Bioloid Vision Module

Created by Prof. Hamid Moballegh of The Robocup Humanoid Team of Freie Universität Berlin - fumanoids.de
261 postsPage 4 of 181, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 18
261 postsPage 4 of 181, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 18

Post by limor » Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Post by limor
Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:34 pm

Bullit,

A lot of time and effort have been put into finetuning the performance of the module and therefore it is understandable that they don't want to expose the source code. (Just like Robotis doesnt expose the source code of the CM5 and AX12 and for that matter neither do Hitec, Kondo and the rest of them)
Bullit,

A lot of time and effort have been put into finetuning the performance of the module and therefore it is understandable that they don't want to expose the source code. (Just like Robotis doesnt expose the source code of the CM5 and AX12 and for that matter neither do Hitec, Kondo and the rest of them)
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:22 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Fri Sep 21, 2007 5:22 pm

limor wrote:Bullit,

A lot of time and effort have been put into finetuning the performance of the module and therefore it is understandable that they don't want to expose the source code. (Just like Robotis doesnt expose the source code of the CM5 and AX12 and for that matter neither do Hitec, Kondo and the rest of them)


Open source and free software not only is a new "perception" about software, it's a new business model (IBM, Sun, Red Hat, ...), Even The powerfull Microsoft, mainly no open-sorce and "against free software", is starting its first steps...

may be is early for robotics...
limor wrote:Bullit,

A lot of time and effort have been put into finetuning the performance of the module and therefore it is understandable that they don't want to expose the source code. (Just like Robotis doesnt expose the source code of the CM5 and AX12 and for that matter neither do Hitec, Kondo and the rest of them)


Open source and free software not only is a new "perception" about software, it's a new business model (IBM, Sun, Red Hat, ...), Even The powerfull Microsoft, mainly no open-sorce and "against free software", is starting its first steps...

may be is early for robotics...
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by seroti » Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:07 am

Post by seroti
Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:07 am

Is there any chance of having the vision module instructions implemented in BCP in the near future?
Is there any chance of having the vision module instructions implemented in BCP in the near future?
seroti offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:59 am

Post by hamid_m » Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:11 am

Post by hamid_m
Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:11 am

Yes, The documentation will be ready in a week, I hope.
Yes, The documentation will be ready in a week, I hope.
hamid_m offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:56 pm

Post by srobot » Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:07 pm

Post by srobot
Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:07 pm

Free as in freedom, not as in free beer. :)

Maybe you could sell the source code, but not post it for every one.

Free as in freedom (people can change it, etc), not as in free beer (people must buy it).

Just an idea to think about.

--Scotty
Free as in freedom, not as in free beer. :)

Maybe you could sell the source code, but not post it for every one.

Free as in freedom (people can change it, etc), not as in free beer (people must buy it).

Just an idea to think about.

--Scotty
Dell Latitude D520, Windows XP, 4 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD, Intel Core 2 Duo. The power that's needed!

RIBO Labs, Springing Robotic Development to a New Level
srobot offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Deep in robot parts

Post by hamid_m » Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:37 am

Post by hamid_m
Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:37 am

Hi everybody,

Good news for those interested in the vision module! :D
We have now finalized the production of the module. Thanks Limor, It is now available on the Robosavvy's store,http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info.php/products_id/349

Following wiki page
http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?option=com_openwiki&Itemid=&id=havimo will be supplied with plenty of information and useful examples as we and you continue working on the module and continue discussing over the forum.

Finally I wish a wonderful experiment for those who will start using this module and just say keep in contact and "share what you learn, learn what you don't" :wink:

Hamid.
Hi everybody,

Good news for those interested in the vision module! :D
We have now finalized the production of the module. Thanks Limor, It is now available on the Robosavvy's store,http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info.php/products_id/349

Following wiki page
http://robosavvy.com/site/index.php?option=com_openwiki&Itemid=&id=havimo will be supplied with plenty of information and useful examples as we and you continue working on the module and continue discussing over the forum.

Finally I wish a wonderful experiment for those who will start using this module and just say keep in contact and "share what you learn, learn what you don't" :wink:

Hamid.
hamid_m offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:56 pm

Post by JonHylands » Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:20 pm

Post by JonHylands
Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:20 pm

Nice job - I look forward to playing with this...

