eBox 3350 MX crackled sound and boot without vga attatched

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1

eBox 3350 MX crackled sound and boot without vga attatched

Post by bselva » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:18 pm

Post by bselva
Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:18 pm

Hi,

I have problems playing sound on my eBox 3350 MX AP. I can play music with mplayer, but sometimes it gets crackled/distorted.

I am using Ubuntu 10.04 with kernel 2.6.34.10-vortex86-sg_1.2_i386. Tried to use alsa and oss and have installed all gstreamer codecs, also using a class 10 Transcend SD.

When sound is bad, i can change shell using ctrl + alt + f2 and going back, or stop and restart the process and the sound gets ok.

Any idea how to fix that?

Thanks
Hi,

I have problems playing sound on my eBox 3350 MX AP. I can play music with mplayer, but sometimes it gets crackled/distorted.

I am using Ubuntu 10.04 with kernel 2.6.34.10-vortex86-sg_1.2_i386. Tried to use alsa and oss and have installed all gstreamer codecs, also using a class 10 Transcend SD.

When sound is bad, i can change shell using ctrl + alt + f2 and going back, or stop and restart the process and the sound gets ok.

Any idea how to fix that?

Thanks
bselva offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:11 pm

Post by bselva » Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:27 pm

Post by bselva
Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:27 pm

I am also trying to boot Ubuntu 10.04 withou a vga cable attatched, to use it remotely. But it just works when I boot with a vga cable.

I think the problem is with grub, but i couldn't fix.

Anyone can help?
Thanks,
I am also trying to boot Ubuntu 10.04 withou a vga cable attatched, to use it remotely. But it just works when I boot with a vga cable.

I think the problem is with grub, but i couldn't fix.

Anyone can help?
Thanks,
bselva offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:11 pm

Post by PedroR » Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:02 am

Post by PedroR
Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:02 am

Hi bselva

Booting without VGA attached should be possible. If you are unable to boot it may be an issue related to the distribution you are using.

Please confirm which device drivers you are using for VGA in Ubuntu.
In addition you may need to disable the Automatic Start of the Graphical Interface.


With regards to sound, if you believe that is a hardware defect, please contact your place of purchase for RMA.

Regards
Hi bselva

Booting without VGA attached should be possible. If you are unable to boot it may be an issue related to the distribution you are using.

Please confirm which device drivers you are using for VGA in Ubuntu.
In addition you may need to disable the Automatic Start of the Graphical Interface.


With regards to sound, if you believe that is a hardware defect, please contact your place of purchase for RMA.

Regards
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by bselva » Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:41 pm

Post by bselva
Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:41 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

If I turn on without the VGA, it will get stuck until I plug in the VGA. Then it starts just after grub screen.

I disabled the graphical interface renaming /etc/init/gdm.conf , is there a better way of doing that?

> cat /etc/lsb-release
DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=10.04
DISTRIB_CODENAME=lucid
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS"

> lspci | grep VGA
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: RDC Semiconductor, Inc. Device 2010

> grep 'Monitor name' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
(II) VESA(0): Monitor name: DELL D2201

> lshw
*-display UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
vendor: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
physical id: d
bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
resources: memory:f8000000-fbffffff memory:febe0000-febfffff ioport:ef80(size=128)
*-multimedia
description: Audio device
product: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
vendor: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
physical id: e
bus info: pci@0000:00:0e.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master
configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=128
resources: irq:11 memory:febdc000-febdffff

Thanks again,
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

If I turn on without the VGA, it will get stuck until I plug in the VGA. Then it starts just after grub screen.

I disabled the graphical interface renaming /etc/init/gdm.conf , is there a better way of doing that?

> cat /etc/lsb-release
DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=10.04
DISTRIB_CODENAME=lucid
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS"

> lspci | grep VGA
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: RDC Semiconductor, Inc. Device 2010

> grep 'Monitor name' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
(II) VESA(0): Monitor name: DELL D2201

> lshw
*-display UNCLAIMED
description: VGA compatible controller
product: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
vendor: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
physical id: d
bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
resources: memory:f8000000-fbffffff memory:febe0000-febfffff ioport:ef80(size=128)
*-multimedia
description: Audio device
product: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
vendor: RDC Semiconductor, Inc.
physical id: e
bus info: pci@0000:00:0e.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master
configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=128
resources: irq:11 memory:febdc000-febdffff

Thanks again,
bselva offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:11 pm

Post by bselva » Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:24 pm

Post by bselva
Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:24 pm

Now I tried to configure grub to text only:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash text”
It starts on bash but no lucky with VGA. Doesn't work unplugged.
Now I tried to configure grub to text only:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=”quiet splash text”
It starts on bash but no lucky with VGA. Doesn't work unplugged.
bselva offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:11 pm

Post by PedroR » Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:22 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:22 pm

Hi bselva

I am afraid we are unable to offer further help with regards to your particular application.

We are able to provide support and assistance in terms of making sure the eBox is working properly (and if not provide repair or replacement).

What you are attempting to do is now a very specific configuration of Ubuntu and therefore I would suggest posting on Ubuntu help forums.


Kind Regards
Pedro.
Hi bselva

I am afraid we are unable to offer further help with regards to your particular application.

We are able to provide support and assistance in terms of making sure the eBox is working properly (and if not provide repair or replacement).

What you are attempting to do is now a very specific configuration of Ubuntu and therefore I would suggest posting on Ubuntu help forums.


Kind Regards
Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

Post by bselva » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:22 pm

Post by bselva
Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:22 pm

Hi Pedro,

Thank you for your support.

I tried to use the SD card that was previously on another 3350MX and it worked without VGA and didn't work on mine.

Now I find out what was going on. I had problems with the power source. Don't know what is the deal with VGA, but I am using another power source, and it is working.
Hi Pedro,

Thank you for your support.

I tried to use the SD card that was previously on another 3350MX and it worked without VGA and didn't work on mine.

Now I find out what was going on. I had problems with the power source. Don't know what is the deal with VGA, but I am using another power source, and it is working.
bselva offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:11 pm


7 postsPage 1 of 1
7 postsPage 1 of 1