Cannot connect CM-5

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1

Cannot connect CM-5

Post by pw000 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:51 pm

Post by pw000
Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:51 pm

Hello, I am a complete beginner with robotics so please bear with me:

While setting up a Bioloid robot, I encountered 2 blocking problems - one with connecting to CM-5 and the other with charging. For context, I am using Ubuntu as my OS and a Prolific Technology Serial/USB adapter to connect the robot to my computer.

1. Cannot connect CM-5
Using Download Program in the Behavior Controller Programmer, no Port Name options are available. Using the command dmesg, I received the below output.

[ 4236.864933] usb 3-2: new full-speed USB device number 8 using xhci_hcd
[ 4236.881596] usb 3-2: New USB device found, idVendor=067b, idProduct=2303
[ 4236.881605] usb 3-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 4236.881610] usb 3-2: Product: USB-Serial Controller
[ 4236.881615] usb 3-2: Manufacturer: Prolific Technology Inc.
[ 4236.882355] pl2303 3-2:1.0: pl2303 converter detected
[ 4236.883223] usb 3-2: pl2303 converter now attached to ttyUSB0


Update:

I also tried to connect the USB port to COM1 in the ./wine/dosdevices/ directory using the following line, but I still receive the same error message.
Code: Select all
ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 COM1


Are there any additional steps I need to take to be able to connect to CM-5?

2. Charging Problem
Before today, I was able to turn on the robot with no problem. However, I am now only able to turn on the robot when I have plugged it into the adapter. When it is plugged in, the LEDs for Power and TXD are on (in red) and do not blink (which would indicate charging).

Could anyone please help me narrow down what the problem may be here? Is it possible I need to change the battery?

Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated - thank you in advance!
Hello, I am a complete beginner with robotics so please bear with me:

While setting up a Bioloid robot, I encountered 2 blocking problems - one with connecting to CM-5 and the other with charging. For context, I am using Ubuntu as my OS and a Prolific Technology Serial/USB adapter to connect the robot to my computer.

1. Cannot connect CM-5
Using Download Program in the Behavior Controller Programmer, no Port Name options are available. Using the command dmesg, I received the below output.

[ 4236.864933] usb 3-2: new full-speed USB device number 8 using xhci_hcd
[ 4236.881596] usb 3-2: New USB device found, idVendor=067b, idProduct=2303
[ 4236.881605] usb 3-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 4236.881610] usb 3-2: Product: USB-Serial Controller
[ 4236.881615] usb 3-2: Manufacturer: Prolific Technology Inc.
[ 4236.882355] pl2303 3-2:1.0: pl2303 converter detected
[ 4236.883223] usb 3-2: pl2303 converter now attached to ttyUSB0


Update:

I also tried to connect the USB port to COM1 in the ./wine/dosdevices/ directory using the following line, but I still receive the same error message.
Code: Select all
ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 COM1


Are there any additional steps I need to take to be able to connect to CM-5?

2. Charging Problem
Before today, I was able to turn on the robot with no problem. However, I am now only able to turn on the robot when I have plugged it into the adapter. When it is plugged in, the LEDs for Power and TXD are on (in red) and do not blink (which would indicate charging).

Could anyone please help me narrow down what the problem may be here? Is it possible I need to change the battery?

Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated - thank you in advance!
Last edited by pw000 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by pw000 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:12 pm

Post by pw000
Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:12 pm

Does anyone have any pointers on how to connect the CM-5 using a USB/Serial connector?

As described in the original post, I have had problems with charging and connecting the CM-5. As of now, I am reinvesting in a new CM-5 to help resolve the charging issue, but am still stuck with the "Cannot connect CM-5" problem (please see update below).

Thank you very much in advance!
Does anyone have any pointers on how to connect the CM-5 using a USB/Serial connector?

As described in the original post, I have had problems with charging and connecting the CM-5. As of now, I am reinvesting in a new CM-5 to help resolve the charging issue, but am still stuck with the "Cannot connect CM-5" problem (please see update below).