- Jon
Nice job - I look forward to playing with this...

- Jon
JonHylands offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by siempre.aprendiendo » Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:56 pm

Post by siempre.aprendiendo
Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:56 pm

It's very very interesting...

I will read your wiki and published info asap :)
It's very very interesting...

I will read your wiki and published info asap :)
siempre.aprendiendo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Barcelona

Example Code and video for HaViMo

Post by hamid_m » Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:19 pm

Post by hamid_m
Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:19 pm

Hi everybody,

For those who have purchased the HaViMo, I have prepared a small example C program which drives a pan/tilt mechanism holding the camera to track the ball. Actually, I have made the necessary changes to the famous Example.c from Robotis. The Program is compatible with CodeVision. So those who program with other environments should change it slightly.
After programming CM5 with the compiled "Example.hex" you should calibrate the camera with the color of the object you want the camera to track as described in the given manuals.
Afterwards you can connect to CM5 using Robot terminal and type "T"(capital) to see what happens.
This source code is perfect for those who want to have a basic example to play around with and make their own applications.

Here is the source code:
http://robosavvy.com/site/Builders/hamid_m/Example.hex
http://robosavvy.com/site/Builders/hamid_m/example.c

and here is the video showing the behavior of the robot running the program.

phpBB [media]


Best regards,
Hamid.
Hi everybody,

For those who have purchased the HaViMo, I have prepared a small example C program which drives a pan/tilt mechanism holding the camera to track the ball. Actually, I have made the necessary changes to the famous Example.c from Robotis. The Program is compatible with CodeVision. So those who program with other environments should change it slightly.
After programming CM5 with the compiled "Example.hex" you should calibrate the camera with the color of the object you want the camera to track as described in the given manuals.
Afterwards you can connect to CM5 using Robot terminal and type "T"(capital) to see what happens.
This source code is perfect for those who want to have a basic example to play around with and make their own applications.

Here is the source code:
http://robosavvy.com/site/Builders/hamid_m/Example.hex
http://robosavvy.com/site/Builders/hamid_m/example.c

and here is the video showing the behavior of the robot running the program.

phpBB [media]


Best regards,
Hamid.
Last edited by hamid_m on Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hamid_m offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:56 pm

Post by limor » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:23 pm

Post by limor
Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:23 pm

I finally got to play around with the vision module.
It took a few minutes to get the thing to work
- flash the CM5 with the calibration firmware
- communicate CM5 with the PC program
- take a picture of a yellow screw driver
- tell the program which colors are part of the screw driver
- wave the screw driver around and see a blue box on the PC screen moving in the same directions (box whose center represents the center of screw driver image).

a cool application would be to hook up a laser pointer and gun.. sort of like the Predator
Image
I finally got to play around with the vision module.
It took a few minutes to get the thing to work
- flash the CM5 with the calibration firmware
- communicate CM5 with the PC program
- take a picture of a yellow screw driver
- tell the program which colors are part of the screw driver
- wave the screw driver around and see a blue box on the PC screen moving in the same directions (box whose center represents the center of screw driver image).

a cool application would be to hook up a laser pointer and gun.. sort of like the Predator
Image
limor offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:00 am
Location: London, UK

Post by ShreddinPB » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:17 am

Post by ShreddinPB
Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:17 am

Ok so I got mine.. and am finally trying it out.
Here is whats goin on..

I upload the calib.hex to the CM5 thru the robot terminal.
checksum is fine after it uploads.
Start Camera_Calib.exe
turn on bioloid
click the "Open Com" button on the correct port.
at this point there is no lights on, on the CM5
When I click on the "Check Camera" button, it reports "not found" and all the lights on the CM5 light up.

as of right now I just plugged the havimo into the robot, so all the servos and everything are still connected.. is that ok or do I have to take it off and have JUST the camera and the CM5?
Ok so I got mine.. and am finally trying it out.
Here is whats goin on..

