3 cell lipo ~13v smoke a 1 hv?

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
20 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
20 postsPage 1 of 21, 2

3 cell lipo ~13v smoke a 1 hv?

Post by zaboomafuu » Fri May 02, 2008 3:08 pm

Post by zaboomafuu
Fri May 02, 2008 3:08 pm

any one have a 3 cell lipo running on the 1hv direct? I know the bioloid can handle it and it comes with a 9.6v batt the 1hv should hold it.... I havent seen manny electronic gizmos that cant handle a volt or 2 over. I just want some input. I heard about people taking out the rcb by hooking it up t a 12v power supply also tho they put out about 13.8v. I dont know I just dont want to fry my lil buddy.
any one have a 3 cell lipo running on the 1hv direct? I know the bioloid can handle it and it comes with a 9.6v batt the 1hv should hold it.... I havent seen manny electronic gizmos that cant handle a volt or 2 over. I just want some input. I heard about people taking out the rcb by hooking it up t a 12v power supply also tho they put out about 13.8v. I dont know I just dont want to fry my lil buddy.
man standing on toilet is high on pot
zaboomafuu offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:00 am
Location: southwest florida

Post by Ray » Tue May 06, 2008 11:19 am

Post by Ray
Tue May 06, 2008 11:19 am

Manoi PF also use same PCB in KHR2HV, It use three 3.7V Li Po batteries and so the total voltage is also 11.1V

I personal use a 11.1V to play my KHR1HV and KHR2HV for 1 year long and found no problem.

You may try 11.1V, however, at your risk, I cannot guarantee it is safe for your robot since I am not the manufacturer.
Manoi PF also use same PCB in KHR2HV, It use three 3.7V Li Po batteries and so the total voltage is also 11.1V

I personal use a 11.1V to play my KHR1HV and KHR2HV for 1 year long and found no problem.

You may try 11.1V, however, at your risk, I cannot guarantee it is safe for your robot since I am not the manufacturer.
Ray offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HK

Post by zaboomafuu » Tue May 06, 2008 1:43 pm

Post by zaboomafuu
Tue May 06, 2008 1:43 pm

thanks Ray that is all I was really looking for was someone with some expriance with lipo batterys I work in a hobby shop so I mess with them all the time in stuff that was made to use them. and I know some of our stuff runs at 9.6v and we put 11.1v lipos in and there fine. so I figured that some thing made to run at 10.8 would be ok aswell. thanks again.
thanks Ray that is all I was really looking for was someone with some expriance with lipo batterys I work in a hobby shop so I mess with them all the time in stuff that was made to use them. and I know some of our stuff runs at 9.6v and we put 11.1v lipos in and there fine. so I figured that some thing made to run at 10.8 would be ok aswell. thanks again.
man standing on toilet is high on pot
zaboomafuu offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:00 am
Location: southwest florida

Post by zaboomafuu » Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:17 am

Post by zaboomafuu
Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:17 am

up date have been running my 1hv on 11.1v for a while now and he is a lil faster and a lil stronger knees do get hot faster but no damage done :D
up date have been running my 1hv on 11.1v for a while now and he is a lil faster and a lil stronger knees do get hot faster but no damage done :D
man standing on toilet is high on pot
zaboomafuu offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:00 am
Location: southwest florida

Post by StuartL » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:58 am

Post by StuartL
Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:58 am

Do note that a fully charged LiPo puts out about 12.6v, not 11.1v. It may or may not make a difference but do be aware of it...
Do note that a fully charged LiPo puts out about 12.6v, not 11.1v. It may or may not make a difference but do be aware of it...
StuartL offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: Thatcham, Berkshire, UK

Post by Zacohk » Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:36 pm

Post by Zacohk
Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:36 pm

I am planning to use a 3 lipos 2200mah to power my KHR-2HV robot (1 pack in each leg and one in the body).
Does anybody have more experience with powering a RCB -3HV controller with Lipos?
Do you know any efficient voltage regulator that can handle the high current rate (2 to 4 A) and keep it stable/under 12 V (in particular when the batteries are frully charged)?
I am planning to use a 3 lipos 2200mah to power my KHR-2HV robot (1 pack in each leg and one in the body).
Does anybody have more experience with powering a RCB -3HV controller with Lipos?
Do you know any efficient voltage regulator that can handle the high current rate (2 to 4 A) and keep it stable/under 12 V (in particular when the batteries are frully charged)?
Zacohk offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:54 am

Post by Meltdown » Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:58 pm

Post by Meltdown
Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:58 pm

Zacohk,

I hope you are talking about splitting one 3 cell 11.1v 2200ma lipo battery into 3 individual cells of 3.7v right?
Then distributing them to different places on the robot, connecting them to form a 11.1v battery again, right?

If not then be warned!
If you don't have the 30kg/cm servos DON'T go there!
The standard KHR leg servos are weak as is.
It's barely enough to power the standard robot configuration.
If you going to use 3 lipo batteries 2200ma it will be much to heavy, your servos will burn out or your gears will strip due to weight.

I have experience with lipos and RCB-3HV controller.
Mine is using it for a year now without any problems
A 3 cell lipo 11.1v will be save to use without voltage regulator if you have the RCB3-HV.
No need for a voltage regulator.
The controller and servos can take more than 12v no problem.
The voltage will drop anyway to 11.1v when under load.
Zacohk,

I hope you are talking about splitting one 3 cell 11.1v 2200ma lipo battery into 3 individual cells of 3.7v right?
Then distributing them to different places on the robot, connecting them to form a 11.1v battery again, right?

