Kondo is born in Italy I NEED HELP

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

Kondo is born in Italy I NEED HELP

Post by ninja » Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:54 pm

Post by ninja
Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:54 pm

Kondo humanoid robot it's WONDERFUL!!! It's real a little man.

But I have a big problem...

I tried to upload the sample motion that I download in Robosavvy site.
(Thank you Limor for fantastic web site ;-))

The result was that Kondo started trembling frantically, as it does when you move the Hear2Heart slider quickly, changing abruptly from a degree
value to a very different one.
Can you help me understand how it can be and how I can solve this?

I wont see my little man move fist steps

HELP MEEE!!!!
Thank you in advance
Ninja from Italy
Kondo humanoid robot it's WONDERFUL!!! It's real a little man.

But I have a big problem...

I tried to upload the sample motion that I download in Robosavvy site.
(Thank you Limor for fantastic web site ;-))

The result was that Kondo started trembling frantically, as it does when you move the Hear2Heart slider quickly, changing abruptly from a degree
value to a very different one.
Can you help me understand how it can be and how I can solve this?

I wont see my little man move fist steps

HELP MEEE!!!!
Thank you in advance
Ninja from Italy
ninja offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:00 am

Post by limor » Tue Oct 25, 2005 1:28 pm

Post by limor
Tue Oct 25, 2005 1:28 pm

Hello and welcome to the elite group of KHR-1 owners!

I would go through the following steps:

1) make sure that all servos work when controled with the Heart2Heart sliders and that the initial position gets your robot standing stable.

2) create some motion sequence of a few poses, save them to memory location 0, make sure they work. switch on the robot and press the little button on the rcb-1 board for 2 seconds to see that motion 0 is executed.

3) save this motion to a file. read the file into the majinga simulator, see that it does something similar. This would give evidence that your servos are wired correctly to the rcb-1. make some modification in the simulator motions, save into a file and read this file back into Heart2Heart..

If all this works then the downloadable gaits should work aswell
:!:
Hello and welcome to the elite group of KHR-1 owners!

I would go through the following steps:

1) make sure that all servos work when controled with the Heart2Heart sliders and that the initial position gets your robot standing stable.

2) create some motion sequence of a few poses, save them to memory location 0, make sure they work. switch on the robot and press the little button on the rcb-1 board for 2 seconds to see that motion 0 is executed.

3) save this motion to a file. read the file into the majinga simulator, see that it does something similar. This would give evidence that your servos are wired correctly to the rcb-1. make some modification in the simulator motions, save into a file and read this file back into Heart2Heart..

If all this works then the downloadable gaits should work aswell
:!:
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Problem unsolved

Post by ninja » Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:59 am

Post by ninja
Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:59 am

Dear Limor.
I made all the trials you suggested, yet the problem persists, causing Kondo vibrating/shivering whenever it moves and whatever file I upload on it.

As far as I see, the problem could be due to the 0-7 speed servo parameter: if I set the movement at a low value, that is 6 or 7, Kondo jerks but with lessened vibrations; the same movement set to servo speed 2 or 3 makes Kondo lose control.

I tried the .csv files: in these cases Kondo executes all movements properly but all motions are accompanied by strong vibrations on all servos, especially on the arms that vibrate free, unlikely the legs that have– I think - more weight to sustain.
The only file that seems to work better – but not properly - is the
lateral walk .csv file I found in the provided CD, whereas the other sample .csv on the same CD, make Kondo vibrate thoroughly from head to feet.

I do not understand why it is so: the .csv files seem all the same and, as to the assemblage, I am definitely sure I assembled Kondo so perfectly that, without having required any trim adjustment, it slowly
goes to its T-shape position when switched on, reaching then a textbook home position (identical to that of manual).

Please provide me with a solution to this problem
Thank you
Dear Limor.
I made all the trials you suggested, yet the problem persists, causing Kondo vibrating/shivering whenever it moves and whatever file I upload on it.

As far as I see, the problem could be due to the 0-7 speed servo parameter: if I set the movement at a low value, that is 6 or 7, Kondo jerks but with lessened vibrations; the same movement set to servo speed 2 or 3 makes Kondo lose control.

I tried the .csv files: in these cases Kondo executes all movements properly but all motions are accompanied by strong vibrations on all servos, especially on the arms that vibrate free, unlikely the legs that have– I think - more weight to sustain.
The only file that seems to work better – but not properly - is the
lateral walk .csv file I found in the provided CD, whereas the other sample .csv on the same CD, make Kondo vibrate thoroughly from head to feet.

I do not understand why it is so: the .csv files seem all the same and, as to the assemblage, I am definitely sure I assembled Kondo so perfectly that, without having required any trim adjustment, it slowly
goes to its T-shape position when switched on, reaching then a textbook home position (identical to that of manual).

Please provide me with a solution to this problem
Thank you
Last edited by ninja on Thu Oct 27, 2005 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ninja offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:00 am

Post by ninja » Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:24 am

Post by ninja
Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:24 am

Hello again...