I upload the calib.hex to the CM5 thru the robot terminal.
checksum is fine after it uploads.
Start Camera_Calib.exe
turn on bioloid
click the "Open Com" button on the correct port.
at this point there is no lights on, on the CM5
When I click on the "Check Camera" button, it reports "not found" and all the lights on the CM5 light up.

as of right now I just plugged the havimo into the robot, so all the servos and everything are still connected.. is that ok or do I have to take it off and have JUST the camera and the CM5?
ShreddinPB offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:29 am

Post by hamid_m » Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by hamid_m
Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:06 pm

Hi,

Sorry if I replied late because I am now in vacations.
You have followed the right procedure, When the LEDs on MC5 toggle, It means that the CM5 could not communicate with the camera. Let me just ask if you also have the bioloid sensor module connected because both devices use the ID 100 and having an ID conflict, it is not possible to communicate with the camera.

I would also advise to unplug and replug the camera, and reset the CM5 every time you get such an error, beuase it sometimes happen that the camera module is busy with sending an image out and therefore accepts no commands.

So try these, and just inform me about the results.

Hamid.
Hi,

Sorry if I replied late because I am now in vacations.
You have followed the right procedure, When the LEDs on MC5 toggle, It means that the CM5 could not communicate with the camera. Let me just ask if you also have the bioloid sensor module connected because both devices use the ID 100 and having an ID conflict, it is not possible to communicate with the camera.

I would also advise to unplug and replug the camera, and reset the CM5 every time you get such an error, beuase it sometimes happen that the camera module is busy with sending an image out and therefore accepts no commands.

So try these, and just inform me about the results.

Hamid.
hamid_m offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:56 pm

Post by ShreddinPB » Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:06 pm

Post by ShreddinPB
Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:06 pm

Dont be sorry, you replied in a timely manor :)
I will try that when I get home.
Dont be sorry, you replied in a timely manor :)
I will try that when I get home.
ShreddinPB offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:29 am

Post by ShreddinPB » Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:24 am

Post by ShreddinPB
Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:24 am

ok, so i plugged it directly into the CM5 and it works fine.. if I plug it into the AX-S1 or any servo it no longer works. Can it be put anywhere in the network chain? or does it have to be directly connected to the CM5??

Also, how do you flip it X/Y? I have it mounted sideways apparently ;)
I tried writting 0b (it says thats the default in the HV7131GP.pdf) to register 01 and it wrote, but half way thru captureing an image it stops working. I switched the register back to 09 and its fine now.. but still sideways
ok, so i plugged it directly into the CM5 and it works fine.. if I plug it into the AX-S1 or any servo it no longer works. Can it be put anywhere in the network chain? or does it have to be directly connected to the CM5??

Also, how do you flip it X/Y? I have it mounted sideways apparently ;)
I tried writting 0b (it says thats the default in the HV7131GP.pdf) to register 01 and it wrote, but half way thru captureing an image it stops working. I switched the register back to 09 and its fine now.. but still sideways
ShreddinPB offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:29 am

Post by hamid_m » Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:45 pm

Post by hamid_m
Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:45 pm

Hello,

Nice that you have made it to work. Actually the only ID conflict is with AX-S1 as long as it uses the ID=100. With other motors it works fine.

I have noticed that some of the default values of the registers in my datasheet are not exacly the same as what the camera uses. I will correct the manual as I get back to Germany. By now, you can find the correct default values in the "camerareg_Default.txt".
As the module needs special timings you are not allowed to change some of the registers, such as window size. To flip the image, try just to change the cooresponding bits in the register. So if have calculated right :wink: the new contents should be 0x01.

Best regards,
Hamid.
Hello,

Nice that you have made it to work. Actually the only ID conflict is with AX-S1 as long as it uses the ID=100. With other motors it works fine.

I have noticed that some of the default values of the registers in my datasheet are not exacly the same as what the camera uses. I will correct the manual as I get back to Germany. By now, you can find the correct default values in the "camerareg_Default.txt".
As the module needs special timings you are not allowed to change some of the registers, such as window size. To flip the image, try just to change the cooresponding bits in the register. So if have calculated right :wink: the new contents should be 0x01.

Best regards,
Hamid.
hamid_m offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:56 pm

PreviousNext
PreviousNext
261 postsPage 4 of 181, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 18
261 postsPage 4 of 181, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 18
cron