Gyro in Robonova-1 ?

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
134 postsPage 5 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
134 postsPage 5 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Post by H3dude » Thu May 04, 2006 10:07 pm

Post by H3dude
Thu May 04, 2006 10:07 pm

Ok I used this identical gyro code and I did manage to get all this working this morning. However, the problem I have is once the gyro initializes, the feet/ankle servos get positioned all the way forward like he's downhill skiing.

I tried recalibrating the ankle servos in the set-zero window and that worked ok, but the gyro I'm using (futaba g190) http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p.pgm?&P=PR&I=FUTM0830 doesn't seem to work too well for this- or should I say it works TOO well. It's wayyy too sensitive even when I turn the gain down to 20% and set the Gyrosense values to very low numbers.

I have some GWS gyros coming today so I'll try it with one of those. Hopefully that'll work better.
[/url]
Ok I used this identical gyro code and I did manage to get all this working this morning. However, the problem I have is once the gyro initializes, the feet/ankle servos get positioned all the way forward like he's downhill skiing.

I tried recalibrating the ankle servos in the set-zero window and that worked ok, but the gyro I'm using (futaba g190) http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p.pgm?&P=PR&I=FUTM0830 doesn't seem to work too well for this- or should I say it works TOO well. It's wayyy too sensitive even when I turn the gain down to 20% and set the Gyrosense values to very low numbers.

I have some GWS gyros coming today so I'll try it with one of those. Hopefully that'll work better.
[/url]
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by Pev » Fri May 05, 2006 7:32 am

Post by Pev
Fri May 05, 2006 7:32 am

Interesting about the futaba gyro, unfortunately I don't have one I can try to see what I get. Will be interesting to see what happens when you get your GWS unit.

Good luck

Pev
Interesting about the futaba gyro, unfortunately I don't have one I can try to see what I get. Will be interesting to see what happens when you get your GWS unit.

Good luck

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Head-lock protocol

Post by ANDYKONG » Fri May 05, 2006 9:40 am

Post by ANDYKONG
Fri May 05, 2006 9:40 am

Hi, does anyone have the protocol for the gyro? How to turn on/off the head-lock? What signal should the micro-controller send to the gyro to initialize the setting...? Thanks.
Hi, does anyone have the protocol for the gyro? How to turn on/off the head-lock? What signal should the micro-controller send to the gyro to initialize the setting...? Thanks.
ANDYKONG offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:00 am

Post by H3dude » Fri May 12, 2006 9:46 am

Post by H3dude
Fri May 12, 2006 9:46 am

So I've given up on the Futaba gyro but now I'm officially going nuts trying to get the gws gyro to work. I have it calibrated with the red and green leds, the gain is all the way up, and I have reset the zero positions on the ankle servos to compensate for the downhill skiing look, but it still seems like the servos are not reacting to movement at all.

I can't get anything close to what Pev had in his most recent video where you push him backward and he hops. I'm not getting any shakes either so I know I am doing something wrong. I thought it was my wiring. I looked at the diagrams here http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=220 and I've got it wired properly (according to this.) I have the exact code Pev gave me in the previous post, verbatim, and yet it's not happening. Any ideas? Anything I might be doing wrong?

Any assistance would be much appreciated as I've got 2 friends who are counting on me to get theirs working as well 8O
So I've given up on the Futaba gyro but now I'm officially going nuts trying to get the gws gyro to work. I have it calibrated with the red and green leds, the gain is all the way up, and I have reset the zero positions on the ankle servos to compensate for the downhill skiing look, but it still seems like the servos are not reacting to movement at all.

I can't get anything close to what Pev had in his most recent video where you push him backward and he hops. I'm not getting any shakes either so I know I am doing something wrong. I thought it was my wiring. I looked at the diagrams here http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=220 and I've got it wired properly (according to this.) I have the exact code Pev gave me in the previous post, verbatim, and yet it's not happening. Any ideas? Anything I might be doing wrong?

Any assistance would be much appreciated as I've got 2 friends who are counting on me to get theirs working as well 8O
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by Pev » Mon May 15, 2006 8:38 am

Post by Pev
Mon May 15, 2006 8:38 am

H3dude wrote:So I've given up on the Futaba gyro but now I'm officially going nuts trying to get the gws gyro to work. I have it calibrated with the red and green leds, the gain is all the way up, and I have reset the zero positions on the ankle servos to compensate for the downhill skiing look, but it still seems like the servos are not reacting to movement at all.

