SPI Interface

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1

SPI Interface

Post by crbreingan » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:05 pm

Post by crbreingan
Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:05 pm

Hello,

I need to get my Roboard to read data from the SPI interface. I have code already that runs SPI using the standard linux interface. My question is, does the Roboard's SPI use the standard linux interface or do I have to use the libraries that they provide on their website?

Thanks.
Hello,

I need to get my Roboard to read data from the SPI interface. I have code already that runs SPI using the standard linux interface. My question is, does the Roboard's SPI use the standard linux interface or do I have to use the libraries that they provide on their website?

Thanks.
crbreingan offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: SPI Interface

Post by roboard » Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:23 am

Post by roboard
Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:23 am

Hi,

the standard linux SPI interface isn't provided; we recommend that use RoBoIO library to operate RoBoard's SPI interface.:)
Hi,

the standard linux SPI interface isn't provided; we recommend that use RoBoIO library to operate RoBoard's SPI interface.:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by crbreingan » Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:09 pm

Post by crbreingan
Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:09 pm

I see. So I'll use the RoBoIO library. However, I need two SPI slaves and there appears to be only one SPI SS pin. I understand that I could use the PWM pins as GPIO. But are there any GPIO pins on the SPI/I2C port? There are two pins labeled GP34 and GP35. Can these be used as SS pins? And if so, how?
Thanks.
I see. So I'll use the RoBoIO library. However, I need two SPI slaves and there appears to be only one SPI SS pin. I understand that I could use the PWM pins as GPIO. But are there any GPIO pins on the SPI/I2C port? There are two pins labeled GP34 and GP35. Can these be used as SS pins? And if so, how?
Thanks.
crbreingan offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:03 pm

Post by roboard » Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:08 am

Post by roboard
Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:08 am

Hi

In fact, the SPI SS pin on SPI/I2C port is that use GPIO to simulate SPI SS (refer to spi_EnableSS and spi_DisableSS functions in spi lib). The GP34 and GP35 are dedicated to H/W I2C function and are not recommended to be treated as GPIO. We suggest that use GPIO pins (S1 ~ S24) to simulate SPI SS by using rcservo_Outp function in rcservo lib if you need more SPI SS pins. :)
Hi

In fact, the SPI SS pin on SPI/I2C port is that use GPIO to simulate SPI SS (refer to spi_EnableSS and spi_DisableSS functions in spi lib). The GP34 and GP35 are dedicated to H/W I2C function and are not recommended to be treated as GPIO. We suggest that use GPIO pins (S1 ~ S24) to simulate SPI SS by using rcservo_Outp function in rcservo lib if you need more SPI SS pins. :)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am


4 postsPage 1 of 1
4 postsPage 1 of 1