Thank you very much in advance!
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:22 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:22 am

Do you use a laptop or a desktop? Me and other people have problems with laptops. It seems a problem with the ground connection. If you use a laptop test with a desktop with s real serial port.
Do you use a laptop or a desktop? Me and other people have problems with laptops. It seems a problem with the ground connection. If you use a laptop test with a desktop with s real serial port.
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:27 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:27 am

Ups, and respect the battery I had problems with my first battery. After changing it for a new one it has worked pretty well.
Ups, and respect the battery I had problems with my first battery. After changing it for a new one it has worked pretty well.
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by pw000 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:03 am

Post by pw000
Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:03 am

Hi - thanks for your replies!

siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Do you use a laptop or a desktop? Me and other people have problems with laptops. It seems a problem with the ground connection. If you use a laptop test with a desktop with s real serial port.

I am using a laptop and unfortunately don't have access to a desktop...

Any other thoughts on how I might make the laptop + USB/Serial Converter combination work?

siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Ups, and respect the battery I had problems with my first battery. After changing it for a new one it has worked pretty well.

Yup, just got a new battery into the system which seems to be working better.


Thanks again!
Hi - thanks for your replies!

siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Do you use a laptop or a desktop? Me and other people have problems with laptops. It seems a problem with the ground connection. If you use a laptop test with a desktop with s real serial port.

I am using a laptop and unfortunately don't have access to a desktop...

Any other thoughts on how I might make the laptop + USB/Serial Converter combination work?

siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Ups, and respect the battery I had problems with my first battery. After changing it for a new one it has worked pretty well.

Yup, just got a new battery into the system which seems to be working better.


Thanks again!
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:12 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:12 am

If the problem is the laptop I don't know any solution. The"configuration" of battery or charger connector that usually works for me is:

Laptop attached to charger (and this to one of your house elecrical socket, sorry my English) and Robotis controller to battery.

With this "configuration" I usually can connect to the controller and upload files, but NOT the firmware. :?
If the problem is the laptop I don't know any solution. The"configuration" of battery or charger connector that usually works for me is:

Laptop attached to charger (and this to one of your house elecrical socket, sorry my English) and Robotis controller to battery.

With this "configuration" I usually can connect to the controller and upload files, but NOT the firmware. :?
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by pw000 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:37 am

Post by pw000
Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:37 am

Just tried again, with the battery "configuration" you suggested. I still don't have any port options in the drop down menu to connect to and I still receive the error message:

"Cannot connect CM-5. Please check the condition of connection."

I'm wondering if it is either an issue of:
- using a laptop
- using a USB/Serial Converter
- or of configuring the USB/Serial Converter to be COM1

Any other ideas?

Thanks again.
Just tried again, with the battery "configuration" you suggested. I still don't have any port options in the drop down menu to connect to and I still receive the error message:

"Cannot connect CM-5. Please check the condition of connection."

I'm wondering if it is either an issue of:
- using a laptop
- using a USB/Serial Converter
- or of configuring the USB/Serial Converter to be COM1

Any other ideas?

Thanks again.
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:29 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:29 am

do you see the /dev/ttyUSBn or similar?

Do you use Robotis console with Ubuntu or which other console do you use?
do you see the /dev/ttyUSBn or similar?

Do you use Robotis console with Ubuntu or which other console do you use?
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by pw000 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:40 am

Post by pw000
Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:40 am

I'm not entirely sure I know how to properly answer your question...

When I try to use the Robits' Robot Terminal, I receive the error message:
"Can not open COM1, 57600 bps!"

Is that the console you are referring to?