I can't get anything close to what Pev had in his most recent video where you push him backward and he hops. I'm not getting any shakes either so I know I am doing something wrong. I thought it was my wiring. I looked at the diagrams here http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=220 and I've got it wired properly (according to this.) I have the exact code Pev gave me in the previous post, verbatim, and yet it's not happening. Any ideas? Anything I might be doing wrong?

Any assistance would be much appreciated as I've got 2 friends who are counting on me to get theirs working as well 8O


H3Dude,

Check the gyro directional stuff as I found I had to mess with this initially to get it going. If you are still having trouble it would be good to see some pictures of the issue and wiring etc plus the code (I know you said it was my code but I would like to check it to make sure I haven't messed up).

Anyway I hope this is all unneeded as I am sure you've fixed it by now.

Pev
H3dude wrote:So I've given up on the Futaba gyro but now I'm officially going nuts trying to get the gws gyro to work. I have it calibrated with the red and green leds, the gain is all the way up, and I have reset the zero positions on the ankle servos to compensate for the downhill skiing look, but it still seems like the servos are not reacting to movement at all.

I can't get anything close to what Pev had in his most recent video where you push him backward and he hops. I'm not getting any shakes either so I know I am doing something wrong. I thought it was my wiring. I looked at the diagrams here http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=220 and I've got it wired properly (according to this.) I have the exact code Pev gave me in the previous post, verbatim, and yet it's not happening. Any ideas? Anything I might be doing wrong?

Any assistance would be much appreciated as I've got 2 friends who are counting on me to get theirs working as well 8O


H3Dude,

Check the gyro directional stuff as I found I had to mess with this initially to get it going. If you are still having trouble it would be good to see some pictures of the issue and wiring etc plus the code (I know you said it was my code but I would like to check it to make sure I haven't messed up).

Anyway I hope this is all unneeded as I am sure you've fixed it by now.

Pev
Carl
-------------------------
www.alt-view.co.uk
Pev offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:00 am
Location: UK

Post by H3dude » Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:37 am

Post by H3dude
Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:37 am

[repost]
Finally got it working, it was a bad gyro the whole time :/ LED's worked but nothing else apparently! I had an other gyro working fine last month, a Futaba model, and tonight I went back to it and it worked. Got me thinking, I got my friend's GWS and it worked great right off the bat. Lots of tweaking to do but it works just like in Pev's video #3.

I must thank all of you for your help on this, I know i've been hounding you all for some time now, but alas who could have guessed it was a bum gyro.

Thanks again guys, I'll post a video tomorrow night.
[repost]
Finally got it working, it was a bad gyro the whole time :/ LED's worked but nothing else apparently! I had an other gyro working fine last month, a Futaba model, and tonight I went back to it and it worked. Got me thinking, I got my friend's GWS and it worked great right off the bat. Lots of tweaking to do but it works just like in Pev's video #3.

I must thank all of you for your help on this, I know i've been hounding you all for some time now, but alas who could have guessed it was a bum gyro.

Thanks again guys, I'll post a video tomorrow night.
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by H3dude » Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:07 am

Post by H3dude
Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:07 am

Hey guys, here's a movie and a couple super-large shots of my gyro setup with some recap notes for the benefit of all.

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/robonova_v_gyro.wmv

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/gyro_gws_02.jpg

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/gyro_gws_03.jpg


Here's all I've compiled on making it work:

Code: I'm using the following code from Pev, dshinsel and the guys, pasted directly above the MAIN block (thanks again guys):

GYROSET G6A, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6D, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0

Wiring IN: the signal cable that comes attached to the gyro gets connected to AD pin 0.

Wiring OUT: Next you need to connect the gyro OUT port to the AD pin 4 (see photos) For this cable I used a standard 6" servo cable and cut the male end and replaced it with a female (you can get molex servo crimps and housings at any hobby/RC shop for under $5)

Mounting: The gyro is mounted on the foam pad onto the left shoulder.

Calibration setup: Make sure gyro is monted flat, is perfectly level and very still, and slowly turn the setup screw with the gyro's mini-tool until the red and green LED's are both on.

Gain adjust: Turn the gain screw to ~50%, halfway point works really well for me.

That should be it. Anyone please let me know if I missed something!!!
Hey guys, here's a movie and a couple super-large shots of my gyro setup with some recap notes for the benefit of all.

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/robonova_v_gyro.wmv

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/gyro_gws_02.jpg

http://www.theoddrobot.com/images/gyro_gws_03.jpg


Here's all I've compiled on making it work:

Code: I'm using the following code from Pev, dshinsel and the guys, pasted directly above the MAIN block (thanks again guys):

GYROSET G6A, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6D, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0

Wiring IN: the signal cable that comes attached to the gyro gets connected to AD pin 0.

