RB-110 Ethernet port

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
18 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
18 postsPage 2 of 21, 2

Post by roboard » Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:10 am

Post by roboard
Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:10 am

Spiked3 wrote:It gets a dhcp address - all the way to the 'Press F12 for network service boot'. If I do not press anything it times out and boots normal. If I press F12 it just hangs. Like I said, I verified with 2 other computers that they will successfully boot from the network.


Hi, in our test, when disabling COM3 & 4 and with the option [Used INT 18h] in BIOS, we can successfully boot into our PXE server: Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0. Can you tell us what PXE server you use? We may need this info to help debugging your problem:)
Spiked3 wrote:It gets a dhcp address - all the way to the 'Press F12 for network service boot'. If I do not press anything it times out and boots normal. If I press F12 it just hangs. Like I said, I verified with 2 other computers that they will successfully boot from the network.


Hi, in our test, when disabling COM3 & 4 and with the option [Used INT 18h] in BIOS, we can successfully boot into our PXE server: Intel UNDI, PXE-2.0. Can you tell us what PXE server you use? We may need this info to help debugging your problem:)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by Spiked3 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:37 pm

Post by Spiked3
Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:37 pm

Windows Deployment Services running on Windows 2003 server and Microsoft DHCP.

As I mentioned earlier, 2 other computers have been tested and successfully boot via PXE on my LAN.

The roboard get to the 'press F12' prompt (which indicates proper DHCP and initial PXE) buts get no further after pressing F12.
Windows Deployment Services running on Windows 2003 server and Microsoft DHCP.

As I mentioned earlier, 2 other computers have been tested and successfully boot via PXE on my LAN.

The roboard get to the 'press F12' prompt (which indicates proper DHCP and initial PXE) buts get no further after pressing F12.
Spiked3 offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:31 pm

Post by roboard » Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:05 pm

Post by roboard
Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:05 pm

Spiked3 wrote:Windows Deployment Services running on Windows 2003 server and Microsoft DHCP.

The roboard get to the 'press F12' prompt (which indicates proper DHCP and initial PXE) buts get no further after pressing F12.


It seems that your RoBoard successfully booted into your PXE bootstrap (so you can see the "press F12..." message), but failed when getting into the selected OS image.

This is possibly because the selected OS image doesn't recognize RoBoard's LAN hardware. Please ensure that the OS image is configured to support RoBoard's LAN hardware and try it again. :)
Spiked3 wrote:Windows Deployment Services running on Windows 2003 server and Microsoft DHCP.

The roboard get to the 'press F12' prompt (which indicates proper DHCP and initial PXE) buts get no further after pressing F12.


It seems that your RoBoard successfully booted into your PXE bootstrap (so you can see the "press F12..." message), but failed when getting into the selected OS image.

This is possibly because the selected OS image doesn't recognize RoBoard's LAN hardware. Please ensure that the OS image is configured to support RoBoard's LAN hardware and try it again. :)
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Previous
Previous
18 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
18 postsPage 2 of 21, 2