Videos of humanoids possible with the bioloid kit?

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1

Videos of humanoids possible with the bioloid kit?

Post by Chemical » Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:06 pm

Post by Chemical
Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:06 pm

Hey


We've seen a few robotis robot videos but many seem to be with robots that you couldnt make with the upcoming kit (Just guessing, i could be wrong)

And the only videos I saw that I know is from the kit is a video of the 2 legged robot and the dog, but I really would love to see the humanoid!


Anyone know if there are a few about?


The Bioloid kit incase anyones unsure which is which: http://www.robotis.com/shop/adminmode/B ... insert.jpg



Thanks
Hey


We've seen a few robotis robot videos but many seem to be with robots that you couldnt make with the upcoming kit (Just guessing, i could be wrong)

And the only videos I saw that I know is from the kit is a video of the 2 legged robot and the dog, but I really would love to see the humanoid!


Anyone know if there are a few about?


The Bioloid kit incase anyones unsure which is which: http://www.robotis.com/shop/adminmode/B ... insert.jpg



Thanks
Current Robot Collection: Robosapien V2, Robopet.

Robots Rule!
Chemical offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:00 am
Location: England, UK

Post by gsferrari » Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:17 pm

Post by gsferrari
Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:17 pm

http://www.tribotix.com/Videos/Robotis.htm

Plenty of videos there. The kit in the picture you posted is the "expert" kit with more parts. The basic kit is smaller and less fleshed out.
http://www.tribotix.com/Videos/Robotis.htm

Plenty of videos there. The kit in the picture you posted is the "expert" kit with more parts. The basic kit is smaller and less fleshed out.
gsferrari offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post by Chemical » Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by Chemical
Thu Mar 30, 2006 5:51 pm

gsferrari wrote:http://www.tribotix.com/Videos/Robotis.htm

Plenty of videos there. The kit in the picture you posted is the "expert" kit with more parts. The basic kit is smaller and less fleshed out.


Thanks for the videos!

and yes the above is the "Comprehensive Kit", then theres the simpler "Beginners Kit" and finally an "Expansion Kit" which i havent seen much on except a PDF of the manual, looks like a cam and wireless set-ups.
gsferrari wrote:http://www.tribotix.com/Videos/Robotis.htm

Plenty of videos there. The kit in the picture you posted is the "expert" kit with more parts. The basic kit is smaller and less fleshed out.


Thanks for the videos!

and yes the above is the "Comprehensive Kit", then theres the simpler "Beginners Kit" and finally an "Expansion Kit" which i havent seen much on except a PDF of the manual, looks like a cam and wireless set-ups.
Current Robot Collection: Robosapien V2, Robopet.

Robots Rule!
Chemical offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:00 am
Location: England, UK

Post by gsferrari » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:17 pm

Post by gsferrari
Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:17 pm

I think you need the expert kit to build a humanoid. Not sure about that...I'm getting one through the initial group-buy anyway so we'll find out soon enough.

The expansion kit is sweet but I really want to translate what the Bioloid can do into add-ons for the Robonova-1. Adding a few DOFs in the lower limbs and hip region will make that kit staggeringly good!!
I think you need the expert kit to build a humanoid. Not sure about that...I'm getting one through the initial group-buy anyway so we'll find out soon enough.

The expansion kit is sweet but I really want to translate what the Bioloid can do into add-ons for the Robonova-1. Adding a few DOFs in the lower limbs and hip region will make that kit staggeringly good!!
gsferrari offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:30 pm

Post by Guest
Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:30 pm

The Expert kit is the Comprehensive Kit plus: a wireless camera, a wireless interface (probably BT but I am not sure) and the C compiler.
The Expert kit is the Comprehensive Kit plus: a wireless camera, a wireless interface (probably BT but I am not sure) and the C compiler.
Guest offline

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:32 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:32 pm

gsferrari wrote:I think you need the expert kit to build a humanoid. Not sure about that...I'm getting one through the initial group-buy anyway so we'll find out soon enough.

The expansion kit is sweet but I really want to translate what the Bioloid can do into add-ons for the Robonova-1. Adding a few DOFs in the lower limbs and hip region will make that kit staggeringly good!!


It does look good, and perform fairly well. A lot depends on what you expect to do with it in the long term. Talking with the Robotis folks here two weeks ago, the Bioloid seems great for a class environment. Still, if you want to hack it, either mechanically, electrically, or software wise, it may not be the best choice. Here's my initial review based on what I saw, their published datasheet, and about 10 minutes of chatting with their staff during the Robo-One 9 event:

http://www.robots-dreams.com/2006/03/robotis_bioloid.html
gsferrari wrote:I think you need the expert kit to build a humanoid. Not sure about that...I'm getting one through the initial group-buy anyway so we'll find out soon enough.

The expansion kit is sweet but I really want to translate what the Bioloid can do into add-ons for the Robonova-1. Adding a few DOFs in the lower limbs and hip region will make that kit staggeringly good!!


It does look good, and perform fairly well. A lot depends on what you expect to do with it in the long term. Talking with the Robotis folks here two weeks ago, the Bioloid seems great for a class environment. Still, if you want to hack it, either mechanically, electrically, or software wise, it may not be the best choice. Here's my initial review based on what I saw, their published datasheet, and about 10 minutes of chatting with their staff during the Robo-One 9 event:

http://www.robots-dreams.com/2006/03/robotis_bioloid.html
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by inaki » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:59 pm

Post by inaki
Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:59 pm

Actually doing things with the KHR1 itself is an exercise of hacking. There is no programable board, the servo feedback signals are practically undocumented (well there is somewhat but cryptical), the RCB board is totally undocumented, the communications protocol is partially undocumented as well, ... etc Even some commercial addins are almost undocumented (e.g. the remote kits).

So I think working with Robotis platform would be more of the same. It would require some effort to hack. For example how to add a new sensor to the daisy chain would be an exercise of style. Hacking the TTL commands is in top of my list.
Actually doing things with the KHR1 itself is an exercise of hacking. There is no programable board, the servo feedback signals are practically undocumented (well there is somewhat but cryptical), the RCB board is totally undocumented, the communications protocol is partially undocumented as well, ... etc Even some commercial addins are almost undocumented (e.g. the remote kits).

So I think working with Robotis platform would be more of the same. It would require some effort to hack. For example how to add a new sensor to the daisy chain would be an exercise of style. Hacking the TTL commands is in top of my list.
inaki offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:00 am
Location: EH

Post by gsferrari » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:01 pm

Post by gsferrari
Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:01 pm

TTL stands for "Time To live" in my industry :)

What does it mean in this case?
TTL stands for "Time To live" in my industry :)

What does it mean in this case?
gsferrari offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post by inaki » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:34 pm

Post by inaki
Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:34 pm

In this case TTL stands for 'transistor-transistor-logic'. In other words, the communications path among AX servos work with digital signals. There are other Dynamixel servos that work with RS485 and CAN buses instead of TTL.
In this case TTL stands for 'transistor-transistor-logic'. In other words, the communications path among AX servos work with digital signals. There are other Dynamixel servos that work with RS485 and CAN buses instead of TTL.
inaki offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:00 am
Location: EH


9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1
cron