Probably another stupid question ref power

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1

Probably another stupid question ref power

Post by stuuk » Mon May 05, 2008 12:56 am

Post by stuuk
Mon May 05, 2008 12:56 am

I'm finding one of the biggest stumbling blocks to programming RN is the battery!!

As a beginner i'm spending hours playing around with then testing bits of code while RN is is switched on and connected to my pc.

Even in idle but with the servo's powered the battery charge doesn't seem to last very long when you're programming.

I have a spare PC power supply that can deliver 5v at 24amps

Is there any reason why I couldn't use this to power RN through its battery connector with a flying lead while programming and testing?

Thanks

Stu
I'm finding one of the biggest stumbling blocks to programming RN is the battery!!

As a beginner i'm spending hours playing around with then testing bits of code while RN is is switched on and connected to my pc.

Even in idle but with the servo's powered the battery charge doesn't seem to last very long when you're programming.

I have a spare PC power supply that can deliver 5v at 24amps

Is there any reason why I couldn't use this to power RN through its battery connector with a flying lead while programming and testing?

Thanks

Stu
stuuk offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:34 pm

Post by Humanoido » Mon May 05, 2008 5:41 am

Post by Humanoido
Mon May 05, 2008 5:41 am

I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido
I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido
Humanoido offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in the Heart of Asia

Post by stuuk » Mon May 05, 2008 9:12 pm

Post by stuuk
Mon May 05, 2008 9:12 pm

Well it didnt work

I connected the 5v PC supply at the RN battery connector and as soon as I turn on RN the PC power supply shuts down.

Its allegedley rated at 5v 24amps continuous so don't really understand why it turns off. Maybe feeding 5v to a 5v regulator isn't a great idea

Thanks

stu
Well it didnt work

I connected the 5v PC supply at the RN battery connector and as soon as I turn on RN the PC power supply shuts down.

Its allegedley rated at 5v 24amps continuous so don't really understand why it turns off. Maybe feeding 5v to a 5v regulator isn't a great idea

Thanks

stu
stuuk offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:34 pm

Probably another stupid question ref power

Post by viper1 » Thu Nov 27, 2008 2:19 am

Post by viper1
Thu Nov 27, 2008 2:19 am

[quote="Humanoido"]I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido[/quote

What power supply did you use exactly as this seems to be a huge issue with everyone. What amperage is safe. I am using the stock battery and I have access to several dc power supplies. But im afraid of plugging it into my RN1. And can I leave the battery plugged in at the same time or does it depend on the amperage. for fear of over charging or damaging battery and or cpu?
[quote="Humanoido"]I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido[/quote

What power supply did you use exactly as this seems to be a huge issue with everyone. What amperage is safe. I am using the stock battery and I have access to several dc power supplies. But im afraid of plugging it into my RN1. And can I leave the battery plugged in at the same time or does it depend on the amperage. for fear of over charging or damaging battery and or cpu?
viper1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:55 pm

Re: Probably another stupid question ref power

Post by viper1 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:59 am

Post by viper1
Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:59 am

viper1 wrote:
Humanoido wrote:I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido[/quote

What power supply did you use exactly as this seems to be a huge issue with everyone. What amperage is safe. I am using the stock battery and I have access to several dc power supplies. But im afraid of plugging it into my RN1. And can I leave the battery plugged in at the same time or does it depend on the amperage. for fear of over charging or damaging battery and or cpu?


Why hasn't anyone responding to this issue. This is one of the BIGGEST Problems And Discouraging issue with doing your own programming and not having enough juice to even get started................Would someone PLEASE let us know what a could DC Power supply would be to used and do you take the battery out or leave it connected??
viper1 wrote:
Humanoido wrote:I use a setup similar to what you are describing. Along with a battery circuit, I connect a power supply that does not exceed the voltage of the stock battery and then run the two in tandem. Make sure the analog power supply delivers a clean power source, matches the voltage requirements of RN and has enough amps capacity. My programming sessions easily exceed an hour and before, the battery never lasted longer than that. Now, I can program all day.

humanoido[/quote

What power supply did you use exactly as this seems to be a huge issue with everyone. What amperage is safe. I am using the stock battery and I have access to several dc power supplies. But im afraid of plugging it into my RN1. And can I leave the battery plugged in at the same time or does it depend on the amperage. for fear of over charging or damaging battery and or cpu?


Why hasn't anyone responding to this issue. This is one of the BIGGEST Problems And Discouraging issue with doing your own programming and not having enough juice to even get started................Would someone PLEASE let us know what a could DC Power supply would be to used and do you take the battery out or leave it connected??
viper1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:55 pm

Post by Sonic » Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:01 am

Post by Sonic
Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:01 am

Always Remember He's alive
Sonic offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 3:16 am
Location: Portsmouth England UK

power

Post by engineer » Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:28 pm

Post by engineer
Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:28 pm

The answer is to increase the battery rating from 1000mah to get longer run time. then go to any rcbattery site and look for 2/3c Ni-MH cells with at least 1600mah capacity then build a couple packs. Then RN-1 will run 60 % longer, if you program with a power supply or with the charger hooked up you will find thast there's a lot of smoke inside of these servos. I tried to post a tutorial a trossen robotics about how to do this, it's in the ultimate robonova thread.www.trossenrobotics.com under ultimate robonova thread
The answer is to increase the battery rating from 1000mah to get longer run time. then go to any rcbattery site and look for 2/3c Ni-MH cells with at least 1600mah capacity then build a couple packs. Then RN-1 will run 60 % longer, if you program with a power supply or with the charger hooked up you will find thast there's a lot of smoke inside of these servos. I tried to post a tutorial a trossen robotics about how to do this, it's in the ultimate robonova thread.www.trossenrobotics.com under ultimate robonova thread
Last edited by engineer on Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
engineer offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: northern california

Re: power

Post by viper1 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:30 pm

Post by viper1
Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:30 pm

engineer wrote:The answer is to increase the battery rating from 1000mah to get longer run time. then go to any rcbattery site and look for 2/3c Ni-MH cells with at least 1600mah capacity then build a couple packs. Then RN-1 will run 60 % longer, if you program with a power supply or with the charger hooked up you will find thast there's a lot of smoke inside of these servos. I tried to post a tutorial a trossen robotics about how to do this, it's in the ultimate robonova thread.




So where is that Thread????
engineer wrote:The answer is to increase the battery rating from 1000mah to get longer run time. then go to any rcbattery site and look for 2/3c Ni-MH cells with at least 1600mah capacity then build a couple packs. Then RN-1 will run 60 % longer, if you program with a power supply or with the charger hooked up you will find thast there's a lot of smoke inside of these servos. I tried to post a tutorial a trossen robotics about how to do this, it's in the ultimate robonova thread.




So where is that Thread????
viper1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:55 pm

increased power

Post by engineer » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:16 am

Post by engineer
Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:16 am

my editing :oops: read the post above yours
my editing :oops: read the post above yours
engineer offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: northern california


9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1