KRT-2, has anyone used this yet?

KHR-1, KHR-2HV, KHR-3HV, ICS servos, RCB controllers and other Kondo products
5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1

KRT-2, has anyone used this yet?

Post by FrittsLogic » Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:37 pm

Post by FrittsLogic
Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:37 pm

Hi, I recently picked up a KHR-1 along with the KRT-2 handheld xmtr while on a shopping trip in Ahkihabara. I assumed that someone who speaks English would have figured the KRT-2 out by now (no English manual). I'm getting ready to put the KHR-1 together, and need to know if the KRT-2 needs to be installed from the beginning or not, plus anything else that's been learned about it. I also have the krg-2 gyro unit coming. I understand that you have to reverse one of the gyro's. Can this be done without buying the ICS programming kit. (I have the red version servos 756 in the kit. Thanks in advance, Don.
Hi, I recently picked up a KHR-1 along with the KRT-2 handheld xmtr while on a shopping trip in Ahkihabara. I assumed that someone who speaks English would have figured the KRT-2 out by now (no English manual). I'm getting ready to put the KHR-1 together, and need to know if the KRT-2 needs to be installed from the beginning or not, plus anything else that's been learned about it. I also have the krg-2 gyro unit coming. I understand that you have to reverse one of the gyro's. Can this be done without buying the ICS programming kit. (I have the red version servos 756 in the kit. Thanks in advance, Don.
FrittsLogic offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:00 am

Re: KRT-2, has anyone used this yet?

Post by robosavvy » Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:57 pm

Post by robosavvy
Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:57 pm

FrittsLogic wrote:Hi, I recently picked up a KHR-1 along with the KRT-2 handheld xmtr while on a shopping trip in Ahkihabara. I assumed that someone who speaks English would have figured the KRT-2 out by now (no English manual). I'm getting ready to put the KHR-1 together, and need to know if the KRT-2 needs to be installed from the beginning or not, plus anything else that's been learned about it. I also have the krg-2 gyro unit coming. I understand that you have to reverse one of the gyro's. Can this be done without buying the ICS programming kit. (I have the red version servos 756 in the kit. Thanks in advance, Don.


We haven't had a chance of playing with the KRT-2 module yet.
It may be added to our online storecatalog soon.
The KRT-2 looks like a very cool way of controlling KHR1.
You probably dont want to install it before building your KHR-1 first and working out the quirks of serial interface and motion programming.
You can unscrew the transparent plastic cover over the RCB-1 boards later to expose the serial port pins.
Regarding the KRG-2, you may need the ICS-PC cable to reverse a servo if the twin servos you are stabilizing are symetrically oposite. (see documentation page).
(BTW: You probably have Red Version 786 servos (not 756))

Here's a loose translation of it's features:
- Features
・ KRT-2 is a special controller developed only for KHR-1 control and has advantages over analog RC units or PC based control.

- Product specification - Transmitter(KRT-2)
・ 180 key combinations are possible with 13 buttons and 4 mode switches.
・ Transmission at 27MHz, FM which is less noisy than the AM alternative. it is possible to change the transmission frequency (transmission band 01-12). Uses 8 separate channels.
・ The tip of the antena lights up when transmitting.
・ Use eight AA batteries.

- Product specification - Receiver(KRR-2/KRI-1)
・ Changeable receiver frequency to match tramsmitter in addition to a switch for changing the band.
・ It is possible to connect it with either of the supported controller boards RCB-1 and Motion-Processor directly by using the KRI-1 interface board. Receiver outputs serial signal.


Image
FrittsLogic wrote:Hi, I recently picked up a KHR-1 along with the KRT-2 handheld xmtr while on a shopping trip in Ahkihabara. I assumed that someone who speaks English would have figured the KRT-2 out by now (no English manual). I'm getting ready to put the KHR-1 together, and need to know if the KRT-2 needs to be installed from the beginning or not, plus anything else that's been learned about it. I also have the krg-2 gyro unit coming. I understand that you have to reverse one of the gyro's. Can this be done without buying the ICS programming kit. (I have the red version servos 756 in the kit. Thanks in advance, Don.


We haven't had a chance of playing with the KRT-2 module yet.
It may be added to our online storecatalog soon.
The KRT-2 looks like a very cool way of controlling KHR1.
You probably dont want to install it before building your KHR-1 first and working out the quirks of serial interface and motion programming.
You can unscrew the transparent plastic cover over the RCB-1 boards later to expose the serial port pins.
Regarding the KRG-2, you may need the ICS-PC cable to reverse a servo if the twin servos you are stabilizing are symetrically oposite. (see documentation page).
(BTW: You probably have Red Version 786 servos (not 756))

Here's a loose translation of it's features:
- Features
・ KRT-2 is a special controller developed only for KHR-1 control and has advantages over analog RC units or PC based control.

- Product specification - Transmitter(KRT-2)
・ 180 key combinations are possible with 13 buttons and 4 mode switches.
・ Transmission at 27MHz, FM which is less noisy than the AM alternative. it is possible to change the transmission frequency (transmission band 01-12). Uses 8 separate channels.
・ The tip of the antena lights up when transmitting.
・ Use eight AA batteries.

