He Flaps like a Bird: Destructive Resonation in Robot's Arms

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
53 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
53 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4

Post by ryann2k1 » Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:21 am

Post by ryann2k1
Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:21 am

Hi noDNA,
Thanks for your information.
That is what I really need. I have upload the same question on the website a couple weeks ago but no one replies.
Thanks again noDNA,

Cheers,

ryann2k1
Hi noDNA,
Thanks for your information.
That is what I really need. I have upload the same question on the website a couple weeks ago but no one replies.
Thanks again noDNA,

Cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ryann2k1 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:23 pm

Post by ryann2k1
Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:23 pm

noDNA wrote:Yes, I tried to understand the procedure too but got stuck with other things when it became not so easy to imitate with something I have here in my drawers.

The Servo Cable is a three wire cable. It has an Y split into two cable ends, with identical 3 Futaba cables and female connectors at the end, white,red,black color coded as usual.

One of the Y split cables goes into a servo port. I did cut the white wire of this cable because I did not want any servo signal to reach or come from the RCB-1 board and interfere with my servo programming. Just to make sure.

The other Y-split connects to the servo. As it gets now GND and +6V through the Y split from the RCB-1 board the only cable left to communicate with the PC is the white one (and maybe some triggered GND, but this is only a wild guess)

I know about serial and USB but I did not dig my head into one wire protocols. That is why I better did other things and am still purchasing the ICS Servo cable for me and my customers here in Germany.
regards and here are some photos
noDNA
Image
Image
Image


Hi noDNA,

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... c&start=15

The pictures for servo cable configuration in the thread above do not appear anymore. Wherelse where I can see the configuration?
we just get our order from Kondo, but the servo cable is not included. :(
Thank you.

cheers,

ryann2k1
noDNA wrote:Yes, I tried to understand the procedure too but got stuck with other things when it became not so easy to imitate with something I have here in my drawers.

The Servo Cable is a three wire cable. It has an Y split into two cable ends, with identical 3 Futaba cables and female connectors at the end, white,red,black color coded as usual.

One of the Y split cables goes into a servo port. I did cut the white wire of this cable because I did not want any servo signal to reach or come from the RCB-1 board and interfere with my servo programming. Just to make sure.

The other Y-split connects to the servo. As it gets now GND and +6V through the Y split from the RCB-1 board the only cable left to communicate with the PC is the white one (and maybe some triggered GND, but this is only a wild guess)

I know about serial and USB but I did not dig my head into one wire protocols. That is why I better did other things and am still purchasing the ICS Servo cable for me and my customers here in Germany.
regards and here are some photos
noDNA
Image
Image
Image


Hi noDNA,

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... c&start=15

The pictures for servo cable configuration in the thread above do not appear anymore. Wherelse where I can see the configuration?
we just get our order from Kondo, but the servo cable is not included. :(
Thank you.

cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by noDNA » Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:07 pm

Post by noDNA
Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:07 pm

moved to another server, guess all pictures in this forum posted by me are gone, also my beloved custom biped YDNA-1.

Here is a new link now:
Image
Image
Image

I now notice the images are not as good as they could be. Tell me what you need and I send you a better one.

Personally I did not continue investigating about the possibility to rebuild this cable because I still have a working one...lucky I am
Also my KHR- has now 2346 servos with 20kg/cm torque and is like Schwarzenegger on adrenaline :-)

noDNA
moved to another server, guess all pictures in this forum posted by me are gone, also my beloved custom biped YDNA-1.

Here is a new link now:
Image
Image
Image

I now notice the images are not as good as they could be. Tell me what you need and I send you a better one.

Personally I did not continue investigating about the possibility to rebuild this cable because I still have a working one...lucky I am
Also my KHR- has now 2346 servos with 20kg/cm torque and is like Schwarzenegger on adrenaline :-)

noDNA
noDNA offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:00 am

Post by ryann2k1 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:02 am

Post by ryann2k1
Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:02 am

Thanks a lot noDNA. do you have a better documentation on how to set up the gyro... My japanese is really worst...I am worried i will break my gyro.
Good luck with you "Schwarzenegger".

Cheers,

ryann2k1
Thanks a lot noDNA. do you have a better documentation on how to set up the gyro... My japanese is really worst...I am worried i will break my gyro.
Good luck with you "Schwarzenegger".

Cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by noDNA » Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:00 am

Post by noDNA
Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:00 am

Ryann2k1,
see page two of this thread, there is a short instruction.

Also refer to ther Gyro thread which is a better location to collect information about Gyro than this "flapping bird" thread.
http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40&start=15

If you have any further specific question I am happy to answer.
I watch the gyro topic too so you can post the question there,

good luck
noDNA
Ryann2k1,
see page two of this thread, there is a short instruction.

