2000mah Lith Poly Battery

Hitec robotics including ROBONOVA humanoid, HSR-8498HB servos, MR C-3024 Controllers and RoboBasic
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

2000mah Lith Poly Battery

Post by subpilot » Thu Mar 09, 2006 6:56 pm

Post by subpilot
Thu Mar 09, 2006 6:56 pm

I just got my 2000mah 3cell LithPoly battery and DC/DC converter breadboarded. The battery pack is rated 11.1V but actually puts out 12.5V. I am using an International Rectifier iP1203 Buck converter to regulate the output down to 6.5V. (I can tweak it up to 7.5V if I want more torque)
The converter can handle 12A continuous so I have plenty of juice. The pack/converter puts out about 3.5x the power of the NiMh pack and weighs about the same. It just fits in the internal cavity with no room to spare. (there's actually enough room to shoehorn in a 4th cell but my converter couldn't handle the voltage.)
I have a Ti bq2060 Gas Gauge IC for monitoring the cell voltages and will integrate that data into my control scheme.
I'm running out of space to mount everything. HiTech needs to make a RoboNova2 that is twice the size. :wink:
I just got my 2000mah 3cell LithPoly battery and DC/DC converter breadboarded. The battery pack is rated 11.1V but actually puts out 12.5V. I am using an International Rectifier iP1203 Buck converter to regulate the output down to 6.5V. (I can tweak it up to 7.5V if I want more torque)
The converter can handle 12A continuous so I have plenty of juice. The pack/converter puts out about 3.5x the power of the NiMh pack and weighs about the same. It just fits in the internal cavity with no room to spare. (there's actually enough room to shoehorn in a 4th cell but my converter couldn't handle the voltage.)
I have a Ti bq2060 Gas Gauge IC for monitoring the cell voltages and will integrate that data into my control scheme.
I'm running out of space to mount everything. HiTech needs to make a RoboNova2 that is twice the size. :wink:
subpilot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA

Post by skeeler » Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:30 pm

Post by skeeler
Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:30 pm

What brand of LiPo pack is that? And where did you get it?
What brand of LiPo pack is that? And where did you get it?
\include{WittySignature}
skeeler offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Baltimore-Washington Corridor, USA

Post by subpilot » Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:18 pm

Post by subpilot
Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:18 pm

http://www.amondotech.com/index.asp?Pag ... ProdID=520

I had a demo board for the iP1203. You can get them from Digikey but they (the demo board) are expensive $225. You could gp with the 7.4V pack and just drop the voltage with a linear reg or even a couple of diodes but you'd lose some power.
You could fit two of the 850mAh 7.4V packs in parallel and still have a bit of room up top for a head servo or?
http://www.amondotech.com/index.asp?Pag ... ProdID=520

I had a demo board for the iP1203. You can get them from Digikey but they (the demo board) are expensive $225. You could gp with the 7.4V pack and just drop the voltage with a linear reg or even a couple of diodes but you'd lose some power.
You could fit two of the 850mAh 7.4V packs in parallel and still have a bit of room up top for a head servo or?
subpilot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA

Post by RubikCube » Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:10 pm

Post by RubikCube
Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:10 pm

Subpilot,

If I want to make my own battery for ROBONOVA what is the spec of the power connector? I'm having a hard time looking for the correct connector that will fit the controller board.

Thanks
Subpilot,

If I want to make my own battery for ROBONOVA what is the spec of the power connector? I'm having a hard time looking for the correct connector that will fit the controller board.

Thanks
RubikCube offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:00 am

Post by subpilot » Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:31 pm

Post by subpilot
Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:31 pm

The power connectors are made by AMP/Tyco and are in their Economy Power line.
The connector P/N is 1-1123722-2 and the pins are 1318912-1. Digikey has them. conn= A30501 pins= A30499.
The power connectors are made by AMP/Tyco and are in their Economy Power line.
The connector P/N is 1-1123722-2 and the pins are 1318912-1. Digikey has them. conn= A30501 pins= A30499.
subpilot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA

Post by RubikCube » Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:06 pm

Post by RubikCube
Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:06 pm

Subpilot,

Thanks for the information. My robonova did not came with a charger, do you know what is the difference between the charger that robonova came with and an AC-DC adapater at 6.0 V 1000mah rating. Can I use a regular AC-DC converter as a charger?

Thanks again.
Subpilot,

Thanks for the information. My robonova did not came with a charger, do you know what is the difference between the charger that robonova came with and an AC-DC adapater at 6.0 V 1000mah rating. Can I use a regular AC-DC converter as a charger?

Thanks again.
RubikCube offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:00 am

Post by subpilot » Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:09 am

Post by subpilot
Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:09 am

No, you have to have a dedicated NiMh charger for a five cell pack. You risk ruining your battery pack without a proper charger.
No, you have to have a dedicated NiMh charger for a five cell pack. You risk ruining your battery pack without a proper charger.
subpilot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca,USA


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1
cron