Wiring OUT: Next you need to connect the gyro OUT port to the AD pin 4 (see photos) For this cable I used a standard 6" servo cable and cut the male end and replaced it with a female (you can get molex servo crimps and housings at any hobby/RC shop for under $5)

Mounting: The gyro is mounted on the foam pad onto the left shoulder.

Calibration setup: Make sure gyro is monted flat, is perfectly level and very still, and slowly turn the setup screw with the gyro's mini-tool until the red and green LED's are both on.

Gain adjust: Turn the gain screw to ~50%, halfway point works really well for me.

That should be it. Anyone please let me know if I missed something!!!
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by H3dude » Sat Jun 10, 2006 12:48 am

Post by H3dude
Sat Jun 10, 2006 12:48 am

I forgot to mention that the code and gyro position in my last post was only for forward and backward stabilization.


Left-Right Stabilization: If you want to run a gyro for left-right stabilization you would mount the gyro in the same place but rotate it 90 degrees clockwise, and then change the code to reflect the changes:

GYROSET G6A, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1 'gyro 1 affects foot and hip servos
GYROSET G6D, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1 'gyro 1 affects foot and hip servos

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,0,0,0,1 'left or right depends on direction
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,0,0,0,1 'left or right depends on direction

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,0,0, 0, 0, 200 'sensitivity
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,0,0, 0, 0, 200 'sensitivity


THEORETICALLY Using 2 gyros:
Now, if I understand this correctly, if you want to run 2 gyros at the same time, you can mount one on each shoulder. Regarding the numbers simply remember that gyro 1 gets plugged into AD port 0 and 4, gyro 2 gets AD port 1 and 5, etc.. Consequently note that gyro 1 = #1 and gyro 2 = #2 when you are entering values in the GYROSET code...Commented code really helps here:

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip


GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,0,1
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,1

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200

As always, someone holler if i screwed this up. I'm getting ready to test it now and post my results.
I forgot to mention that the code and gyro position in my last post was only for forward and backward stabilization.


Left-Right Stabilization: If you want to run a gyro for left-right stabilization you would mount the gyro in the same place but rotate it 90 degrees clockwise, and then change the code to reflect the changes:

GYROSET G6A, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1 'gyro 1 affects foot and hip servos
GYROSET G6D, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1 'gyro 1 affects foot and hip servos

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,0,0,0,1 'left or right depends on direction
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,0,0,0,1 'left or right depends on direction

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,0,0, 0, 0, 200 'sensitivity
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,0,0, 0, 0, 200 'sensitivity


THEORETICALLY Using 2 gyros:
Now, if I understand this correctly, if you want to run 2 gyros at the same time, you can mount one on each shoulder. Regarding the numbers simply remember that gyro 1 gets plugged into AD port 0 and 4, gyro 2 gets AD port 1 and 5, etc.. Consequently note that gyro 1 = #1 and gyro 2 = #2 when you are entering values in the GYROSET code...Commented code really helps here:

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip


GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,0,1
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,1

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200

As always, someone holler if i screwed this up. I'm getting ready to test it now and post my results.
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by bauermech » Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:15 am

Post by bauermech
Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:15 am

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,0,1
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,1

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200


Looks pretty good! But remember, the last ones don't have any servos attached... unless you've added them :wink:

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, gyro2=hip, blank

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, gyro2=hip, blank,

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,1,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 200, 0

In regards to the GYRODIR, see what you get w/ this...
GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0

I'm still working on it too, but he should sway w/ the push and compensate rather than leg-lock feet together... let me know what happens... Mine thinks he's on the "Ocean Motion" at Cedar Point sometimes... maybe a little more adjusting :D
GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 0, 2
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, blank, gyro2=hip

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,0,1
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,1

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 0, 200


Looks pretty good! But remember, the last ones don't have any servos attached... unless you've added them :wink:

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, gyro2=hip, blank

GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
'gyro2=foot, gyro1=ankle, gyro1=knee, blank, gyro2=hip, blank,

GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,1,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 200,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 200,200,200, 0, 200, 0

In regards to the GYRODIR, see what you get w/ this...
GYRODIR G6A,1,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0

I'm still working on it too, but he should sway w/ the push and compensate rather than leg-lock feet together... let me know what happens... Mine thinks he's on the "Ocean Motion" at Cedar Point sometimes... maybe a little more adjusting :D
bauermech offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by H3dude » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:47 pm

