Windows XP on rb-100

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1

Windows XP on rb-100

Post by aether.robotics » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:44 pm

Post by aether.robotics
Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:44 pm

Hi there

so i finally got xp to boot on the rb-100 after ages of installing and copying files... was wondering, those who have XP on their boards, how long does it take to boot up once installed? taken 30min so far and unresponsive?!?!

It just seems to take soo long to load up and boot.... :cry:

Thanks in advance

Chris
Hi there

so i finally got xp to boot on the rb-100 after ages of installing and copying files... was wondering, those who have XP on their boards, how long does it take to boot up once installed? taken 30min so far and unresponsive?!?!

It just seems to take soo long to load up and boot.... :cry:

Thanks in advance

Chris
aether.robotics offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:36 pm

Post by JavaRN » Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:11 pm

Post by JavaRN
Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:11 pm

Mine takes approx 3 minutes to boot. Check your micro-sd, when I changed the micro sd brand (from Sandisk to Kingston, both 8G) the booting time changed drastically in some instances on the Kingston micro-sd it took more than 15 minutes - in fact I threw it away. :cry:
Mine takes approx 3 minutes to boot. Check your micro-sd, when I changed the micro sd brand (from Sandisk to Kingston, both 8G) the booting time changed drastically in some instances on the Kingston micro-sd it took more than 15 minutes - in fact I threw it away. :cry:
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by Spiked3 » Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:54 am

Post by Spiked3
Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:54 am

one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk. on a decent sized but slow card, this can really slow things down. if you have the vga hooked up you can see this is what is happening, but in my case I boot headless 90% of the time and run remote desktop.

You can use task manager, if running over remote desktop, to do a shutdown, which is missing from the menus. that will make the next reboot much quicker.
one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk. on a decent sized but slow card, this can really slow things down. if you have the vga hooked up you can see this is what is happening, but in my case I boot headless 90% of the time and run remote desktop.

You can use task manager, if running over remote desktop, to do a shutdown, which is missing from the menus. that will make the next reboot much quicker.
Spiked3 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:31 pm

Post by Sazabi » Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:46 am

Post by Sazabi
Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:46 am

Mine takes about 2-3 mins to get ready to work. What class your SD card is? The higher class you got the faster card works.
Mine takes about 2-3 mins to get ready to work. What class your SD card is? The higher class you got the faster card works.
Sazabi offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:57 am

Post by roboard » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:52 am

Post by roboard
Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:52 am

Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)
Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by Spiked3 » Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:45 pm

Post by Spiked3
Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:45 pm

roboard wrote:
Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)


doesn't that article mention disabling the paging file? wouldn't that limit you to 256k of memory? are you sure XP can even run? you sure as heck couldnt run anything useful on XP with 256k of memory.
roboard wrote:
Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)


doesn't that article mention disabling the paging file? wouldn't that limit you to 256k of memory? are you sure XP can even run? you sure as heck couldnt run anything useful on XP with 256k of memory.
Spiked3 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:31 pm

Post by robaldo » Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:26 pm

Post by robaldo
Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:26 pm

roboard wrote:
Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)


what is EWF? is it just for XPE ? not other xp versions?
how it helps windows to start up quickly?
it is stable and reliable to use?
thanks
roboard wrote:
Spiked3 wrote:one of the things very common on mine is for windows to not get shutdown properly (I just unhook the power) which means on the next boot it needs to do a check disk.


We could employ the EWF for WinXP to overcome this problem:

http://blog.granturing.com/

Currently, we are using EWF to make a read-only WinXP system with which we can safely power off RoBoard without shutdowning WinXP.

:)


what is EWF? is it just for XPE ? not other xp versions?
how it helps windows to start up quickly?
it is stable and reliable to use?
thanks
robaldo offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by roboard » Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:58 am

Post by roboard
Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:58 am

EWF (Enhanced Write Filter) is a component of XPE (Windows XP Embedded) which can make XPE read-only. It can also be applied on WinXP. For more information, please refer to:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhanced_Write_Filter
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... embedded.5).aspx

Many tutorials for EWF can be found in the internet. :)

Since we view the RoBoard as an embedded robot controller, not a general Desktop PC, we only run our robot program on RoBoard. So the 256MB DRAM is enough for the our purpose. We partition the MicroSD into 2 disks (C: and D: ) and use EWF to make the system disk (C: ) read-only; the logging and configuration data are sotred in the other unprotected disk (D: ). Because the WinXP system disk (C: ) is read-only, we can turn off the power of RoBoard anytime. This approach currently works fine on our robots (even though it may apply only for small-scale robot programs).

BTW, we have successfully implemented new RB-100/RB-110 BIOS with WinXP/Linux shutdown indicator. The new BIOS will be released at 2011/1. :)
EWF (Enhanced Write Filter) is a component of XPE (Windows XP Embedded) which can make XPE read-only. It can also be applied on WinXP. For more information, please refer to:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhanced_Write_Filter
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... embedded.5).aspx

Many tutorials for EWF can be found in the internet. :)

Since we view the RoBoard as an embedded robot controller, not a general Desktop PC, we only run our robot program on RoBoard. So the 256MB DRAM is enough for the our purpose. We partition the MicroSD into 2 disks (C: and D: ) and use EWF to make the system disk (C: ) read-only; the logging and configuration data are sotred in the other unprotected disk (D: ). Because the WinXP system disk (C: ) is read-only, we can turn off the power of RoBoard anytime. This approach currently works fine on our robots (even though it may apply only for small-scale robot programs).

BTW, we have successfully implemented new RB-100/RB-110 BIOS with WinXP/Linux shutdown indicator. The new BIOS will be released at 2011/1. :)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Xp networking problem

Post by Darkback2 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:17 am

Post by Darkback2
Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:17 am

So I have two memory sticks. One is a 2gig scan disk the other is an 8 gig kodac. I installed windows xp on both. The 2 gig drive version was almost filled by xp, and I cant load anything else. The 8 gig disk has room on it, but for some reason the net drivers wont load properly. I made a 2 gig partition on it and installed windows there. when I go to network preferences and make a new connection nothing happens.

Any ideas?
So I have two memory sticks. One is a 2gig scan disk the other is an 8 gig kodac. I installed windows xp on both. The 2 gig drive version was almost filled by xp, and I cant load anything else. The 8 gig disk has room on it, but for some reason the net drivers wont load properly. I made a 2 gig partition on it and installed windows there. when I go to network preferences and make a new connection nothing happens.

Any ideas?
Darkback2 offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 7:51 pm


9 postsPage 1 of 1
9 postsPage 1 of 1
cron