Gyro and Accelerometer sample motion KHR -3HV

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
10 postsPage 1 of 1
10 postsPage 1 of 1

Gyro and Accelerometer sample motion KHR -3HV

Post by Ausrobo » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:07 am

Post by Ausrobo
Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:07 am

Hi,

I have just ordered both for a KHR-3HV, does anybody have a link to sample motions for either or both?
Hi,

I have just ordered both for a KHR-3HV, does anybody have a link to sample motions for either or both?
Ausrobo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:05 pm

Post by chrisvo » Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:37 pm

Post by chrisvo
Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:37 pm

I've had success mixing in +9 and -9 at the ankle for front/back sway (as instructed in the manual for the gyros -- if you can't read Japanese don't worry I can't either just look at the table on page 7 of that manual for the table of recommended settings, or copy/paste the text into google translate)

Here's some example video showing motions we've done with a modified 3HV (taller by almost 1.5x!) which incorporate gyro:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgR0CE3vdPo
For now we are just using the gyro globally (specified in the RCB-4 settings dialog), instead of per-motion. However, from experience, I do recommend setting up gyro settings per-motion - it lets you specify when, where, and how the gyro corrections are made for each phase of your motion -- sometimes important in motions where you may have intentional swaying (like walking, for example)

I have never had success using the accelerometer in mixing on the Kondo. I wish I could, but the RAS-2 accelerometer is unfiltered and too noisy for this purpose. If someone could suggest a better accelerometer (or a way to filter / smooth them easily) for use with KHR series robots it would be awesome. I would throw it into the microcontroller and run simple kalman filtering in software but I am afraid that the overall delay would be too high.
I've had success mixing in +9 and -9 at the ankle for front/back sway (as instructed in the manual for the gyros -- if you can't read Japanese don't worry I can't either just look at the table on page 7 of that manual for the table of recommended settings, or copy/paste the text into google translate)

Here's some example video showing motions we've done with a modified 3HV (taller by almost 1.5x!) which incorporate gyro:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgR0CE3vdPo
For now we are just using the gyro globally (specified in the RCB-4 settings dialog), instead of per-motion. However, from experience, I do recommend setting up gyro settings per-motion - it lets you specify when, where, and how the gyro corrections are made for each phase of your motion -- sometimes important in motions where you may have intentional swaying (like walking, for example)

I have never had success using the accelerometer in mixing on the Kondo. I wish I could, but the RAS-2 accelerometer is unfiltered and too noisy for this purpose. If someone could suggest a better accelerometer (or a way to filter / smooth them easily) for use with KHR series robots it would be awesome. I would throw it into the microcontroller and run simple kalman filtering in software but I am afraid that the overall delay would be too high.
Last edited by chrisvo on Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
chrisvo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:24 pm

Post by Ausrobo » Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:37 am

Post by Ausrobo
Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:37 am

Chrisvo,

Many thanks for the info and help. Yes my Japanese is non existent, but I have managed to build the 3hv and it is up and walking!

Pity about the accelerometer, still always worth a try.

I have just had a look at your modified 3HV – its great.
What are board are you using for camera control? I can see 2 control boards at the back, are you still using the RCB4?

Cheers,

Peter
Chrisvo,

Many thanks for the info and help. Yes my Japanese is non existent, but I have managed to build the 3hv and it is up and walking!

Pity about the accelerometer, still always worth a try.

I have just had a look at your modified 3HV – its great.
What are board are you using for camera control? I can see 2 control boards at the back, are you still using the RCB4?

Cheers,

Peter
Ausrobo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 10:05 pm

Post by chrisvo » Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:51 am

Post by chrisvo
Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:51 am

I have just had a look at your modified 3HV – its great.
What are board are you using for camera control? I can see 2 control boards at the back, are you still using the RCB4?


The RCB-4, batteries, and some other components are inside the torso. The huge board on the back with the two sub-boards is for the camera system. It's one of these.
I have just had a look at your modified 3HV – its great.
What are board are you using for camera control? I can see 2 control boards at the back, are you still using the RCB4?