Post by H3dude
Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:47 pm

Ack good catch on the extra zeros! Thanks :)

ok i've been working on this all night and it works really nicely, check this out (single gyro, arms move to compensate)

GYROSET G6A, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6D, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6B, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6C, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6B,0,0,0,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6C,0,0,0,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6B, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6C, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0


and here's with 2 gyros, left-right and fwd-back balancing

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
GYROSET G6B, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6C, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6B,0,0,0,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6C,0,0,0,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 255,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 255,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6B, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6C, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
Ack good catch on the extra zeros! Thanks :)

ok i've been working on this all night and it works really nicely, check this out (single gyro, arms move to compensate)

GYROSET G6A, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6D, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6B, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6C, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6D,0,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6B,0,0,0,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6C,0,0,0,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 0,200,200, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6B, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6C, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0


and here's with 2 gyros, left-right and fwd-back balancing

GYROSET G6A, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
GYROSET G6D, 2, 1, 1, 0, 2, 0
GYROSET G6B, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSET G6C, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0

GYRODIR G6A,0,0,1,0,1,0
GYRODIR G6D,1,0,1,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6B,0,0,0,0,0,0
GYRODIR G6C,0,0,0,0,0,0

GYROSENSE G6A, 255,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6D, 255,200,200, 0, 200, 0
GYROSENSE G6B, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
GYROSENSE G6C, 255,0,0, 0, 0, 0
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by Joerg » Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:58 am

Post by Joerg
Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:58 am

Your video looks very cool.

Just a question, will the gyro (single gyro) stabilize the walk of the Robonova. We have made some extensions (cam and LCD) so the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.

THX and
Best Regards,
Joerg
Your video looks very cool.

Just a question, will the gyro (single gyro) stabilize the walk of the Robonova. We have made some extensions (cam and LCD) so the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.

THX and
Best Regards,
Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Post by bauermech » Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:30 pm

Post by bauermech
Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:30 pm

the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.


My RN-1's not really an "RN-1" anymore - w/ all the mods, he's a little rear-heavy. But, I find the gyros help counter the awkward mass when he performs a routine (and yes, walking too). It's not a cure-all though. I still had to re-write all the basic routines to compensate for his altered geometry.... still coding in fact 8O Hope he's done by robo-games :D
the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.


My RN-1's not really an "RN-1" anymore - w/ all the mods, he's a little rear-heavy. But, I find the gyros help counter the awkward mass when he performs a routine (and yes, walking too). It's not a cure-all though. I still had to re-write all the basic routines to compensate for his altered geometry.... still coding in fact 8O Hope he's done by robo-games :D
bauermech offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Defiance, Ohio, USA

Post by Joerg » Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:53 pm

Post by Joerg
Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:53 pm

bauermech wrote:But, I find the gyros help counter the awkward mass when he performs a routine (and yes, walking too).

thank you, I will give it a try.

Joerg
bauermech wrote:But, I find the gyros help counter the awkward mass when he performs a routine (and yes, walking too).

thank you, I will give it a try.

Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Post by H3dude » Mon Jun 12, 2006 10:05 pm

Post by H3dude
Mon Jun 12, 2006 10:05 pm

Joerg wrote:Just a question, will the gyro (single gyro) stabilize the walk of the Robonova. We have made some extensions (cam and LCD) so the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.


Yes, but I've found that two gyros work best for the walking.
Joerg wrote:Just a question, will the gyro (single gyro) stabilize the walk of the Robonova. We have made some extensions (cam and LCD) so the mass and the center of gravity are higher than the orginal. The walk is no more stable and I'm searching for a quick solution. If the gyro would stabilize it, would be very good.


Yes, but I've found that two gyros work best for the walking.
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

Post by H3dude » Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:07 am

Post by H3dude
Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:07 am

I just compiled all this info and blogged it on my site, with photos and video here http://www.theoddrobot.com/2006/06/project-how-to-add-gyros-to-your.html

Many thanks to Pev, dshinsel, subpilot, BauerMech, and everyone who helped me figure this out.

I'd like to add some of the code I wrote to the wiki but I don't see to have access.
I just compiled all this info and blogged it on my site, with photos and video here http://www.theoddrobot.com/2006/06/project-how-to-add-gyros-to-your.html

Many thanks to Pev, dshinsel, subpilot, BauerMech, and everyone who helped me figure this out.

I'd like to add some of the code I wrote to the wiki but I don't see to have access.
H3dude offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Redmond, WA

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
134 postsPage 5 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
134 postsPage 5 of 91, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
cron