Also refer to ther Gyro thread which is a better location to collect information about Gyro than this "flapping bird" thread.
http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=40&start=15

If you have any further specific question I am happy to answer.
I watch the gyro topic too so you can post the question there,

good luck
noDNA
noDNA offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:00 am

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:10 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:10 pm

ryann2k1 wrote:we just get our order from Kondo, but the servo cable is not included. :(
Thank you.

cheers,

ryann2k1

Perhaps I'm missing something here, so please excuse me if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

If you just received your order from Kondo, then you probably have a KHR-2HV or a KHR-1HV since the original KHR-1 is obsolete.

For any of the KHR based robots that use the RCB3 controller (KHR-1HV, KHR-2HV, AT01, PF01), the special servo cable is not required. The servo settings can be modified directly using H2H3 and the RCB3 (or RCB3J) controller. The procedure is documented starting on page 34 of the English RCB3J manual (the procedure is the same for the RCB3 controller).

It is also possible, and very useful, to modify the settings under program control during motions. This is done with a lot of the soccer motions.

The setup procedure for the gyros is covered starting on page 32 of the same manual.

If, on the other hand, you have one of the original KHR-1 kits with dual RCB1 controllers, then you'll have to go the special cable route.
ryann2k1 wrote:we just get our order from Kondo, but the servo cable is not included. :(
Thank you.

cheers,

ryann2k1

Perhaps I'm missing something here, so please excuse me if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

If you just received your order from Kondo, then you probably have a KHR-2HV or a KHR-1HV since the original KHR-1 is obsolete.

For any of the KHR based robots that use the RCB3 controller (KHR-1HV, KHR-2HV, AT01, PF01), the special servo cable is not required. The servo settings can be modified directly using H2H3 and the RCB3 (or RCB3J) controller. The procedure is documented starting on page 34 of the English RCB3J manual (the procedure is the same for the RCB3 controller).

It is also possible, and very useful, to modify the settings under program control during motions. This is done with a lot of the soccer motions.

The setup procedure for the gyros is covered starting on page 32 of the same manual.

If, on the other hand, you have one of the original KHR-1 kits with dual RCB1 controllers, then you'll have to go the special cable route.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Post by ryann2k1 » Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:32 am

Post by ryann2k1
Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:32 am

Thank you ....
I have my KHR-1 and 2 RCB-1....I need the cable for setting the gyro...

Cheers.

ryann2k1
Thank you ....
I have my KHR-1 and 2 RCB-1....I need the cable for setting the gyro...

Cheers.

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Post by limor » Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by limor
Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:43 pm

picture links are now back online.

Users here are encouraged to upload their pictures to robosavvy.com this ensures the integrity of the forum - http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?opt ... ilemanager
picture links are now back online.

Users here are encouraged to upload their pictures to robosavvy.com this ensures the integrity of the forum - http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?opt ... ilemanager
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Gyro

Post by ryann2k1 » Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:29 pm

Post by ryann2k1
Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:29 pm

Thanks guys.
My gyro is working now, but once I try my robot to walk on a carpet, it keeps falling. something wrong the gaits or the gyro setting, still dont know.
any idea guys?

cheers,

ryann2k1
Thanks guys.
My gyro is working now, but once I try my robot to walk on a carpet, it keeps falling. something wrong the gaits or the gyro setting, still dont know.
any idea guys?

cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Gyro

Post by tempusmaster » Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:30 pm

Post by tempusmaster
Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:30 pm

ryann2k1 wrote:Thanks guys.
My gyro is working now, but once I try my robot to walk on a carpet, it keeps falling. something wrong the gaits or the gyro setting, still dont know.
any idea guys?

cheers,

ryann2k1

Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.
ryann2k1 wrote:Thanks guys.
My gyro is working now, but once I try my robot to walk on a carpet, it keeps falling. something wrong the gaits or the gyro setting, still dont know.
any idea guys?

cheers,

ryann2k1

Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Re: Gyro

Post by ryann2k1 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:06 am

Post by ryann2k1
Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:06 am

[quote="tempusmaster"Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.[/quote]

Yes. I agree with that.
But the walking gaits downloaded from kondo site
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Product ... pport.html
look different on my robot.
There is also some bugs on the H2H application. Im using H2H 3rd version.
it seems I have to refine the gaits.. :(


cheers,
ryann2k1
[quote="tempusmaster"Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.[/quote]

Yes. I agree with that.
But the walking gaits downloaded from kondo site
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Product ... pport.html
look different on my robot.
There is also some bugs on the H2H application. Im using H2H 3rd version.
it seems I have to refine the gaits.. :(


cheers,
ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Gyro

Post by tempusmaster » Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:54 am

Post by tempusmaster
Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:54 am

ryann2k1 wrote:
tempusmaster wrote:Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.


