Connecting a switch to the Roboard

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1

Connecting a switch to the Roboard

Post by Cavetroll » Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:58 pm

Post by Cavetroll
Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:58 pm

How would one go about connecting a switch to the Roboard? I'm assuming that it should be connected to the A/D pins. However, where should the voltage come from? Should it come from external source, or is there a pin on the board for that?

Also, is there are tutorial or guide for basic stuff like this? I have read the hardware introduction, but am still new to the robotics world. Any lower level guides someone can recommend would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
How would one go about connecting a switch to the Roboard? I'm assuming that it should be connected to the A/D pins. However, where should the voltage come from? Should it come from external source, or is there a pin on the board for that?

Also, is there are tutorial or guide for basic stuff like this? I have read the hardware introduction, but am still new to the robotics world. Any lower level guides someone can recommend would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Cavetroll offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:36 am

Re: Connecting a switch to the Roboard

Post by roboard » Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:21 pm

Post by roboard
Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:21 pm

Hi

Recommend that connect the switch to GPIO channel, and detect high/low if it is pressed and use VCC(5V) pin
on i2c/spi port(RB-100) or i2c socket(RB-110) to be source .:)
(Remember to add a resistance between VCC and ground)
Hi

Recommend that connect the switch to GPIO channel, and detect high/low if it is pressed and use VCC(5V) pin
on i2c/spi port(RB-100) or i2c socket(RB-110) to be source .:)
(Remember to add a resistance between VCC and ground)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by Marsman » Mon Aug 16, 2010 6:23 am

Post by Marsman
Mon Aug 16, 2010 6:23 am

Hi,

yes, connecting it to one of the GPIO ports is the right thing to do. To check if it is pressed you can use the rcservo_Inp(int channel) function of the rcservo.h library. Make sure that this channel is not set as a PWM through the rcservo_Initialize(unsigned long usedchannels) function.

Cheers,

Marsman
Hi,

yes, connecting it to one of the GPIO ports is the right thing to do. To check if it is pressed you can use the rcservo_Inp(int channel) function of the rcservo.h library. Make sure that this channel is not set as a PWM through the rcservo_Initialize(unsigned long usedchannels) function.

Cheers,

Marsman
Marsman offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:47 am


3 postsPage 1 of 1
3 postsPage 1 of 1
cron