No WLAN connection using USB Stick on Roboard

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

No WLAN connection using USB Stick on Roboard

Post by Photon1272 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:45 am

Post by Photon1272
Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:45 am

Hi folks,

I now searched several topics and haven't found anything similar (except http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6067, that does not provide any solutions...).

I am using an ASUS WL-167g USB WLAN Adapter and the corresponding driver (Ralink RT2500USB) was installed automatically. I also use wpa_supplicant for WPA2 encryption.
With all the basic checks done the stick is available, I can scan the networks and activate the adapter.

I perfectly works on my Laptop using Debian 5.02 with a very simple configuration (following http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse) like:
Code: Select all
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wpa-ssid mynetworkname
    wpa-psk mysecretpassphrase

Starting it, it is obtaining an IP address!

But not on the Roboard, though the setup is similar. Where is the difference?
Are there any USB settings to configure?
I also tried switching from "full speed" to "high speed" in the BIOS, but no change at all.
Did anyone manage this to get it work using an USB WLAN Stick?
Hi folks,

I now searched several topics and haven't found anything similar (except http://robosavvy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6067, that does not provide any solutions...).

I am using an ASUS WL-167g USB WLAN Adapter and the corresponding driver (Ralink RT2500USB) was installed automatically. I also use wpa_supplicant for WPA2 encryption.
With all the basic checks done the stick is available, I can scan the networks and activate the adapter.

I perfectly works on my Laptop using Debian 5.02 with a very simple configuration (following http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse) like:
Code: Select all
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wpa-ssid mynetworkname
    wpa-psk mysecretpassphrase

Starting it, it is obtaining an IP address!

But not on the Roboard, though the setup is similar. Where is the difference?
Are there any USB settings to configure?
I also tried switching from "full speed" to "high speed" in the BIOS, but no change at all.
Did anyone manage this to get it work using an USB WLAN Stick?
Photon1272 offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:08 pm

Post by matt.stevenson » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:08 pm

Post by matt.stevenson
Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:08 pm

I was able to get the D-Link DWA-131 working with Debian (although it would periodically disconnect every few minutes for some reason).

I had to first recompile the kernel to enable the wifi modules, which it sounds like you have already done.

I also had problems connecting to a wpa2 network using the wpa-supplicant. I switched to the mini-pci wifi card, so I never got that issue resolved with the USB.

Have you tried connecting to an unsecured network just using iwconfig?

iwlist wlan0 scan (scans for open networks)
iwconfig wlan0 essid "your network id" (sets access point)
dhclient wlan0 (connects to the network)
I was able to get the D-Link DWA-131 working with Debian (although it would periodically disconnect every few minutes for some reason).

I had to first recompile the kernel to enable the wifi modules, which it sounds like you have already done.

I also had problems connecting to a wpa2 network using the wpa-supplicant. I switched to the mini-pci wifi card, so I never got that issue resolved with the USB.

Have you tried connecting to an unsecured network just using iwconfig?

iwlist wlan0 scan (scans for open networks)
iwconfig wlan0 essid "your network id" (sets access point)
dhclient wlan0 (connects to the network)
matt.stevenson offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:29 pm

No WLAN connection using USB Stick on Roboard

Post by Photon1272 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:16 am

Post by Photon1272
Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:16 am

Hi there,

actually I wanted to avoid this step :?. But as you mentioned it I tried without any encryption and by any surprise, this worked!
It got an IP adress, but I only could ping it or login via WLAN after I put eth0 down!
Well, that is one config to start with, so thanks a lot for that hint!

I will now start on with WEP encryption and we'll see 8) ...
Hi there,

actually I wanted to avoid this step :?. But as you mentioned it I tried without any encryption and by any surprise, this worked!
It got an IP adress, but I only could ping it or login via WLAN after I put eth0 down!
Well, that is one config to start with, so thanks a lot for that hint!

I will now start on with WEP encryption and we'll see 8) ...
Photon1272 offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:08 pm


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1