonomous control, or some sort of wireless communications.

humanoido
For groups of humanoids, they would need either autonomous control, or some sort of wireless communications.

humanoido
Humanoido offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in the Heart of Asia

Post by Project 107 » Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:49 am

Post by Project 107
Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:49 am

Thanks for reply um are you talking about animating the bot without programing skills with te animatronics then yes Thats what I ment I mean I probly like somthing cheap like just showing slide bars of the servos. how much would such cost?

what is an atanumus control is that when it works off of simple AI using sensors?

im still not shure what a micro controller is ive herd of it on sights and in forums is there a simple explanation for them?

Im not yet sure of the bots hight I havent disighned it yet in any sketches but I believe im going to be disighning in the 8 -9 inch range.

are there toch sensors you can buy?

is there any Humaniod groups in fresno and or bay area that you know of?

is there any parts smaller than a servo that can be used on fingers like a very small moter posably?

:D
Thanks for reply um are you talking about animating the bot without programing skills with te animatronics then yes Thats what I ment I mean I probly like somthing cheap like just showing slide bars of the servos. how much would such cost?

what is an atanumus control is that when it works off of simple AI using sensors?

im still not shure what a micro controller is ive herd of it on sights and in forums is there a simple explanation for them?

Im not yet sure of the bots hight I havent disighned it yet in any sketches but I believe im going to be disighning in the 8 -9 inch range.

are there toch sensors you can buy?

is there any Humaniod groups in fresno and or bay area that you know of?

is there any parts smaller than a servo that can be used on fingers like a very small moter posably?

:D
Project 107 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 am
Location: USA-CA

Post by Project 107 » Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:56 am

Post by Project 107
Sun Sep 23, 2007 7:56 am

This is abit off topic but is your Huminiod in the picture near a mac

im using a breaking down HP it sucks if weght is aplied or not apliesd to my hard drive it just freezes.
This is abit off topic but is your Huminiod in the picture near a mac

im using a breaking down HP it sucks if weght is aplied or not apliesd to my hard drive it just freezes.
Project 107 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 am
Location: USA-CA

Post by Robo1 » Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:02 pm

Post by Robo1
Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:02 pm

HI Project 107

If you want to know if you can use a mac for humanoid stuff then yes. I have a macbook with windows and ubuntu (linux) running in vm at the same time. That's right 3 OS working away at the say time.

bren
HI Project 107

If you want to know if you can use a mac for humanoid stuff then yes. I have a macbook with windows and ubuntu (linux) running in vm at the same time. That's right 3 OS working away at the say time.

bren
Robo1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK - Bristol

Post by Project 107 » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:14 am

Post by Project 107
Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:14 am

Actuly that was never my question I already knew that Im just stating that mine is sucking and lagingabout, wile his cant get viruses and spyware.

:?
Actuly that was never my question I already knew that Im just stating that mine is sucking and lagingabout, wile his cant get viruses and spyware.

:?
_______________________________
|All I need is me and a fateful machine |
Project 107 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 9:27 am
Location: USA-CA


8 postsPage 1 of 1
8 postsPage 1 of 1
cron