Using WiFi card

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1

Using WiFi card

Post by aether.robotics » Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:50 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:50 pm

Hi all

This my be a very simple solution but cant seem to figure it out.

Im trying to be able to access winXP and Ubuntu 9.04 on my roboard-110 over wifi through an ipad and to see the operating system and GUI via Remote Desktop, but wondering how to get all the details and set up the wifi card with no VGA port as have to swap the cards.

Regards
Chris
Hi all

This my be a very simple solution but cant seem to figure it out.

Im trying to be able to access winXP and Ubuntu 9.04 on my roboard-110 over wifi through an ipad and to see the operating system and GUI via Remote Desktop, but wondering how to get all the details and set up the wifi card with no VGA port as have to swap the cards.

Regards
Chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: Using WiFi card

Post by roboard » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:36 am

Post by roboard
Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:36 am

aether.robotics wrote:...Im trying to be able to access winXP and Ubuntu 9.04 on my roboard-110 over wifi through an ipad and to see the operating system and GUI via Remote Desktop, but wondering how to get all the details and set up the wifi card with no VGA port as have to swap the cards.
...


Hi,

you may refer to RicardoMarinheiro's good tutorial:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7036

:)
aether.robotics wrote:...Im trying to be able to access winXP and Ubuntu 9.04 on my roboard-110 over wifi through an ipad and to see the operating system and GUI via Remote Desktop, but wondering how to get all the details and set up the wifi card with no VGA port as have to swap the cards.
...


Hi,

you may refer to RicardoMarinheiro's good tutorial:

http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7036

:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by aether.robotics » Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:34 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:34 pm

Hi, tried using it but for debian but tried and doesnt work... tries to find the make file in wrong place...

thanks
chris
Hi, tried using it but for debian but tried and doesnt work... tries to find the make file in wrong place...

thanks
chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by roboard » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:31 am

Post by roboard
Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:31 am

aether.robotics wrote:Hi, tried using it but for debian but tried and doesnt work... tries to find the make file in wrong place...


Hi,

VIA has not maintained their VT6655 driver so that the old driver doesn't work on some versions of Linux kernel (e.g. kernel 2.6.34). In newer versions of kernel such as 2.6.35/2.6.36, the VT6655 driver has been integrated, and therefore newer kernels should be able to solve your issue. (In the future, we shall update RoBoard Linux kernel to 2.6.36 when releasing RB-050.)

:)
aether.robotics wrote:Hi, tried using it but for debian but tried and doesnt work... tries to find the make file in wrong place...


Hi,

VIA has not maintained their VT6655 driver so that the old driver doesn't work on some versions of Linux kernel (e.g. kernel 2.6.34). In newer versions of kernel such as 2.6.35/2.6.36, the VT6655 driver has been integrated, and therefore newer kernels should be able to solve your issue. (In the future, we shall update RoBoard Linux kernel to 2.6.36 when releasing RB-050.)

:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by PedroR » Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:06 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:06 pm

Hi aether

One important piece of information to be aware of is that you can configure Linux to offer a Console (Command Line) connection on COMM1.

So if you remove the VGA card you can still have access to the board and perform the necessary commands to configure the WiFi card.

You can also use a USB WiFi module instead of a miniPCI one. This way you can keep the VGA card and have WiFi as well.

If you go with this solution make sure the USB WiFi module is supported by the OS on the Roboard (Linux (see which version) and/or Windows).


FYI:
Information about setting up console redirection during boot (to configure BIOs, etc) can be found on the Roboard page http://www.roboard.com/download_ml.htm
After Linux boots, console redirection is overriden by the Linux configuration so you also need to configure the Linux distribution to offer a command line interface/console on COMM 1.
You can use Google to find instructions on how to do this.
For Debian for example there is a document here http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-setu ... ian-linux/

Pedro.
Hi aether

One important piece of information to be aware of is that you can configure Linux to offer a Console (Command Line) connection on COMM1.

So if you remove the VGA card you can still have access to the board and perform the necessary commands to configure the WiFi card.

You can also use a USB WiFi module instead of a miniPCI one. This way you can keep the VGA card and have WiFi as well.

If you go with this solution make sure the USB WiFi module is supported by the OS on the Roboard (Linux (see which version) and/or Windows).


FYI:
Information about setting up console redirection during boot (to configure BIOs, etc) can be found on the Roboard page http://www.roboard.com/download_ml.htm
After Linux boots, console redirection is overriden by the Linux configuration so you also need to configure the Linux distribution to offer a command line interface/console on COMM 1.
You can use Google to find instructions on how to do this.
For Debian for example there is a document here http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-setu ... ian-linux/

Pedro.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm


5 postsPage 1 of 1
5 postsPage 1 of 1
cron