Sensor usage with CM-5

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
57 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4
57 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4

Post by sdeba » Fri Dec 09, 2011 8:37 pm

Post by sdeba
Fri Dec 09, 2011 8:37 pm

You mean documenting building this whole Sensor project?

I've made simple program in RoboPlus Task, just to test if it works with IMU. It was writing gyro values without problem, but for some time. After about 1 minute it started to show a connection error. Then I've unplugged and plugged the cable from IMU to CM-5, and then it started working again for another minute, then connection error. I think it is occuring because there is to many requests, do you have any ideas how to fix it? ;)
You mean documenting building this whole Sensor project?

I've made simple program in RoboPlus Task, just to test if it works with IMU. It was writing gyro values without problem, but for some time. After about 1 minute it started to show a connection error. Then I've unplugged and plugged the cable from IMU to CM-5, and then it started working again for another minute, then connection error. I think it is occuring because there is to many requests, do you have any ideas how to fix it? ;)
sdeba offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:00 pm

Post by i-Bot » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:48 pm

Post by i-Bot
Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:48 pm

Are you using the latest version of the code with twimaster.c ?

Please document and share anything you think is useful or of interest to others. Text, pics, video, anything.
Are you using the latest version of the code with twimaster.c ?

Please document and share anything you think is useful or of interest to others. Text, pics, video, anything.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by sdeba » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by sdeba
Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:14 pm

Yes, I've directly uploaded *.hex file from Debug directory in new version. I'll test if this problem occurs while using libbioloid, but RoboPlus Task will be preffered while I would like to use motion ;)

I'll try to make a guide to do this sensor board, but don't know when. I'm an executive editor of one of the biggest Android websites in my country, so I have some ongoing duties ;)
Yes, I've directly uploaded *.hex file from Debug directory in new version. I'll test if this problem occurs while using libbioloid, but RoboPlus Task will be preffered while I would like to use motion ;)

I'll try to make a guide to do this sensor board, but don't know when. I'm an executive editor of one of the biggest Android websites in my country, so I have some ongoing duties ;)
sdeba offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:00 pm

Post by i-Bot » Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:22 pm

Post by i-Bot
Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:22 pm

I just took a look at the asm listing of the 6DOFIMU project, and the I2C timeout value is way too long. The patch doc said a few ms, but it is a lot longer. Since the timeout function is blocking this is possible cause.

I will reduce timeout, and add a call to process dynamixel requests within the timeout.

I am surprised that Task does not retry. It should not need replugging to recover though if this is cause. Is Task OK with the BioloidIO code?
I just took a look at the asm listing of the 6DOFIMU project, and the I2C timeout value is way too long. The patch doc said a few ms, but it is a lot longer. Since the timeout function is blocking this is possible cause.

I will reduce timeout, and add a call to process dynamixel requests within the timeout.

I am surprised that Task does not retry. It should not need replugging to recover though if this is cause. Is Task OK with the BioloidIO code?
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by sdeba » Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:40 pm

Post by sdeba
Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:40 pm

Ok, so if you'll do so, give me a sign. Thanks for that ;)

I wasn't testing a lot with IO code, but from what I remember there weren't any issues.
Ok, so if you'll do so, give me a sign. Thanks for that ;)

I wasn't testing a lot with IO code, but from what I remember there weren't any issues.
sdeba offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:00 pm

Post by i-Bot » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:48 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:48 pm

Sorry this is taking longer than I thought.

I fixed the IMU timeout, but when I checked with Task it did not fix the problem. When I tested with HUV Bioloid-IO, that also has same problem, so I now need to look at the HUV code, not my changes.
Sorry this is taking longer than I thought.

I fixed the IMU timeout, but when I checked with Task it did not fix the problem. When I tested with HUV Bioloid-IO, that also has same problem, so I now need to look at the HUV code, not my changes.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by i-Bot » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:40 pm

Post by i-Bot
Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:40 pm

mmmh interesting. The problem appears to be in the bioloid packet handler. After a while the CM-5 sends a bad CRC (CRC = FF) for some reason. The Bioloid IO code tries to log the error and hangs. I commented out the CRC error logging and it works OK. I will take a look at the HUV logging functions.
mmmh interesting. The problem appears to be in the bioloid packet handler. After a while the CM-5 sends a bad CRC (CRC = FF) for some reason. The Bioloid IO code tries to log the error and hangs. I commented out the CRC error logging and it works OK. I will take a look at the HUV logging functions.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by sdeba » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:35 am

Post by sdeba
Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:35 am

Thanks for sharing status. That's strange behavior for sure. Good luck and thanks for helping me ;)
Thanks for sharing status. That's strange behavior for sure. Good luck and thanks for helping me ;)
sdeba offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:00 pm

Post by i-Bot » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:26 am

Post by i-Bot
Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:26 am

I put the updated projects in my file area
I put the updated projects in my file area
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by sdeba » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:07 pm

Post by sdeba
Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:07 pm

The latest updated version works perfectly even with RoboPlus Task. Minor problem was that I realized that IMU adresses from here: http://www.bioloid.info/tiki/tiki-index ... umentation are reversed in my case. That means if 26 was responsible for Sideway Accel then it is in my case Pitch Rate ;) But I've tested everything and it works ok. I've also updated my adress table and now everything is fine. Thanks for help. I'll have some more time during upcoming holidays so then I'll share my humanoid with IMU with you all ;)
The latest updated version works perfectly even with RoboPlus Task. Minor problem was that I realized that IMU adresses from here: http://www.bioloid.info/tiki/tiki-index ... umentation are reversed in my case. That means if 26 was responsible for Sideway Accel then it is in my case Pitch Rate ;) But I've tested everything and it works ok. I've also updated my adress table and now everything is fine. Thanks for help. I'll have some more time during upcoming holidays so then I'll share my humanoid with IMU with you all ;)
sdeba offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:00 pm

Post by i-Bot » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:30 am

Post by i-Bot
Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:30 am

The allocation of X, Y, and Z and pitch/rate is dependant on the IMU orientation, and register allocation is easily changed in the code. In the same way gain adjustment, sign conversion, and filtering may be done within in the IMU if required.

Have fun over the Holidays :D
The allocation of X, Y, and Z and pitch/rate is dependant on the IMU orientation, and register allocation is easily changed in the code. In the same way gain adjustment, sign conversion, and filtering may be done within in the IMU if required.

Have fun over the Holidays :D
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Sensor usage with CM-5

Post by wiweet » Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:08 pm

Post by wiweet
Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:08 pm

Great thanks to you i-Bot, I've followed your guidance here, and I'm succesfully make a Dynamixel Device for IMU, the difference is I use Robotis Gyro and MMA7361 as the sensor, both of them are analog output, so my code is much simpler.

Thank you for sharing your expertise.

Regards,

wiweet
Great thanks to you i-Bot, I've followed your guidance here, and I'm succesfully make a Dynamixel Device for IMU, the difference is I use Robotis Gyro and MMA7361 as the sensor, both of them are analog output, so my code is much simpler.

Thank you for sharing your expertise.

Regards,

wiweet
wiweet offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:50 am

Previous
Previous
57 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4
57 postsPage 4 of 41, 2, 3, 4
cron