Here are the steps I took within the Ubuntu terminal in my unsuccessful attempt to resolve this:
1. Check that the USB port sees the Serial/USB converter
Code: Select all
$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port

Code: Select all
$ dmesg | grep tty
[   36.613256] usb 1-1.2: pl2303 converter now attached to ttyUSB0


2. Check that, in ~/.wine/dosdevices, com1 points to ttyUSB0
Code: Select all
$ ls -la ~/.wine/dosdevices/
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   12 Apr 16 18:51 com1 -> /dev/ttyUSB0


3. Make sure the speed is approriately set to 57600
Code: Select all
$ sudo stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 -a
speed 57600 baud; rows 0; columns 0; line = 0;
I'm not entirely sure I know how to properly answer your question...

When I try to use the Robits' Robot Terminal, I receive the error message:
"Can not open COM1, 57600 bps!"

Is that the console you are referring to?


Here are the steps I took within the Ubuntu terminal in my unsuccessful attempt to resolve this:
1. Check that the USB port sees the Serial/USB converter
Code: Select all
$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port

Code: Select all
$ dmesg | grep tty
[   36.613256] usb 1-1.2: pl2303 converter now attached to ttyUSB0


2. Check that, in ~/.wine/dosdevices, com1 points to ttyUSB0
Code: Select all
$ ls -la ~/.wine/dosdevices/
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   12 Apr 16 18:51 com1 -> /dev/ttyUSB0


3. Make sure the speed is approriately set to 57600
Code: Select all
$ sudo stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 -a
speed 57600 baud; rows 0; columns 0; line = 0;
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by pw000 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:06 am

Post by pw000
Wed Apr 17, 2013 11:06 am

Update:
I just tried the following command and it looks like the USB/Serial converter is working and can see the CM-5.

Code: Select all
$ sudo cat /dev/ttyUSB0
 [CM-5 Version 1.15]

 <->PC:57142 BPS, <->Dynamixel:1000000 BPS

 ID:��



However, I am still unable to get the Robotis software (e.g. Behavior Control Programmer, Robot Terminal) to find CM-5. Any thoughts?
Update:
I just tried the following command and it looks like the USB/Serial converter is working and can see the CM-5.

Code: Select all
$ sudo cat /dev/ttyUSB0
 [CM-5 Version 1.15]

 <->PC:57142 BPS, <->Dynamixel:1000000 BPS

 ID:��



However, I am still unable to get the Robotis software (e.g. Behavior Control Programmer, Robot Terminal) to find CM-5. Any thoughts?
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by pw000 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:03 pm

Post by pw000
Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:03 pm

Update:
I believe the problem of not seeing any COM ports was due to the fact that there was no link between ttyUSB0 and the serial ports ttyS#. Without this, Wine (the program running the Bioloid software on Ubuntu) was not able to find the port options. This was addressed with the following code:

Code: Select all
sudo ln -sb /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/ttyS1


I now have the separate issues of not being able to enter boot mode in the Robot Terminal nor being able to download a program to CM-5 - but I'll start a different thread to address it to prevent any confusion.

In any case, thank you very much for your help siempre.aprendiendo!
Update:
I believe the problem of not seeing any COM ports was due to the fact that there was no link between ttyUSB0 and the serial ports ttyS#. Without this, Wine (the program running the Bioloid software on Ubuntu) was not able to find the port options. This was addressed with the following code:

Code: Select all
sudo ln -sb /dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/ttyS1


I now have the separate issues of not being able to enter boot mode in the Robot Terminal nor being able to download a program to CM-5 - but I'll start a different thread to address it to prevent any confusion.

In any case, thank you very much for your help siempre.aprendiendo!
pw000 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:42 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:58 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:58 am

I prefer ( too much) and use Ubuntu more than Windows, but... you should test it with Windows, because Robotis created the software for Windows.

By the way, do the Robotis software (terminal, manager...) list correctly your serial connections (tty* instead of COMn? May be it can't detect your Ubuntu serial connections.
I prefer ( too much) and use Ubuntu more than Windows, but... you should test it with Windows, because Robotis created the software for Windows.

By the way, do the Robotis software (terminal, manager...) list correctly your serial connections (tty* instead of COMn? May be it can't detect your Ubuntu serial connections.
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona


12 postsPage 1 of 1
12 postsPage 1 of 1
cron