The RCB-4, batteries, and some other components are inside the torso. The huge board on the back with the two sub-boards is for the camera system. It's one of these.
chrisvo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:24 pm

Post by taylor » Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:07 am

Post by taylor
Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:07 am

Dear Chrisvo,

Good for you! I got all 3 senors and the remote control. Since I was new to Kondo robot, I still have a lot of problems to get it work properly.

I think there is a sample motion file for RAS-2. Since the file name is in Japanese (HL0041AC###########(RAS-2).xlm), I have trouble to load it into HTH4.

My KHR-3HV sometimes create "ga! la! ga! la!" sound. Is it normal? By the way, can anyone help me on how to added motion in HTH4 (Hello_KHR3)? It seems there is M40 only and I cannot added new one.

Regards,
Dear Chrisvo,

Good for you! I got all 3 senors and the remote control. Since I was new to Kondo robot, I still have a lot of problems to get it work properly.

I think there is a sample motion file for RAS-2. Since the file name is in Japanese (HL0041AC###########(RAS-2).xlm), I have trouble to load it into HTH4.

My KHR-3HV sometimes create "ga! la! ga! la!" sound. Is it normal? By the way, can anyone help me on how to added motion in HTH4 (Hello_KHR3)? It seems there is M40 only and I cannot added new one.

Regards,
taylor offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:09 am

Post by chrisvo » Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:13 pm

Post by chrisvo
Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:13 pm

I think there is a sample motion file for RAS-2


I think those samples just compare the accelerometer values and perform the get up from stomach motion if the robot is on the stomach and the get up from back motion if the robot is on the back.

I was referring to using the accelerometer for static stability - direct mixing of the accelerometer values into the servo positions never worked well for me.

My KHR-3HV sometimes create "ga! la! ga! la!" sound. Is it normal?


Never heard such a sound.

By the way, can anyone help me on how to added motion in HTH4 (Hello_KHR3)? It seems there is M40 only and I cannot added new one.


There are 243200 total bytes available for motion data, and each motion takes up 4864 bytes. Therefore, there is only memory for 50 total motions on the RCB-4. There are 31 example motions included in hth4 (plus 9 examples for wireless) leaving only about 10 slots blank. You just have to choose one of the blank slots, or just overwrite one of the example motions.
I think there is a sample motion file for RAS-2


I think those samples just compare the accelerometer values and perform the get up from stomach motion if the robot is on the stomach and the get up from back motion if the robot is on the back.

I was referring to using the accelerometer for static stability - direct mixing of the accelerometer values into the servo positions never worked well for me.

My KHR-3HV sometimes create "ga! la! ga! la!" sound. Is it normal?


Never heard such a sound.

By the way, can anyone help me on how to added motion in HTH4 (Hello_KHR3)? It seems there is M40 only and I cannot added new one.


There are 243200 total bytes available for motion data, and each motion takes up 4864 bytes. Therefore, there is only memory for 50 total motions on the RCB-4. There are 31 example motions included in hth4 (plus 9 examples for wireless) leaving only about 10 slots blank. You just have to choose one of the blank slots, or just overwrite one of the example motions.
chrisvo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:24 pm

Post by taylor » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:17 am

Post by taylor
Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:17 am

Thank you!!
Thank you!!
taylor offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:09 am

Post by marry31 » Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:40 am

Post by marry31
Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:40 am

Yap i have scientifically judge it that 243200 total bytes are there for motion data with each motion takes up 4864 bytes. I could prove it by and experiment.








-------------------------------------
Keep an eye on 250-265 as well as 250-300 to attain bright future.
:lol:
Yap i have scientifically judge it that 243200 total bytes are there for motion data with each motion takes up 4864 bytes. I could prove it by and experiment.








-------------------------------------
Keep an eye on 250-265 as well as 250-300 to attain bright future.
:lol:
marry31 offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:34 am

Post by Fritzoid » Wed Apr 28, 2010 3:39 pm

Post by Fritzoid
Wed Apr 28, 2010 3:39 pm

marry,

Prove to me that you are human.
marry,

Prove to me that you are human.
Fritzoid offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:00 am

Post by FabinovX » Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:06 pm

Post by FabinovX
Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:06 pm

LOL
the kind of robot you're is not apreciated around here...
LOL
the kind of robot you're is not apreciated around here...
FabinovX offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:12 pm


10 postsPage 1 of 1
10 postsPage 1 of 1