Robonova Roboard RB-100 WIFI 720p HANDS UBUNTU 10.04 Power Q

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Robonova Roboard RB-100 WIFI 720p HANDS UBUNTU 10.04 Power Q

Post by Velocis » Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:39 pm

Post by Velocis
Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:39 pm

Has anyone had experience with supplying seperate power to the Hitec Servo's. I documented my problem over on the roboard section as that is what I am using.

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8105

Any help would be appreciated, I am sure its much the same to supply power direct even though I am not using the original hitec MC-3024 board.

Cheers

8)
Has anyone had experience with supplying seperate power to the Hitec Servo's. I documented my problem over on the roboard section as that is what I am using.

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8105

Any help would be appreciated, I am sure its much the same to supply power direct even though I am not using the original hitec MC-3024 board.

Cheers

8)
Velocis offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:25 pm

Post by PaulL » Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:37 pm

Post by PaulL
Sat Jul 21, 2012 9:37 pm

The servo power on Roboard comes right from the power plug, no electronics between the two. You can connect ground and power outside of Roboard. The ground is common. The power input on Roboard runs right to the servos with no electronics whatsoever. You would have no issues powering the servo directly off the battery wires with the PWM signal coming from the header pin on Roboard. Ok, well, there's one possible issue - if you use long and / or thin power wires, you could have trouble. ;)
The servo power on Roboard comes right from the power plug, no electronics between the two. You can connect ground and power outside of Roboard. The ground is common. The power input on Roboard runs right to the servos with no electronics whatsoever. You would have no issues powering the servo directly off the battery wires with the PWM signal coming from the header pin on Roboard. Ok, well, there's one possible issue - if you use long and / or thin power wires, you could have trouble. ;)
PaulL offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:52 am

still some concern

Post by Velocis » Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:50 am

Post by Velocis
Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:50 am

Yeah I still have some concern, with using the larger lab power supply, what if I was to move all servo's at once quickly, can the roboard handle that sort of current on the tracks ? considering half the servos are connected on the other side of the board.

Cheers
Yeah I still have some concern, with using the larger lab power supply, what if I was to move all servo's at once quickly, can the roboard handle that sort of current on the tracks ? considering half the servos are connected on the other side of the board.

Cheers
Velocis offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:25 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1