2 major Problems with the Roboard

Based on DMP's Vortex processor / SoC this board is a full computer capable of running a standard Windows and Linux installation on the backpack of your robot.
27 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
27 postsPage 2 of 21, 2

Post by roboard » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:22 pm

Post by roboard
Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:22 pm

kimkom wrote:Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??


You can short the battery to reset the BIOS setting. We shall give a detailed tutorial on this forum later.
kimkom wrote:Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??


You can short the battery to reset the BIOS setting. We shall give a detailed tutorial on this forum later.
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Re: 2 major Problems with the Roboard

Post by roboard » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:41 pm

Post by roboard
Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:41 pm

kimkom wrote:1.During the win installation (after the hardware detection) nothin works. No Mouse, no keyboard. So i used nLite to made a fully unattended Version an installed it again. But i 've the same problem. On the normal Desktop nothing works. Before the Hardware detection process mouse and keyboard works well...but after that :(

2. The second problem is, that the Board wouldnt boot from my sd card.
I've tried the recovery console from windows with fixmbr and fixboot c:
(where c: is my sd-card), but i makes no changes.
Any Ideas? USB-legacy problem?


For Q1:

Are there any window appearing during the hardware detection process? USB keyboard/mouse may not work if WinXP halts on some window that requires some device driver before it detects USB keyboard/mouse.

For Q2:

If you can see your SD card in BIOS, then the issue may be caused by unsuccessful WinXP installation.
kimkom wrote:1.During the win installation (after the hardware detection) nothin works. No Mouse, no keyboard. So i used nLite to made a fully unattended Version an installed it again. But i 've the same problem. On the normal Desktop nothing works. Before the Hardware detection process mouse and keyboard works well...but after that :(

2. The second problem is, that the Board wouldnt boot from my sd card.
I've tried the recovery console from windows with fixmbr and fixboot c:
(where c: is my sd-card), but i makes no changes.
Any Ideas? USB-legacy problem?


For Q1:

Are there any window appearing during the hardware detection process? USB keyboard/mouse may not work if WinXP halts on some window that requires some device driver before it detects USB keyboard/mouse.

For Q2:

If you can see your SD card in BIOS, then the issue may be caused by unsuccessful WinXP installation.
roboard offline
Savvy Roboteer
Savvy Roboteer
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:44 am

Post by kimkom » Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:51 pm

Post by kimkom
Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:51 pm

roboard wrote:
kimkom wrote:Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??


You can short the battery to reset the BIOS setting. We shall give a detailed tutorial on this forum later.


Hi Roboard,
i would appreciate that!! Cant wait anymore...
roboard wrote:
kimkom wrote:Argg!! No i've heave REALLY Problems!

I've switched off the legacy support for USB and now my keyboard didnt work anymore not even in the bios...

What can i do aside from rip of the battery from the board??


You can short the battery to reset the BIOS setting. We shall give a detailed tutorial on this forum later.


Hi Roboard,
i would appreciate that!! Cant wait anymore...
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by Joerg » Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:13 am

Post by Joerg
Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:13 am

Hello kimkom,

just read about your nightmare with the locked board :-(

Then i tried a Dos version. works but...i dont know hot to bind the keyboard driver in a bootable dos version, so i couldnt load cmospwd becaus no keyboard avaiable--> dead end


Please insert the cmospwd /k in autoexec.bat
This should clear the CMOS setup, so you can load the factory defaults at the next start.

HTH
Joerg
Hello kimkom,

just read about your nightmare with the locked board :-(

Then i tried a Dos version. works but...i dont know hot to bind the keyboard driver in a bootable dos version, so i couldnt load cmospwd becaus no keyboard avaiable--> dead end


Please insert the cmospwd /k in autoexec.bat
This should clear the CMOS setup, so you can load the factory defaults at the next start.

HTH
Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Post by kimkom » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:59 am

Post by kimkom
Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:59 am

How this will look like? How can i do this?

Just like this? "PATH=C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k " :roll: (without the qoutes)
where c: is the bootable device
How this will look like? How can i do this?

Just like this? "PATH=C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k " :roll: (without the qoutes)
where c: is the bootable device
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by Joerg » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:31 pm

Post by Joerg
Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:31 pm

kimkom wrote:Just like this? "PATH=C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k " :roll:

no, this sets the environment variable PATH.

You can call the programm direct, for example:
C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k

or in 2 steps:
cd \cmospsw
cmospwd /k


The other way, the "hardcore variant", is to shorten the battery, like described in the new article from Roboard.

Sorry, I didn't received a notify from the forum, so my answer is a little bit late.

HTH
Best Regards,
Joerg
kimkom wrote:Just like this? "PATH=C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k " :roll:

no, this sets the environment variable PATH.

You can call the programm direct, for example:
C:\cmospsw\cmospwd /k

or in 2 steps:
cd \cmospsw
cmospwd /k


The other way, the "hardcore variant", is to shorten the battery, like described in the new article from Roboard.

Sorry, I didn't received a notify from the forum, so my answer is a little bit late.

HTH
Best Regards,
Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Post by kimkom » Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by kimkom
Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Hi Joerg,

i will loose my mind! :cry:

I've tried like you said. The board started the cmospwd /k but it left the choice of:

1 - kill cmos
2- kill cmos (try to keep date and time)
0 - abort
Choice: (with a blinked coursor)

My problem is, i cant type in a choice. Remember the keyboard isnt working.
So, how can i add i choice in the execute command?

I've tried different things like:
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[01]*
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[1]*
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[01]
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[1]
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k -1
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k /m[01]*
and so on...