- Product specification - Receiver(KRR-2/KRI-1)
・ Changeable receiver frequency to match tramsmitter in addition to a switch for changing the band.
・ It is possible to connect it with either of the supported controller boards RCB-1 and Motion-Processor directly by using the KRI-1 interface board. Receiver outputs serial signal.


Image
robosavvy offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:00 am

Post by FrittsLogic » Sun Dec 25, 2005 1:08 am

Post by FrittsLogic
Sun Dec 25, 2005 1:08 am

Thanks for the info. A further question about the gyro unit. The docs seem to indicate that using the gyro software to reverse the sensing is also an option rather than reversing one of the servos. Is it really that easy? Sounds like there's no need to get the ICS cable and software if reversing a servo is all I would use it for. Am I understanding this correctly?
Thanks for the info. A further question about the gyro unit. The docs seem to indicate that using the gyro software to reverse the sensing is also an option rather than reversing one of the servos. Is it really that easy? Sounds like there's no need to get the ICS cable and software if reversing a servo is all I would use it for. Am I understanding this correctly?
FrittsLogic offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:00 am

Post by robosavvy » Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:50 pm

Post by robosavvy
Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:50 pm

robosavvy offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:00 am

Nightmare on KRT-2 street (probably somewhere in Tokyo)

Post by noDNA » Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:48 pm

Post by noDNA
Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:48 pm

Hi all,
the KRT-2 is a nightmare without english manual. There seems to be a hidden secret to get it to work at all.
Basically as I understand it is drives some servos directly, you do not have to run a setup software or set the channel from PWM to anything other, but perhaps we need to and nobody tells us?

You can select among different frequency settings for sender and receiver within the 27MHz band. Ok, it is not to difficult to ensure the receiver has the same frequency as the sender. The sender blinks multicolored, cool at least this works. No LED, nothing at the receiver. Saves energy but makes hair grey.

Output of the receiver is (I assume) TTL level RS232 signal.

The label of the receiver box covers 3 further 3pin connectors. Must be a reason why Kondo hides them from KHR-1 roboteers.

There is a smal unit which has to be placed between receiver and RCB-1 board. I assume it is a level shifter, seems to shift down TTL level to PC level.

This small unit has a even smaller print GND and IN and OUT. GND shows you probably the direction of the plugs to be entered. So Black should be placed at the GND side.

IN is what? I guess IN from Receiver. Then OUT would be OUT to RCB-1 board.

Where to plug the OUT in? The manual (I have the japanese pdf version if anybody is interested) shows it goes beneath the RED connector at the left side of the RCB board. Hmm, which board 0 or 1. Don't know guess 0.

First of test 1 to 1000. Nothing happens.
Ah, I remember you need to select low speed if you do wireless control with the old RCB Commander. Ok, no problem, switch on the left switch next to the power switch of board 0. Nothing again.

Here start all iterations and combinations of switches and cables, I never got a reaction from any servo.

If anybody has a clue. let me know. There is this weird document about the pinswap in a LINK cable. Perhaps this is related to this but I guess the document was released before the KRT-2 was on the market.

Perhaps the RCB board needs a firmware update to communicate with the receiver?

I have a similar problem with the sensor board which does not react at all whatever I try...

Useless to say it is the latest revision of KHR-1, RCB and servos I have, Low voltage version of course,

regards
noDNA
Hi all,
the KRT-2 is a nightmare without english manual. There seems to be a hidden secret to get it to work at all.
Basically as I understand it is drives some servos directly, you do not have to run a setup software or set the channel from PWM to anything other, but perhaps we need to and nobody tells us?

You can select among different frequency settings for sender and receiver within the 27MHz band. Ok, it is not to difficult to ensure the receiver has the same frequency as the sender. The sender blinks multicolored, cool at least this works. No LED, nothing at the receiver. Saves energy but makes hair grey.

Output of the receiver is (I assume) TTL level RS232 signal.

The label of the receiver box covers 3 further 3pin connectors. Must be a reason why Kondo hides them from KHR-1 roboteers.

There is a smal unit which has to be placed between receiver and RCB-1 board. I assume it is a level shifter, seems to shift down TTL level to PC level.

This small unit has a even smaller print GND and IN and OUT. GND shows you probably the direction of the plugs to be entered. So Black should be placed at the GND side.

IN is what? I guess IN from Receiver. Then OUT would be OUT to RCB-1 board.

Where to plug the OUT in? The manual (I have the japanese pdf version if anybody is interested) shows it goes beneath the RED connector at the left side of the RCB board. Hmm, which board 0 or 1. Don't know guess 0.

First of test 1 to 1000. Nothing happens.
Ah, I remember you need to select low speed if you do wireless control with the old RCB Commander. Ok, no problem, switch on the left switch next to the power switch of board 0. Nothing again.

Here start all iterations and combinations of switches and cables, I never got a reaction from any servo.

If anybody has a clue. let me know. There is this weird document about the pinswap in a LINK cable. Perhaps this is related to this but I guess the document was released before the KRT-2 was on the market.

Perhaps the RCB board needs a firmware update to communicate with the receiver?

I have a similar problem with the sensor board which does not react at all whatever I try...

Useless to say it is the latest revision of KHR-1, RCB and servos I have, Low voltage version of course,

regards
noDNA
noDNA offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:00 am


5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1
cron