Help with AX12 linux firmware flash

Bioloid robot kit from Korean company Robotis; CM5 controller block, AX12 servos..
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

Help with AX12 linux firmware flash

Post by Ax12-dr » Fri Oct 18, 2013 1:20 am

Post by Ax12-dr
Fri Oct 18, 2013 1:20 am

Hey,

I'm trying to flash custom firmware on an AX12 through a USB2Dynamixel (no CM5). I've looked all over and couldn't find good instructions for that, is it even possible?

From what i've read I'm supposed to enter #'s while powering up the servo, can I do that from Putty?
I know about the bin file that needs to be created and sent, I'm just looking for a way to transfer the file with linux.

Thanks!
Hey,

I'm trying to flash custom firmware on an AX12 through a USB2Dynamixel (no CM5). I've looked all over and couldn't find good instructions for that, is it even possible?

From what i've read I'm supposed to enter #'s while powering up the servo, can I do that from Putty?
I know about the bin file that needs to be created and sent, I'm just looking for a way to transfer the file with linux.

Thanks!
Ax12-dr offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:58 am

Re: Help with AX12 linux firmware flash

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:18 am

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:18 am

Using Windows is easy: http://actuated.wordpress.com/2011/01/2 ... -firmware/

I've downloaded soft to CM-510 using Linux, is somewhat tricky, but possible; but I've not updated AX-12 firmware using Linux.
Using Windows is easy: http://actuated.wordpress.com/2011/01/2 ... -firmware/

I've downloaded soft to CM-510 using Linux, is somewhat tricky, but possible; but I've not updated AX-12 firmware using Linux.
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Re: Help with AX12 linux firmware flash

Post by Ax12-dr » Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:28 pm

Post by Ax12-dr
Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:28 pm

siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Using Windows is easy: http://actuated.wordpress.com/2011/01/2 ... -firmware/

I've downloaded soft to CM-510 using Linux, is somewhat tricky, but possible; but I've not updated AX-12 firmware using Linux.


Too bad, that's exactly what I'm looking for. :(
siempre.aprendiendo wrote:Using Windows is easy: http://actuated.wordpress.com/2011/01/2 ... -firmware/

I've downloaded soft to CM-510 using Linux, is somewhat tricky, but possible; but I've not updated AX-12 firmware using Linux.


Too bad, that's exactly what I'm looking for. :(
Ax12-dr offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:58 am

Re: Help with AX12 linux firmware flash

Post by William Wade » Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:07 am

Post by William Wade
Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:07 am

I guess I could buy a fitpc-2 or fitpc-3 and run XP on it with enough power, But the Walkera RC Hélicoptère is a lot bigger and heavier than the roboard thus i see possibly having to go to ax18's or better. Thanks for the help.
I guess I could buy a fitpc-2 or fitpc-3 and run XP on it with enough power, But the Walkera RC Hélicoptère is a lot bigger and heavier than the roboard thus i see possibly having to go to ax18's or better. Thanks for the help.
William Wade offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:04 am


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1
cron