Roboard 802.11b/g miniPCI WiFi card on Robosavvy

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1

Roboard 802.11b/g miniPCI WiFi card on Robosavvy

Post by PedroR » Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:24 pm

Post by PedroR
Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:24 pm

Hi all

Robosavvy is now stocking a miniPCI WiFi card for the Roboard than can do up to 54Mbps.

The card fits onto the miniPCI slot onboard.
You have to remove the VGA card before adding this board as both boards can be connected simultaneously.
You can still maintain console access by enabling console redirection to COM1 (RS232) in the BIOS.

If you're using Linux we recommend redirecting the Linux console to COM1 as well to maintain console access after boot. We also suggest enabling SSH or Telnet to be able to work wireless on the board (over the wifi card).
There are also some additional tools such as VNC to enable X windows access over LAN but we haven't tested those...

For Windows XP Professional, you can use Remote Desktop to OS the computer over the LAN.

The board comes as kit with Board + Antenna Cable + Antenna.
Using an external antenna offers improved wifi performance and additional flexibility, by letting you place the antenna on the robot application where it is most convenient for you.

The product page is here http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/598

ImageImage

The card is based on VIA VT6655. The product page includes additional information and tips about Linux and Windows and maintaining console/access without the VGA card.

Regards
Pedro
Hi all

Robosavvy is now stocking a miniPCI WiFi card for the Roboard than can do up to 54Mbps.

The card fits onto the miniPCI slot onboard.
You have to remove the VGA card before adding this board as both boards can be connected simultaneously.
You can still maintain console access by enabling console redirection to COM1 (RS232) in the BIOS.

If you're using Linux we recommend redirecting the Linux console to COM1 as well to maintain console access after boot. We also suggest enabling SSH or Telnet to be able to work wireless on the board (over the wifi card).
There are also some additional tools such as VNC to enable X windows access over LAN but we haven't tested those...

For Windows XP Professional, you can use Remote Desktop to OS the computer over the LAN.

The board comes as kit with Board + Antenna Cable + Antenna.
Using an external antenna offers improved wifi performance and additional flexibility, by letting you place the antenna on the robot application where it is most convenient for you.

The product page is here http://robosavvy.com/store/product_info ... cts_id/598

ImageImage

The card is based on VIA VT6655. The product page includes additional information and tips about Linux and Windows and maintaining console/access without the VGA card.

Regards
Pedro
Last edited by PedroR on Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PedroR offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 1199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:07 pm

WLAN Card doesnt find any wlan network

Post by kinkel » Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:38 am

Post by kinkel
Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:38 am

hi there,

i installed xp on the rb110, and now changed from mini vga to mini wlan card. everything works fine and i installed the drivers successfully. the only problem i now have is that my card with mounted antenna on aux dosnt find any wlans (surely i checked if there are some :) ) i even changed to the other connection for antenna but theres nothing also...

does anyone has the same problem or any idea whats going wrong?

greez and thanx in advance
rene
hi there,

i installed xp on the rb110, and now changed from mini vga to mini wlan card. everything works fine and i installed the drivers successfully. the only problem i now have is that my card with mounted antenna on aux dosnt find any wlans (surely i checked if there are some :) ) i even changed to the other connection for antenna but theres nothing also...

does anyone has the same problem or any idea whats going wrong?

greez and thanx in advance
rene
kinkel offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:32 am

Post by veltrop » Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:46 am

Post by veltrop
Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:46 am

You want that single antenna plugged into Main, not Aux. You can put a second antenna on Aux though.
You want that single antenna plugged into Main, not Aux. You can put a second antenna on Aux though.
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by kinkel » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:07 am

Post by kinkel
Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:07 am

veltrop wrote:You want that single antenna plugged into Main, not Aux. You can put a second antenna on Aux though.


hey taylor :) nice to meet you here ...

i plugged also on main, but theres no change. its difficult to solve this problem meanwhile im thinking the card may be damaged. but im not able to check it with another device...

does it work on your linux based version from the beginning?
veltrop wrote:You want that single antenna plugged into Main, not Aux. You can put a second antenna on Aux though.


hey taylor :) nice to meet you here ...

i plugged also on main, but theres no change. its difficult to solve this problem meanwhile im thinking the card may be damaged. but im not able to check it with another device...

does it work on your linux based version from the beginning?
kinkel offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:32 am

Post by veltrop » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:27 am

Post by veltrop
Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:27 am

Mine worked from the beginning. Only tried Linux though. I've also only used the card by manually configuring it, so I can't say anything about searching for available wireless networks.
Mine worked from the beginning. Only tried Linux though. I've also only used the card by manually configuring it, so I can't say anything about searching for available wireless networks.
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan

Post by veltrop » Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:32 am

Post by veltrop
Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:32 am

btw, nice to see you here too Rene :D
btw, nice to see you here too Rene :D
veltrop offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04 am
Location: Japan


6 postsPage 1 of 1
6 postsPage 1 of 1
cron