Yes. I agree with that.
But the walking gaits downloaded from kondo site
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Product ... pport.html
look different on my robot.

How are they different?
Can you give an accurate description or upload a video to YouTube?
For a KHR-1 using the RCB-1 controllers those routines should perform almost exactly the same as the videos as long as the Home Position/Trim is setup correctly.
There is also some bugs on the H2H application. Im using H2H 3rd version.

Can you click the 'i' (About) box and let us know what version it says you're running? I think there were four Japanese releases of the original H2H software, and one or two that were translated into English. Some of them did have bugs, of course. :lol:

it seems I have to refine the gaits.. :(

Could be, though if it isn't close to begin with then there is probably some other problem that needs to be fixed.
ryann2k1 wrote:
tempusmaster wrote:Carpet is really, really tough. Even if you use the thin, industrial carpeting, there is still too much instability, though the RoboCup humanoids manage to handle it well enough to get by, as long as they don't move very fast.


Yes. I agree with that.
But the walking gaits downloaded from kondo site
http://www.kondo-robot.com/html/Product ... pport.html
look different on my robot.

How are they different?
Can you give an accurate description or upload a video to YouTube?
For a KHR-1 using the RCB-1 controllers those routines should perform almost exactly the same as the videos as long as the Home Position/Trim is setup correctly.
There is also some bugs on the H2H application. Im using H2H 3rd version.

Can you click the 'i' (About) box and let us know what version it says you're running? I think there were four Japanese releases of the original H2H software, and one or two that were translated into English. Some of them did have bugs, of course. :lol:

it seems I have to refine the gaits.. :(

Could be, though if it isn't close to begin with then there is probably some other problem that needs to be fixed.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

Re: Gyro

Post by ryann2k1 » Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:32 am

Post by ryann2k1
Thu Sep 13, 2007 5:32 am

Hi...
The video link for the robot.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ukpoc-bUnRc

It looks really awkward.. :(
it is really different from the website.

cheers

ryann2k1
Hi...
The video link for the robot.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ukpoc-bUnRc

It looks really awkward.. :(
it is really different from the website.

cheers

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Gyro

Post by tempusmaster » Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:04 am

Post by tempusmaster
Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:04 am

ryann2k1 wrote:Hi...
The video link for the robot.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ukpoc-bUnRc

It looks really awkward.. :(
it is really different from the website.

cheers

ryann2k1

You're right. Very awkward. :(
It's executing the basic motion sequences, but is getting way out of balance.

Here's a few suggestions:

Do you have the gyros installed and operating? If so, then you should turn them off until it can do the canned motions without them. They could be contributing to the wobble and instability.

When I step through your video frame by frame it's not keeping the COG positioned correctly, which usually means the home position (most likely) or setup is off. In general, it's tilting too much and over-compensating (which is why I was wondering if the gyros are turned on), throwing off the COG, and walking in a circle.

Comparing your video to the sample video on a frame by frame basis is helpful to figure out where the setup is off.
ryann2k1 wrote:Hi...
The video link for the robot.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ukpoc-bUnRc

It looks really awkward.. :(
it is really different from the website.

cheers

ryann2k1

You're right. Very awkward. :(
It's executing the basic motion sequences, but is getting way out of balance.

Here's a few suggestions:

Do you have the gyros installed and operating? If so, then you should turn them off until it can do the canned motions without them. They could be contributing to the wobble and instability.

When I step through your video frame by frame it's not keeping the COG positioned correctly, which usually means the home position (most likely) or setup is off. In general, it's tilting too much and over-compensating (which is why I was wondering if the gyros are turned on), throwing off the COG, and walking in a circle.

Comparing your video to the sample video on a frame by frame basis is helpful to figure out where the setup is off.
Latest robot news, information, reviews, hacks, photos, and videos - with special on-site coverage from Japan
http://www.robots-dreams.com
tempusmaster offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:00 am

walking gaits

Post by ryann2k1 » Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by ryann2k1
Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:50 pm

Thank you tempumaster.
by the way, do you mean COG is Center of Gravity?
sorry, a bit confused :(


cheers,

ryann2k1
Thank you tempumaster.
by the way, do you mean COG is Center of Gravity?
sorry, a bit confused :(


cheers,

ryann2k1
ryann2k1 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:00 am

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
53 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
53 postsPage 3 of 41, 2, 3, 4
cron