Need for Sound

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
49 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
49 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4

Post by JavaRN » Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:55 pm

Post by JavaRN
Sun Aug 12, 2007 9:55 pm

There is something wrong with the uploaded program, there is only one line of code!

Thanks again - Charles
There is something wrong with the uploaded program, there is only one line of code!

Thanks again - Charles
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by NovaOne » Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:06 pm

Post by NovaOne
Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:06 pm

I blame windows, sorry....I've uploaded it again.
I blame windows, sorry....I've uploaded it again.
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by NovaOne » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:13 pm

Post by NovaOne
Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:13 pm

I just realized that although the program I uploaded works its not the (test simple) one I meant to post .......:oops: OK I was tired....Its amazing I ever get anything working.:?

The program I uploaded was triggered by my front proximity sensor.
Most of you knew this but were to polite to say anything? I hope I didn't confuse you more Charles. I am really sorry.:(

You will notice this program called the fill buffer routine twice for no reason..... :oops:

I have uploaded the correct one (in the same name to save further confusion) its really boring, just saying "hello" at 3 second intervals.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/NovaOne/Speechtest.zip
I just realized that although the program I uploaded works its not the (test simple) one I meant to post .......:oops: OK I was tired....Its amazing I ever get anything working.:?

The program I uploaded was triggered by my front proximity sensor.
Most of you knew this but were to polite to say anything? I hope I didn't confuse you more Charles. I am really sorry.:(

You will notice this program called the fill buffer routine twice for no reason..... :oops:

I have uploaded the correct one (in the same name to save further confusion) its really boring, just saying "hello" at 3 second intervals.

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/NovaOne/Speechtest.zip
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Sound

Post by JavaRN » Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:36 pm

Post by JavaRN
Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:36 pm

Don't worry I got everything to work THANKS for your contribution to this topic I think that we should post a WIKI or something for all the beginners who like me want to make their robot talk.
Don't worry I got everything to work THANKS for your contribution to this topic I think that we should post a WIKI or something for all the beginners who like me want to make their robot talk.
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by NovaOne » Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:43 pm

Post by NovaOne
Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:43 pm

Excellent :D
Excellent :D
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by NovaOne » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:34 am

Post by NovaOne
Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:34 am

Thanks for being so supportive Charles. I think limor has already linked to this thread from RN Wiki, so we just need summarize.

When I've got time I need to update the I2C routines to include 16bit word reading and writing, then test lots of different I2C devices with them, and post the relevant code....more than one line this time. Unless anyone else out there wants to do it?

Chris
Thanks for being so supportive Charles. I think limor has already linked to this thread from RN Wiki, so we just need summarize.

When I've got time I need to update the I2C routines to include 16bit word reading and writing, then test lots of different I2C devices with them, and post the relevant code....more than one line this time. Unless anyone else out there wants to do it?

Chris
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by JavaRN » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:15 pm

Post by JavaRN
Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:15 pm

I think that by far you are the I2C expert here!
I think that by far you are the I2C expert here!
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by NovaOne » Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:32 pm

Post by NovaOne
Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:32 pm

I suspect a number of the guys here are just keeping quiet.

That reminds me to ask you some questions.. whats your volume like?
What are your plans for RN vocabulary? ie what predefined phases do you have in mind or have you programmed. (I think the voice appears to give RN a personality... :roll: )
Where are you fitting the SP03 module (under the chest plate)?
Is it what you expected?

Chris
I suspect a number of the guys here are just keeping quiet.

That reminds me to ask you some questions.. whats your volume like?
What are your plans for RN vocabulary? ie what predefined phases do you have in mind or have you programmed. (I think the voice appears to give RN a personality... :roll: )
Where are you fitting the SP03 module (under the chest plate)?
Is it what you expected?

Chris
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by JavaRN » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:20 pm

Post by JavaRN
Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:20 pm

whats your volume like?

Well it is low . . . but since I work a lot in my study room where there is quiet all the time then the volume is acceptable

What are your plans for RN vocabulary?

Well I will definitely include some predefined phrases, such as "obstacle left", etc. but I will feed the other phrases through java using bluetooth (well I see how fast this will be!)

Where are you fitting the SP03 module (under the chest plate)?

No, It fits nicely in the back-pack. When I fit it (probably tomorrow or the day after) I will post some photos.

Is it what you expected?

