ebox 3350MX down!

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

ebox 3350MX down!

Post by DJDavid » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:12 pm

Post by DJDavid
Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:12 pm

Hello I have a problem!
when I connect my ebox 3350MX I no longer display I tested with several different screens and several vga cables but it's the same
the display does not work I see not even the launch of the bios screen does not light
Yet the ebox works because the blue LED lights up and flashes red that is worked on HDD

Ebox is my all nine AC is less than two weeks that I do that??
Product warranty is it?
I have to address is what you sent in for repair?
thank you
Hello I have a problem!
when I connect my ebox 3350MX I no longer display I tested with several different screens and several vga cables but it's the same
the display does not work I see not even the launch of the bios screen does not light
Yet the ebox works because the blue LED lights up and flashes red that is worked on HDD

Ebox is my all nine AC is less than two weeks that I do that??
Product warranty is it?
I have to address is what you sent in for repair?
thank you
DJDavid offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:58 pm

Post by PedroR » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm

Post by PedroR
Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm

Hi DJ David

The first thing to check is all the checklist that we have ont he OS installation instructions (check if the power adapter and make sure it has enough amps and that it is of a good quality; remove all usb peripherals except keyboard and turn it on)

The next thing to check is of you haven't disabled VGA in the BIOS settings.
I am not completely familiar with the specific options available on the 3350MX but many products from DMP allow you to change a number of VGA settings.

You can reset the BIOS to it's defaults by unplugging all cables from the ebox (including the power supply) removing the top cover of the eBox and removing the battery (the part with the small yellow circle).
To remove the top cover of the eBox you just need to remove the 4 screws at the bottom and the top part is released. You may need to pull the top part gently up as it sticks to the processor because of the thermal paste.

Leave it removed for a few minutes allowing the BIOS to reset.

Then re install the battery and close the eBox.


If after resetting the BIOS the problem persists you should contact your place of purchase and send the Serial number along with the description of the problem.
The box includes 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects (does not cover acts of user negligence).

Regards
Pedro.
Hi DJ David

The first thing to check is all the checklist that we have ont he OS installation instructions (check if the power adapter and make sure it has enough amps and that it is of a good quality; remove all usb peripherals except keyboard and turn it on)

The next thing to check is of you haven't disabled VGA in the BIOS settings.
I am not completely familiar with the specific options available on the 3350MX but many products from DMP allow you to change a number of VGA settings.

You can reset the BIOS to it's defaults by unplugging all cables from the ebox (including the power supply) removing the top cover of the eBox and removing the battery (the part with the small yellow circle).
To remove the top cover of the eBox you just need to remove the 4 screws at the bottom and the top part is released. You may need to pull the top part gently up as it sticks to the processor because of the thermal paste.

Leave it removed for a few minutes allowing the BIOS to reset.

Then re install the battery and close the eBox.


If after resetting the BIOS the problem persists you should contact your place of purchase and send the Serial number along with the description of the problem.
The box includes 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects (does not cover acts of user negligence).

Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by wiweet » Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:28 pm

Post by wiweet
Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:28 pm

Hi DjDavid, just curious to know, have you solve your vga problem with your eBox?
Hi DjDavid, just curious to know, have you solve your vga problem with your eBox?
wiweet offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:50 am

Post by PedroR » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:26 pm

Post by PedroR
Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:26 pm

The eBox has been exchanged after contacting our technical support.

However from the exchange of emails with Technical Support it seems the user has possibly tweaked the VGA settings in the BIOS beyond recovery. (we weren't able to confirm 100% this was the cause though)

The suggestion I made in the earlier post (of removing the CMOS battery) turned out not to be a great idea due to the way the battery is secured on the board (which doesn't allow for easy removal and reinsertion).

Regards
Pedro
The eBox has been exchanged after contacting our technical support.

However from the exchange of emails with Technical Support it seems the user has possibly tweaked the VGA settings in the BIOS beyond recovery. (we weren't able to confirm 100% this was the cause though)

The suggestion I made in the earlier post (of removing the CMOS battery) turned out not to be a great idea due to the way the battery is secured on the board (which doesn't allow for easy removal and reinsertion).

Regards
Pedro
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1
cron