The List of command in the cmospwd readme is:
cmospwd [/d]
cmospwd [/d] /[wlr] cmos_backup_file write/load/restore
cmospwd /k kill cmos
cmospwd /m[01]* execute selected module

Im freakin out....Hope you can help me!
Best regards
Hi Joerg,

i will loose my mind! :cry:

I've tried like you said. The board started the cmospwd /k but it left the choice of:

1 - kill cmos
2- kill cmos (try to keep date and time)
0 - abort
Choice: (with a blinked coursor)

My problem is, i cant type in a choice. Remember the keyboard isnt working.
So, how can i add i choice in the execute command?

I've tried different things like:
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[01]*
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[1]*
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[01]
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k[1]
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k -1
c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k /m[01]*
and so on...

The List of command in the cmospwd readme is:
cmospwd [/d]
cmospwd [/d] /[wlr] cmos_backup_file write/load/restore
cmospwd /k kill cmos
cmospwd /m[01]* execute selected module

Im freakin out....Hope you can help me!
Best regards
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by Joerg » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:22 pm

Post by Joerg
Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:22 pm

kimkom wrote:I've tried like you said. The board started the cmospwd /k but it left the choice of:

1 - kill cmos
2- kill cmos (try to keep date and time)
0 - abort
Choice: (with a blinked coursor)

My problem is, i cant type in a choice. Remember the keyboard isnt working.
So, how can i add i choice in the execute command?


Years ago, in times of MS-DOS we wrote in batch files
echo j | del *.*
to delete all files of a directory without confirmation.

Similar you can try this for your problem:

echo 1 | cmospwd /k

HTH
Joerg
kimkom wrote:I've tried like you said. The board started the cmospwd /k but it left the choice of:

1 - kill cmos
2- kill cmos (try to keep date and time)
0 - abort
Choice: (with a blinked coursor)

My problem is, i cant type in a choice. Remember the keyboard isnt working.
So, how can i add i choice in the execute command?


Years ago, in times of MS-DOS we wrote in batch files
echo j | del *.*
to delete all files of a directory without confirmation.

Similar you can try this for your problem:

echo 1 | cmospwd /k

HTH
Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Post by kimkom » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:52 pm

Post by kimkom
Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:52 pm

Hi Joerg,
unbelievable! It works!!!
Really great thx champ! You saved my day!

Here is what i used...maybe for other poor souls ;-)

I've used the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool (V.2.0.6) just google for it.
I used my HTC (PDA) as a cardreader and my SDHC card (coz my rb-bios only recognized sd cards). I created a DOS startup disk and used DOS system files located here:
http://www.flazh.de/bios-boot-usb-stick.htm

Download: usbdos.zip

After i finshed i copied the tool folder from cmospwd on the sd card.
And i created a textfile (later named to autoexec.bat) with the line in it:
"echo 1 | c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k"

thats it...it works for me!

Best regards!!!
Now i can maybe solve the other problems... ;-)
I will report here.
Hi Joerg,
unbelievable! It works!!!
Really great thx champ! You saved my day!

Here is what i used...maybe for other poor souls ;-)

I've used the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool (V.2.0.6) just google for it.
I used my HTC (PDA) as a cardreader and my SDHC card (coz my rb-bios only recognized sd cards). I created a DOS startup disk and used DOS system files located here:
http://www.flazh.de/bios-boot-usb-stick.htm

Download: usbdos.zip

After i finshed i copied the tool folder from cmospwd on the sd card.
And i created a textfile (later named to autoexec.bat) with the line in it:
"echo 1 | c:\cmospwd\cmospwd /k"

thats it...it works for me!

Best regards!!!
Now i can maybe solve the other problems... ;-)
I will report here.
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by kimkom » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:16 pm

Post by kimkom
Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:16 pm

Hi Community,

it works! I've now installed WinXP from the USB Stick on the SDHC card.
I've used nLite to slipstream the drivers (LAN,VGA,IDE) into the ISO.
Both (SD card & USB Stick) were formatted in ntfs. I've used
WinXP.ProSP3.
Now everything works, keyboard and mouse. I'm very happy now and i can coutine to develop my bot. :D

So let me warn you: Keep your hands off the usb legacy support! :D

Special Thanks to Joerg,roboard and PedroR
Best regards from germany.

...and sorry for my english 8)
Hi Community,

it works! I've now installed WinXP from the USB Stick on the SDHC card.
I've used nLite to slipstream the drivers (LAN,VGA,IDE) into the ISO.
Both (SD card & USB Stick) were formatted in ntfs. I've used
WinXP.ProSP3.
Now everything works, keyboard and mouse. I'm very happy now and i can coutine to develop my bot. :D

So let me warn you: Keep your hands off the usb legacy support! :D

Special Thanks to Joerg,roboard and PedroR
Best regards from germany.

...and sorry for my english 8)
kimkom offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:13 pm

Post by Joerg » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:20 pm

Post by Joerg
Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:20 pm

Hello kimkom,

very glad to hear that your board works well and the problems are solved.

Now is the time for your hexabot project and your scientific work.
I would be glad to hear something about the project from time to time.

Best Regards,
Joerg
Hello kimkom,

very glad to hear that your board works well and the problems are solved.

Now is the time for your hexabot project and your scientific work.
I would be glad to hear something about the project from time to time.

Best Regards,
Joerg
Joerg offline
Robot Builder
Robot Builder
User avatar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Dresden / Germany

Hi

Post by Itechguru247 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:29 pm

Post by Itechguru247
Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:29 pm

Excellent instructions, truly helpful. Thank you!!!! :P
Excellent instructions, truly helpful. Thank you!!!! :P
Itechguru247 offline
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 6:27 pm

Previous
Previous
27 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
27 postsPage 2 of 21, 2
cron