Yes. It is something that I ever wanted my robot to have. Something that I really appreciated is the fact that if you feed in a string containing numbers say "213" the output will be "two hundred and thirteen" that's really cool!

Regarding personality, yes, he looks more of a humaniod now in fact I decided to give him a name at last I called him Kong.

When I fit everything back I will post some photos of my robot with the SP03 installed.

Charles
whats your volume like?

Well it is low . . . but since I work a lot in my study room where there is quiet all the time then the volume is acceptable

What are your plans for RN vocabulary?

Well I will definitely include some predefined phrases, such as "obstacle left", etc. but I will feed the other phrases through java using bluetooth (well I see how fast this will be!)

Where are you fitting the SP03 module (under the chest plate)?

No, It fits nicely in the back-pack. When I fit it (probably tomorrow or the day after) I will post some photos.

Is it what you expected?

Yes. It is something that I ever wanted my robot to have. Something that I really appreciated is the fact that if you feed in a string containing numbers say "213" the output will be "two hundred and thirteen" that's really cool!

Regarding personality, yes, he looks more of a humaniod now in fact I decided to give him a name at last I called him Kong.

When I fit everything back I will post some photos of my robot with the SP03 installed.

Charles
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by NovaOne » Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:14 pm

Post by NovaOne
Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:14 pm

Because of my compass, I have been looking for some mumetal to shield the speaker, with no luck. I have also been told mumetal may not shield the speaker as I was hoping. (The speaker is within 3cm of the compass).

Since there is also a problem with the volume of the SP03, I have decided to use a completely different amplifier and speaker. The only suitable speaker being a ceramic piezo speaker, I needed an amp designed to drive a piezo, ie the type used in PDA's and phones, seem quite loud?

The amplifier I have ordered is the MAX9788 14VP-P,Class G Ceramic Speaker Driver:
http://datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/MAX9788.pdf

This article seems to suggest it (is the cats whiskers and) will be perfect?
http://www.marketwire.com/mw/release.do?id=714166&k=

I'll tell you how I get on.

Chris
Because of my compass, I have been looking for some mumetal to shield the speaker, with no luck. I have also been told mumetal may not shield the speaker as I was hoping. (The speaker is within 3cm of the compass).

Since there is also a problem with the volume of the SP03, I have decided to use a completely different amplifier and speaker. The only suitable speaker being a ceramic piezo speaker, I needed an amp designed to drive a piezo, ie the type used in PDA's and phones, seem quite loud?

The amplifier I have ordered is the MAX9788 14VP-P,Class G Ceramic Speaker Driver:
http://datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/MAX9788.pdf

This article seems to suggest it (is the cats whiskers and) will be perfect?
http://www.marketwire.com/mw/release.do?id=714166&k=

I'll tell you how I get on.

Chris
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by i-Bot » Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:43 am

Post by i-Bot
Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:43 am

Do you have some timing information for the bit bang i2C ? How long does it take ?

I am considering adding another I2C master port into the C3024 code.

NovaOne, I sent you a private mesage on this.
Do you have some timing information for the bit bang i2C ? How long does it take ?

I am considering adding another I2C master port into the C3024 code.

NovaOne, I sent you a private mesage on this.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by NovaOne » Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 am

Post by NovaOne
Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 am

Sorry again for not responding to the private message.

I will give the the timing info. if you can explain how i can measure it?

Chris
Sorry again for not responding to the private message.

I will give the the timing info. if you can explain how i can measure it?

Chris
NovaOne offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 am

Post by i-Bot » Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:04 pm

Post by i-Bot
Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:04 pm

I have just implemented and tested a patch to the C3024 code to add a second i2c master port.

I eventually decided to make the patch as flexible as possible to allow any I2C device to be controlled. This is a little slower than originally planned, but still much faster than bit banging.

I added new I/O ports ( 6 and 7) for the BYTEIN and BYTEOUT commands to give an I2C control/status and data transfer register. This allows the new I2C commands to be called from RoboBASIC directly.

I left the C3024 code as unchanged as possible, and retained nearly all the existing code at its previous locations. I added the I2C routines at the end.

I timed the original bit bang code for the SP03 from NovaOne given above, and it takes about 2 seconds for just the I2C part. The new RoboBasic program with the new i2c instructions takes about 35 milliseconds for the same code.

I have put the Robobasic code and the C3024 code here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/C3024i2c.zip

The C3024 code needs to be loaded with Roboflash or similar loader.