If not then be warned!
If you don't have the 30kg/cm servos DON'T go there!
The standard KHR leg servos are weak as is.
It's barely enough to power the standard robot configuration.
If you going to use 3 lipo batteries 2200ma it will be much to heavy, your servos will burn out or your gears will strip due to weight.

I have experience with lipos and RCB-3HV controller.
Mine is using it for a year now without any problems
A 3 cell lipo 11.1v will be save to use without voltage regulator if you have the RCB3-HV.
No need for a voltage regulator.
The controller and servos can take more than 12v no problem.
The voltage will drop anyway to 11.1v when under load.
Meltdown offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Holland

Post by Zacohk » Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:06 pm

Post by Zacohk
Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:06 pm

Yes, I was thinking of 3 x 3.7V lipo cells
You are right concerning the weight and I want the total battery weight to be under 100g.
You gave us a very nice mod explaining how to put the Lipo batteries in the feet:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... sc&start=0

I found a 3800mah 3.7V cell that weight only 33 g :

Single cell Lithium Polymer 3800mAh battery.
Dimensions: 127mm x 44mm x 6mm
Weight: 33 grams
http://www.all-battery.com/3_7volt-3800 ... Celll.aspx

The only convenient position for these long cells would be one along each leg and one on the robot back.
Yes, I was thinking of 3 x 3.7V lipo cells
You are right concerning the weight and I want the total battery weight to be under 100g.
You gave us a very nice mod explaining how to put the Lipo batteries in the feet:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... sc&start=0

I found a 3800mah 3.7V cell that weight only 33 g :

Single cell Lithium Polymer 3800mAh battery.
Dimensions: 127mm x 44mm x 6mm
Weight: 33 grams
http://www.all-battery.com/3_7volt-3800 ... Celll.aspx

The only convenient position for these long cells would be one along each leg and one on the robot back.
Zacohk offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:54 am

Post by billyzelsnack » Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:13 pm

Post by billyzelsnack
Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:13 pm

I find it hard to believe that that cell only weighs 33 grams. I think it is a misprint.

btw. A good place to find a good selection of inexpensive lipos is.. hobbycity.com .
I find it hard to believe that that cell only weighs 33 grams. I think it is a misprint.

btw. A good place to find a good selection of inexpensive lipos is.. hobbycity.com .
billyzelsnack offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:00 am

Post by Meltdown » Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:32 pm

Post by Meltdown
Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:32 pm

Thanks for the compliment Zacohk :D
The reason i had to use a voltage regulator in that mod was that i had to go from 7.4v to 6v because i used the RCB1 6v KHR-1.
Things have changed since then.
Now i use the RCB3-HV with 11.1v lipos.

Yes must be a misprint
33 grams can't be right.
My 1600mHa 3.7v cell weights 40 grams already.
I think this 3800mHa is more like 133 grams.
Thanks for the compliment Zacohk :D
The reason i had to use a voltage regulator in that mod was that i had to go from 7.4v to 6v because i used the RCB1 6v KHR-1.
Things have changed since then.
Now i use the RCB3-HV with 11.1v lipos.

Yes must be a misprint
33 grams can't be right.
My 1600mHa 3.7v cell weights 40 grams already.
I think this 3800mHa is more like 133 grams.
Meltdown offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Holland

Post by rodmanLT » Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:19 pm

Post by rodmanLT
Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:19 pm

Hi all, I'm robotics enthusiast from Lithuania. I got my KHR-1HV just a couple of weeks ago. First thing I did was throwing away heavy and bulky NiMh battery and putting in place 3-cell lipo (820mAh cheap HiModel lipo). My 1HV feels just fine with this mod (at least no smoke for sure). Maybe tomorrow I will post picture or make youtube movie.
Hi all, I'm robotics enthusiast from Lithuania. I got my KHR-1HV just a couple of weeks ago. First thing I did was throwing away heavy and bulky NiMh battery and putting in place 3-cell lipo (820mAh cheap HiModel lipo). My 1HV feels just fine with this mod (at least no smoke for sure). Maybe tomorrow I will post picture or make youtube movie.
rodmanLT offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by rodmanLT » Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:36 pm

Post by rodmanLT
Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:36 pm

rodmanLT offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:09 pm

Post by Ray » Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:19 pm

Post by Ray
Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:19 pm

Japan shop starts selling Li-Po battery set (11.1V) for KHR2

http://www.technologia.co.jp/2_3472.html
Japan shop starts selling Li-Po battery set (11.1V) for KHR2

http://www.technologia.co.jp/2_3472.html
Ray offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:00 am
Location: HK

Curious..

Post by Thex1138 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:56 pm

Post by Thex1138
Sun Jan 03, 2010 12:56 pm

Hey there Rodman.
On your blog you write that you had shorted out a servo by using 12 v instead of 10v
Do you know what caused it, was it using LiPo battery or just some other event?
Did you end up installing a regulator?
Hey there Rodman.
On your blog you write that you had shorted out a servo by using 12 v instead of 10v
Do you know what caused it, was it using LiPo battery or just some other event?
Did you end up installing a regulator?
Thex1138 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:34 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by rodmanLT » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:08 am

Post by rodmanLT
Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:08 am

I was trying to teach my robot to dance, and I forgot to make some pauses in between training lessons :)
So rotor windings of leg servo just burned.
But until now all other servos are ok without any regulator.
I was trying to teach my robot to dance, and I forgot to make some pauses in between training lessons :)
So rotor windings of leg servo just burned.
But until now all other servos are ok without any regulator.
rodmanLT offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:09 pm

Next
Next
20 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
20 postsPage 1 of 21, 2
cron