I had a look at the servo manager software.
I saw the software allows you to set a lot of parameters. Could this software and the relevant paramenter setting be the solution to my "trembling" problems, although It refers to 2346 , whereas I have KRS786ICS red version?

I need a special cable to use it? Or there is a way to use it without a cable,using the heart2heart interface?

Thank you for your help,
bye
Hello again...

I had a look at the servo manager software.
I saw the software allows you to set a lot of parameters. Could this software and the relevant paramenter setting be the solution to my "trembling" problems, although It refers to 2346 , whereas I have KRS786ICS red version?

I need a special cable to use it? Or there is a way to use it without a cable,using the heart2heart interface?

Thank you for your help,
bye
ninja offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:00 am

Post by se7en » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:56 pm

Post by se7en
Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:56 pm

Hi ninja,
Have a look at this topic I started and look at the video I posted. Is this what your robot does?

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=69
Hi ninja,
Have a look at this topic I started and look at the video I posted. Is this what your robot does?

http://robosavvy.com/modules.php?name=F ... topic&t=69
se7en offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:00 am

Your advice is most precious.

Post by ninja » Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:13 am

Post by ninja
Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:13 am

Hi! se7en,

It it really a pleasure to receive your post because I wanted to drop you a message, as you are the first who came up against the "flapping" problem and I was willing to ask you a few details. Have you solved the problem once for all with the solution you described?

Now I am waiting for the famous small cable to be sent to me from Japan, the one required to change the servo settings through the servomanager sw.

In this respect, I would be definitely thankful if you could give me some advice. For instance, how can I connect the double-end cable? The instructions I found are in Japanese only.

Do you reccomend changing all servo settings or only the arm servos?

As far as I understand, to solve the problem I have to vay the DAMPENING parameter in the servomanagere window. Did you set it to 1 or 2? There are other parameters you would recommend me to adjust?

My Kondo, unlike yours - the one I see in the video - starts flapping when goes from the initial - let us say "T-position" to the home position. This posture chance triggers strong vibrations to all robot servos, especially in the arms.

Thanks a lot for the help you will be willing to give me. Your advice is most precious.

Very kind regards,
Ninja
Hi! se7en,

It it really a pleasure to receive your post because I wanted to drop you a message, as you are the first who came up against the "flapping" problem and I was willing to ask you a few details. Have you solved the problem once for all with the solution you described?

Now I am waiting for the famous small cable to be sent to me from Japan, the one required to change the servo settings through the servomanager sw.

In this respect, I would be definitely thankful if you could give me some advice. For instance, how can I connect the double-end cable? The instructions I found are in Japanese only.

Do you reccomend changing all servo settings or only the arm servos?

As far as I understand, to solve the problem I have to vay the DAMPENING parameter in the servomanagere window. Did you set it to 1 or 2? There are other parameters you would recommend me to adjust?

My Kondo, unlike yours - the one I see in the video - starts flapping when goes from the initial - let us say "T-position" to the home position. This posture chance triggers strong vibrations to all robot servos, especially in the arms.

Thanks a lot for the help you will be willing to give me. Your advice is most precious.

Very kind regards,
Ninja
ninja offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:00 am

Post by se7en » Sun Nov 06, 2005 5:01 pm

Post by se7en
Sun Nov 06, 2005 5:01 pm

Hello Ninja,
I set the dampening on all arm and shoulder servos to 1. This solved the problem shown in my video. The solution worked very well. I experimented with the settings for "deadband" and "punch" but saw no effect. do not let the vibrations persist; my shoulder servos developed extra backlash. My robot would start the flapping as a result of posture changes also, but the way i show it in the video was the easiest way to demonstrate. Now my robot functions very well. He is not as smooth as I would like. He jitters slighty as he moves, and i can't make it stop, but it is not really a big deal.

You need to supply power to the servo to adjust it. I bared the wires on the cable and soldered a connection to a 5V adapter I had lying around. This worked very well and the software is easy to use. first you hook up the cables, then lauch the software. Next press the "read" button to see the current settings. Then change the setting and press the "program" button.

I hope this helps.
Hello Ninja,
I set the dampening on all arm and shoulder servos to 1. This solved the problem shown in my video. The solution worked very well. I experimented with the settings for "deadband" and "punch" but saw no effect. do not let the vibrations persist; my shoulder servos developed extra backlash. My robot would start the flapping as a result of posture changes also, but the way i show it in the video was the easiest way to demonstrate. Now my robot functions very well. He is not as smooth as I would like. He jitters slighty as he moves, and i can't make it stop, but it is not really a big deal.

You need to supply power to the servo to adjust it. I bared the wires on the cable and soldered a connection to a 5V adapter I had lying around. This worked very well and the software is easy to use. first you hook up the cables, then lauch the software. Next press the "read" button to see the current settings. Then change the setting and press the "program" button.

I hope this helps.
se7en offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:00 am


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1