I have only tested the SP03 code so far, but if anyone wants to try other devices, I can work with them.

The code should handle most devices and includes handling of ACK/NAK on both write and read.
I have just implemented and tested a patch to the C3024 code to add a second i2c master port.

I eventually decided to make the patch as flexible as possible to allow any I2C device to be controlled. This is a little slower than originally planned, but still much faster than bit banging.

I added new I/O ports ( 6 and 7) for the BYTEIN and BYTEOUT commands to give an I2C control/status and data transfer register. This allows the new I2C commands to be called from RoboBASIC directly.

I left the C3024 code as unchanged as possible, and retained nearly all the existing code at its previous locations. I added the I2C routines at the end.

I timed the original bit bang code for the SP03 from NovaOne given above, and it takes about 2 seconds for just the I2C part. The new RoboBasic program with the new i2c instructions takes about 35 milliseconds for the same code.

I have put the Robobasic code and the C3024 code here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/C3024i2c.zip

The C3024 code needs to be loaded with Roboflash or similar loader.

I have only tested the SP03 code so far, but if anyone wants to try other devices, I can work with them.

The code should handle most devices and includes handling of ACK/NAK on both write and read.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

Post by JavaRN » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:55 am

Post by JavaRN
Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:55 am

Excellent work, I will find time during this week to try this code. But I have three newbie questions:

1. From where can I download RoboFlash?
2. My SP03 is connected to ports 15 (data) and 16 (control), do the virtual ports 5 and 6 map to these ports or do I have to connect the data and control to other pins?
3. Somewhere in this forum there is another upgrade for LCD communication, does this patch also contain that upgrade?

Charles
Excellent work, I will find time during this week to try this code. But I have three newbie questions:

1. From where can I download RoboFlash?
2. My SP03 is connected to ports 15 (data) and 16 (control), do the virtual ports 5 and 6 map to these ports or do I have to connect the data and control to other pins?
3. Somewhere in this forum there is another upgrade for LCD communication, does this patch also contain that upgrade?

Charles
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by i-Bot » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:15 am

Post by i-Bot
Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:15 am

I have put Roboflash here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/roboflash.zip

Ignore the other roboflash related zip files in my file area, they are the c# source, and I have some problems in file management and cleanup in my file area.

Roboflash erases the standard C3024 image, and loads the new code via the C3024 loader. If you need to replace with the original it is here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/payload2.5.bin

We have been replacing C3024 code for over 6 months, and despite a few early scares, we have not had any problems. Obviously Hitec will not support the C3024 with patched code.

The code is fixed to use the PWM0 for SDA and the PWM1 for SCL. These ports are not often used, and have a 5V supply to them. I could change the ports, but would rather avoid too many specials.

For the LCD, the I2C code I posted still has the LCD at 4800 bps. I can do you a 9600 version this evening if you want.

Just a note on the timing. The SP03 code from NovaOne, does not have the C3024 motion engine turned on, since no motors are enabled. This does make a significant difference to timings, since the motion engine takes about 75% of the processor when enabled. With the motion engine enabled the original NovaOne code takes over 5 seconds, and the new code about 120 millisec.
I have put Roboflash here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/roboflash.zip

Ignore the other roboflash related zip files in my file area, they are the c# source, and I have some problems in file management and cleanup in my file area.

Roboflash erases the standard C3024 image, and loads the new code via the C3024 loader. If you need to replace with the original it is here:

http://robosavvy.com/Builders/i-Bot/payload2.5.bin

We have been replacing C3024 code for over 6 months, and despite a few early scares, we have not had any problems. Obviously Hitec will not support the C3024 with patched code.

The code is fixed to use the PWM0 for SDA and the PWM1 for SCL. These ports are not often used, and have a 5V supply to them. I could change the ports, but would rather avoid too many specials.

For the LCD, the I2C code I posted still has the LCD at 4800 bps. I can do you a 9600 version this evening if you want.

Just a note on the timing. The SP03 code from NovaOne, does not have the C3024 motion engine turned on, since no motors are enabled. This does make a significant difference to timings, since the motion engine takes about 75% of the processor when enabled. With the motion engine enabled the original NovaOne code takes over 5 seconds, and the new code about 120 millisec.
i-Bot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1142
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:00 am

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
49 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
49 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
cron