KHR-3 Compatible Servo

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

KHR-3 Compatible Servo

Post by Thex1138 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:21 am

Post by Thex1138
Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:21 am

Just wondering if anyone has tried using, or knows if these servos [list below] are compatible with this kit? I thought perhaps to replace the supplied servos with these tougher ones in some key locations like shoulder/elbow/knee/hip/ankle joints.
KRS-4024S HV
KRS-6003 HV
Or perhaps one of the cheaper ones which support higher KG's

Thoughts?
Just wondering if anyone has tried using, or knows if these servos [list below] are compatible with this kit? I thought perhaps to replace the supplied servos with these tougher ones in some key locations like shoulder/elbow/knee/hip/ankle joints.
KRS-4024S HV
KRS-6003 HV
Or perhaps one of the cheaper ones which support higher KG's

Thoughts?
Thex1138 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:34 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by chrisvo » Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:15 am

Post by chrisvo
Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:15 am

The RCB4 on the 3HV uses ICS 3.0 serial. I do not yet know of any ways (for example, in HeartToHeart4) to tell the RCB-4 to output ICS 2.0 serial. I know for a fact that it does not support PWM signals.

Those servos (KRS-4024S HV and KRS-6003 HV) will support PWM if I recall.

If you are still wondering, when I return to the lab on Monday I can try out one of my KRS-4024 servos on the RCB-4 to see if it works, though I highly doubt it will work.
The RCB4 on the 3HV uses ICS 3.0 serial. I do not yet know of any ways (for example, in HeartToHeart4) to tell the RCB-4 to output ICS 2.0 serial. I know for a fact that it does not support PWM signals.

Those servos (KRS-4024S HV and KRS-6003 HV) will support PWM if I recall.

If you are still wondering, when I return to the lab on Monday I can try out one of my KRS-4024 servos on the RCB-4 to see if it works, though I highly doubt it will work.
chrisvo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:24 pm

Post by Thex1138 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:39 pm

Post by Thex1138
Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:39 pm

chrisvo wrote:The RCB4 on the 3HV uses ICS 3.0 serial. I do not yet know of any ways (for example, in HeartToHeart4) to tell the RCB-4 to output ICS 2.0 serial. I know for a fact that it does not support PWM signals.

Those servos (KRS-4024S HV and KRS-6003 HV) will support PWM if I recall.

If you are still wondering, when I return to the lab on Monday I can try out one of my KRS-4024 servos on the RCB-4 to see if it works, though I highly doubt it will work.


At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?
chrisvo wrote:The RCB4 on the 3HV uses ICS 3.0 serial. I do not yet know of any ways (for example, in HeartToHeart4) to tell the RCB-4 to output ICS 2.0 serial. I know for a fact that it does not support PWM signals.

Those servos (KRS-4024S HV and KRS-6003 HV) will support PWM if I recall.

If you are still wondering, when I return to the lab on Monday I can try out one of my KRS-4024 servos on the RCB-4 to see if it works, though I highly doubt it will work.


At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?
Thex1138 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:34 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by chrisvo » Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:23 am

Post by chrisvo
Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:23 am

At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)
chrisvo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:24 pm

Post by Thex1138 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:28 pm

Post by Thex1138
Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:28 pm

chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?
chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?
Thex1138 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:34 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by veltrop » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:33 am

Post by veltrop
Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:33 am

Thex1138 wrote:
chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?


You won't have to power them separately, just feed the voltage that the servos want to the the roboard, the roboard will forward that same voltage to the servos. If you use HV servos everywhere then all of the needed voltages will be the same and no problem.
Thex1138 wrote:
chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?


You won't have to power them separately, just feed the voltage that the servos want to the the roboard, the roboard will forward that same voltage to the servos. If you use HV servos everywhere then all of the needed voltages will be the same and no problem.
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Thanks

Post by Thex1138 » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am

Post by Thex1138
Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am

veltrop wrote:
Thex1138 wrote:
chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?


You won't have to power them separately, just feed the voltage that the servos want to the the roboard, the roboard will forward that same voltage to the servos. If you use HV servos everywhere then all of the needed voltages will be the same and no problem.

Great Thanks! Sometimes I read where people say they will have to power servos seperately and I thought they meant with a second power supply... I figured it couldn't be like that looking at the circuits of my KHR-3. :D
veltrop wrote:
Thex1138 wrote:
chrisvo wrote:
At first i will have RCB4 but later I will implement RoBoard, would this provide more servo support options?


The RoBoard does do PWM. Most PWM servos will work with it, including Kondo servos (but excluding the Kondo 3HV ICS 3.0 servos). Note that with Kondo HV servos you do have to supply power separately because they use higher voltage than your typical PWM servo (hence the HV)


Hmm that poses a question I am not sure about, how to power servo seperately from the board... ?


You won't have to power them separately, just feed the voltage that the servos want to the the roboard, the roboard will forward that same voltage to the servos. If you use HV servos everywhere then all of the needed voltages will be the same and no problem.

Great Thanks! Sometimes I read where people say they will have to power servos seperately and I thought they meant with a second power supply... I figured it couldn't be like that looking at the circuits of my KHR-3. :D
Thex1138 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:34 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1
cron