Roboard and Lipo batteries

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

Roboard and Lipo batteries

Post by JavaRN » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:26 pm

Post by JavaRN
Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:26 pm

I've been working with lipo batteries for a couple of months. Lately a curious thing was happening - whenever the robot falls, roboard reboots or switches off. So I disassembled the robot, got roboard out and tested it with the battery. Whenever I twist or move the battery (to simulate a robot fall), roboard goes off in the worst case the wires melted!

I thought that this is something that has to do with the battery, so I connected the same battery to a CM-5 and to my surprised it worked, even when I twisted/moved the battery around.

Can roboard's molex connector be faulty? if so from where can I buy a molex connector similar to roboards ready crimpled?

Charles
I've been working with lipo batteries for a couple of months. Lately a curious thing was happening - whenever the robot falls, roboard reboots or switches off. So I disassembled the robot, got roboard out and tested it with the battery. Whenever I twist or move the battery (to simulate a robot fall), roboard goes off in the worst case the wires melted!

I thought that this is something that has to do with the battery, so I connected the same battery to a CM-5 and to my surprised it worked, even when I twisted/moved the battery around.

Can roboard's molex connector be faulty? if so from where can I buy a molex connector similar to roboards ready crimpled?

Charles
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by josh » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:06 am

Post by josh
Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:06 am

hallo,

i used a rb110 just a few weeks ago. my robot is also bioloid :) .

i don't happen the situation as yours.

maybe it just has not occurred. :oops:

i guest that the battery wires to connect the power of roboard is bad connection.

i hope that it is helpful to you :o
hallo,

i used a rb110 just a few weeks ago. my robot is also bioloid :) .

i don't happen the situation as yours.

maybe it just has not occurred. :oops:

i guest that the battery wires to connect the power of roboard is bad connection.

i hope that it is helpful to you :o
josh offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:43 am

Re: Roboard and Lipo batteries

Post by roboard » Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:46 am

Post by roboard
Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:46 am

JavaRN wrote:Can roboard's molex connector be faulty? if so from where can I buy a molex connector similar to roboards ready crimpled?


Hi, JavaRN,

It is not easy to damage RoBoard's on-board power connector in contrast with other components. So your problem is possibly caused by the connection cable that connects your RoBoard and battery, which may has already loose contact. You may check your connection cable to see whether it still works robustly. :)
JavaRN wrote:Can roboard's molex connector be faulty? if so from where can I buy a molex connector similar to roboards ready crimpled?


Hi, JavaRN,

It is not easy to damage RoBoard's on-board power connector in contrast with other components. So your problem is possibly caused by the connection cable that connects your RoBoard and battery, which may has already loose contact. You may check your connection cable to see whether it still works robustly. :)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by JavaRN » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:02 pm

Post by JavaRN
Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:02 pm

Thanks both for your feedback. I've spent some time trying to figure out what was happenning. The lipo batteries were placed in the feet of the robot and the robot was moving quite rapidly. I noticed that the aluminium box in which the batteries were placed was a little bigger than a battery and so while the robot was moving the battery was swinging, and may be the swinging of the battery caused it to get hot and the rest you know it . . .

So what I did was that I added some velcro tape to the battery and on the inside of the battery box so that the battery won't move, and this seems to have worked.
Thanks both for your feedback. I've spent some time trying to figure out what was happenning. The lipo batteries were placed in the feet of the robot and the robot was moving quite rapidly. I noticed that the aluminium box in which the batteries were placed was a little bigger than a battery and so while the robot was moving the battery was swinging, and may be the swinging of the battery caused it to get hot and the rest you know it . . .

So what I did was that I added some velcro tape to the battery and on the inside of the battery box so that the battery won't move, and this seems to have worked.
F'dan il-passatemp ghandek bzonn zewg affarijiet - FLUS u HIN. Zewg affarijiet li huma skarsi hafna u li jien minnhom ghandi vera ftit!
JavaRN offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:01 pm


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1
cron