Power supply selection

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1

Power supply selection

Post by hunter.allen » Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:44 pm

Post by hunter.allen
Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:44 pm

hello all, I am using a roboard-110 and I wanted to use this motor setup: http://www.robotshop.com/drive-system-12-volt.html

If I were to use 2 of these, how do I need to set up the power system? Thanks,
-Hunter A.
hello all, I am using a roboard-110 and I wanted to use this motor setup: http://www.robotshop.com/drive-system-12-volt.html

If I were to use 2 of these, how do I need to set up the power system? Thanks,
-Hunter A.
hunter.allen offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:42 pm

Post by PedroR » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:30 pm

Post by PedroR
Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:30 pm

Hi allen

From looking at the product it seems the motors are owered by the motor control board (not by roboard).
As I understand the only thing that needs to be connected to Roboard is are the I2C data lines.

Therefore, you should power the Motor Control Board (with the appropriate voltage) and then Power Roboard with 6-24V (on the main power connector).
If you won't be using servos you don't need to apply power on the "Servo power Input" port of Roboard.

Ideally you should always use a separate battery for Roboard but it is possible to use the same battery power the motor and the Roboard; you just need to make your own Y cable.

Regards
Pedro
Hi allen

From looking at the product it seems the motors are owered by the motor control board (not by roboard).
As I understand the only thing that needs to be connected to Roboard is are the I2C data lines.

Therefore, you should power the Motor Control Board (with the appropriate voltage) and then Power Roboard with 6-24V (on the main power connector).
If you won't be using servos you don't need to apply power on the "Servo power Input" port of Roboard.

Ideally you should always use a separate battery for Roboard but it is possible to use the same battery power the motor and the Roboard; you just need to make your own Y cable.

Regards
Pedro
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


2 postsPage 1 of 1
2 postsPage 1 of 1